We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in Seattle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sorrento Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Sorrento Hotel to your Saves list
The Sorrento Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Madison St., Seattle, WA 98104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Prepay and Save!
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A real gem in Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I spent two nights in the "Sleepless in Seattle" suite for a business trip at the beginning of June. This hotel was quite a treat - a lot of personality and a really fun experience. I really wished I'd had my family with me, they would have loved it! The staff is helpful and friendly, the beds are comfy, and the hotel is clean and very well maintained. It's somewhat of an historical building for the city, but it's kept up very well. I'm looking forward to returned for fun with the family soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much! Eager to see you again with your family. We are happy to help recommend some local attractions that the whole family can enjoy!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    169
    48
    21
    9
See reviews for
81
282
52
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
215 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

had a chance to stay at the sorrento on the way out of seattle.

had a wonderful time. the hotel is a landmark so it is fun just to walk around and take it all in. the wood work and the lobby is beautiful. i would take the time. hotels like this no longer exist.

as for the room, it was ok. the bathroom was very comfortable. the room itself was somewhat small but comfortable. the staff was excellent. the service and the treatment was reminiscent of the old hotels of Europe.

overall, the stay was very nice. i would recommend it. also it is fairly close to many of the attractions in downtown and they have a free shuttle so that you can keep your car parked there. one thing that reminds me--the parking. a little expensive. hopefully, they can work on that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate our unique property. We hope to see you again soon!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at the Sorrento for three nights for our one-year wedding anniversary. This place knows what service is all about. We were treated wonderfully by all employees (the cleaning lady would even leave us chocolates and candies, and a note congratulating us and wishing us the best daily). The beds and pillows were probably one of the most comfortable I've slept on. The location was great (10 min walk to Pikes Market) and there was a great cafe a few steps away (Sugar). Best of all was the complimentary car service they provide within a 2 mile radius.

Thank you Sorrento for making our anniversary such a memorable one. We will definitely be back!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I am thrilled that we were able to help make your special event so memorable. I have passed your kind comments to our Housekeeping and entire staff. Thank you!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Sorrento Hotel is a little gem of a hotel that is off the beaten track in Seattle. The rooms are spacious and clean(we had a junior suite), the bed linens soft and the pillow supply amazing! Despite the old world charm of the lobby, rooms are equipped with flat screen TVs and the hotel has free wireless. My favorite part may have been the French press coffee maker with an electric kettle. Best hotel room coffee ever!

Staff are unfailingly courteous and a particular shout out to Scott at the concierge desk who went out of his way to give us some pre-trip guidance on what to do with our free afternoon in Seattle and took care of our dinner reservations at Sky City, the restaurant at the top of the Space Needle.

Bottom line: Great place to hunker down on a trip to Seattle. Quiet rooms. Good Service. French press coffee maker delivers the best coffee ever.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you. I have passed on your comments to our staff. We sincerely appreciate your praise.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Sorrento before our Alaskan Cruise and afterwards. In all our travels in the world we have never been treated better than at the Sorrento. From the bellman, to the chef (the dinners were outstanding), to the unbelievably comfortable beds, to the knowledgeable concierge. as well as the receptionists,our experience was exceptional. The "old world atmosphere" of the hotel lends itself to its distinct charm. They don't make hotels like that anymore. This is most definitely a place to relax and be pampered. We stayed in a Junior Suite which was wonderful. The Sorrento also has a car and a driver who can transport you to anywhere within 2 miles of the hotel, which took us to all the major attractions. We cannot say enough good things about our stay. In fact, my wife of 47 1/2 years has made me promise to take her back to Seattle and to the Sorrento. I will most happily oblige. Don M

Room Tip: Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review! I am glad that you enjoyed our unique Hotel. You have made Chef's day with your praise. Hope to see you again soon!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sorrento ,our first visit in Seattle. We had a wonderful stay. The junior suite had plenty of room. The beds were super comfortable . I loved that you could make your own coffee . Each room had their own French press, the best coffee. Everyone was vey nice. The location was great, it was about a 10 min. Walk to Pike Market.
I highly recommend it. I would stay there again.
The only negative is that the hotel only has valet parking which I think was$50/ day . There's a public lot across the street that we used while staying there.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you! I am glad that you enjoyed your visit and found our location to be convenient. Also, happy that you liked the French press. It would be Seattle, if we weren’t pushing coffee!
Apologize that downtown parking is so expensive and please know that we offer complimentary car service for your next visit.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here last year around this time and while writing reviews is not on the top of my list of things to do, feel I must for the Sorrento. Koby Kidd and the various front-of-house staff are a real team and embrace their work enthusiastically doing their best to make one feel truly at home. Best service we have ever had anywhere in the world. We got great advice on where to run, among other things. Originally, we were advised to stay closer to the waterfront but we found the location of the Sorrento, close to the University very relaxing and enjoyed walking through some of the more residential downtown neighbourhoods. Not sure how uniform the rooms are but ours was fabulous!

Room Tip: If you are a bath person make sure to ask for one. Some of the rooms more updated rooms just have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit this very kind review! I sincerely appreciate your feedback! You have made our day, thank you. It is comments like this that make our work so satisfying.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#7 of 98 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Hotel 1000
#2 of 98 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,288 reviews
Hyatt At Olive 8
#14 of 98 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sorrento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sorrento Hotel

Address: 900 Madison St., Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#19 Business Hotel in Seattle
#23 Family Hotel in Seattle
#26 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sorrento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on First Hill overlooking downtown Seattle the Sorrento Hotel infuses a classic old world style with modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sorrento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrento Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sorrento Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.