We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sorrento Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Sorrento Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sorrento Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Madison St., Seattle, WA 98104 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Classic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was our second stay at the Sorrento and easily a favorite in Seattle. Because it is at the top of a hill it is not an easy walk up, but it is still convenient to the sites in Seattle. The staff are delightful and helpful, the restaurant is very good, and their courtesy car, if available, will take you to local places.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We are thrilled that we have won you over!!
I have shared your very kind comments with our staff and they want to offer a sincere thank you.
Hope to see you soon!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    130
    34
    19
    6
See reviews for
62
222
45
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I spent two nights in the "Sleepless in Seattle" suite for a business trip at the beginning of June. This hotel was quite a treat - a lot of personality and a really fun experience. I really wished I'd had my family with me, they would have loved it! The staff is helpful and friendly, the beds are comfy, and the hotel is clean and very well maintained. It's somewhat of an historical building for the city, but it's kept up very well. I'm looking forward to returned for fun with the family soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much! Eager to see you again with your family. We are happy to help recommend some local attractions that the whole family can enjoy!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

had a chance to stay at the sorrento on the way out of seattle.

had a wonderful time. the hotel is a landmark so it is fun just to walk around and take it all in. the wood work and the lobby is beautiful. i would take the time. hotels like this no longer exist.

as for the room, it was ok. the bathroom was very comfortable. the room itself was somewhat small but comfortable. the staff was excellent. the service and the treatment was reminiscent of the old hotels of Europe.

overall, the stay was very nice. i would recommend it. also it is fairly close to many of the attractions in downtown and they have a free shuttle so that you can keep your car parked there. one thing that reminds me--the parking. a little expensive. hopefully, they can work on that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate our unique property. We hope to see you again soon!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at the Sorrento for three nights for our one-year wedding anniversary. This place knows what service is all about. We were treated wonderfully by all employees (the cleaning lady would even leave us chocolates and candies, and a note congratulating us and wishing us the best daily). The beds and pillows were probably one of the most comfortable I've slept on. The location was great (10 min walk to Pikes Market) and there was a great cafe a few steps away (Sugar). Best of all was the complimentary car service they provide within a 2 mile radius.

Thank you Sorrento for making our anniversary such a memorable one. We will definitely be back!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I am thrilled that we were able to help make your special event so memorable. I have passed your kind comments to our Housekeeping and entire staff. Thank you!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Sorrento Hotel is a little gem of a hotel that is off the beaten track in Seattle. The rooms are spacious and clean(we had a junior suite), the bed linens soft and the pillow supply amazing! Despite the old world charm of the lobby, rooms are equipped with flat screen TVs and the hotel has free wireless. My favorite part may have been the French press coffee maker with an electric kettle. Best hotel room coffee ever!

Staff are unfailingly courteous and a particular shout out to Scott at the concierge desk who went out of his way to give us some pre-trip guidance on what to do with our free afternoon in Seattle and took care of our dinner reservations at Sky City, the restaurant at the top of the Space Needle.

Bottom line: Great place to hunker down on a trip to Seattle. Quiet rooms. Good Service. French press coffee maker delivers the best coffee ever.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you. I have passed on your comments to our staff. We sincerely appreciate your praise.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Sorrento before our Alaskan Cruise and afterwards. In all our travels in the world we have never been treated better than at the Sorrento. From the bellman, to the chef (the dinners were outstanding), to the unbelievably comfortable beds, to the knowledgeable concierge. as well as the receptionists,our experience was exceptional. The "old world atmosphere" of the hotel lends itself to its distinct charm. They don't make hotels like that anymore. This is most definitely a place to relax and be pampered. We stayed in a Junior Suite which was wonderful. The Sorrento also has a car and a driver who can transport you to anywhere within 2 miles of the hotel, which took us to all the major attractions. We cannot say enough good things about our stay. In fact, my wife of 47 1/2 years has made me promise to take her back to Seattle and to the Sorrento. I will most happily oblige. Don M

Room Tip: Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review! I am glad that you enjoyed our unique Hotel. You have made Chef's day with your praise. Hope to see you again soon!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sorrento ,our first visit in Seattle. We had a wonderful stay. The junior suite had plenty of room. The beds were super comfortable . I loved that you could make your own coffee . Each room had their own French press, the best coffee. Everyone was vey nice. The location was great, it was about a 10 min. Walk to Pike Market.
I highly recommend it. I would stay there again.
The only negative is that the hotel only has valet parking which I think was$50/ day . There's a public lot across the street that we used while staying there.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you! I am glad that you enjoyed your visit and found our location to be convenient. Also, happy that you liked the French press. It would be Seattle, if we weren’t pushing coffee!
Apologize that downtown parking is so expensive and please know that we offer complimentary car service for your next visit.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sorrento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sorrento Hotel

Address: 900 Madison St., Seattle, WA 98104
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#20 Business Hotel in Seattle
#23 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sorrento Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Jetsetter, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Sorrento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrento Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sorrento Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.