We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sorrento Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Sorrento Hotel to your Saves list
The Sorrento Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Madison St., Seattle, WA 98104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Orange, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Sorrento Hotel in Seattle. One of the most important things at me at a hotel is the bed and the linens. I have very sensitive skin and I often have difficulty sleeping with scratchy bed sheets. The bed here was great, as good as at home, and the linens were wonderful. I slept as well there as at home. The hotel staff was exceptional. If we needed anything they were there in less than 5 minutes. We did not have a car and the hotel has a car that will take you and pick you up anywhere in a 2 mile radius at no charge. The only time we used a cab was coming back in the evenings. The hotel is close to everything. We are vegetarians so there was not a lot to eat at the hotel, but there were many options close by and the concierge always had great suggestions. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I recommend staying on the higher floors. We were on the 6th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
You have made our day! Thank you for such a great review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our bedding and complimentary services, like the courtesy car, but I am most proud that our staff made such an impression! I have shared your kind words with the entire team. Thank you.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    164
    45
    21
    9
See reviews for
79
276
51
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. We arrived at 9 am and were able to check in early - which was much appreciated after a long flight. The room, although a bit crowded, (had to squeeze between the side of the bed and desk to get to the bathroom), was beautifully appointed, the sheets were fantastic and the mattress very comfortable. They even have a french press in the room.

They offer a car service within 2 miles of the property which was very handy when it was rainy and windy. The chauffeurs were very knowledgeable and helpful. The concierge suggested a nearby Italian restaurant which was excellent.

The only negative comment I have was that there was a slight smell in the hallway - not sure if this is because of the pet policy. But fortunately, it didi not extend into our room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. I am glad that our valets made an impression and were helpful.
Thank you for all of your comments and I will be investigating the hallway.
Hope to see you again soon.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My daughter was married in the hotel and we stayed there 4 nights as parents of the bride. (Not sure if we got special treatment from the staff due to that.) It's a beautiful turn of the century boutique hotel with lots of character and top notch accommodations, service, and staff. The suite we stayed in was roomy and the bed was very comfortable. Also, the food was outstanding. Location isn't optimum for sightseeing - it's a bit of a hike if you want to walk to the waterfront and quite a workout walking back. But there is a free hotel shuttle that can get you to and from most downtown attractions. There's no A/C in any room though and even at this time of year with the windows open we couldn't get a cross breeze going to cool the room down. Also, even on the 6th floor there was a fair amount of road noise at all hours.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay during such a special time! Thank you.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
159 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have stayed in many of thefinest hotels in downtown Seattle over the years, but my favorite is the Sorrento. I've spent many nights there over the years. It never disappoints. Elegant property. Perfect service. Beautifully decorated and furnished rooms. The finest lobby bar I've ever seen. You can have high tea there also. We walked to downtown (all the way down to Pike Place Market) 3 times in our latest stay. It's quite a climb back up the hill and we're not young, but it's great exercise and there is a lot to see on the way. But if you prefer, the hotel will take you where you want to go if you ask. When you stay, go up to the 7th floor and look at the Top of the Town meeting room and the remarkable view from there. While up there, see if the Penthouse Suite is open (it usually is and you are welcome to wander around). If you were a rock star, that's the suite you would be staying in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for the great endorsement! I am glad you got to enjoy the walk to the Pike Place Market. Hope to see you again soon.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

At a rate of $149/night, this has got to be one of the best hotel bargains in Seattle. My coworker recommended it (I usually stay at The Maxwell, which I also love), and he was right: this place is a gem, with tons of atmosphere and history, super-welcoming staff, huge and luxurious rooms and bathrooms, a memorable bar (long, narrow, wood panels, jazz in the background), and really great food.

Lots of nice touches:
-when you arrive, they give you a cork from a wine bottle, and you can use it to redeem a glass of wine at the bar (how lovely is that?).
-in the room, there's fresh ground coffee and a French press (I've never seen that before, and it really, really is lovely to make proper coffee in the morning); they also have Mighty Leaf tea bags, which are tasty
-the bathroom has piles of fluffy white towels
-the bed and pillows were top notch; after a great meal and wine, I just kinda sunk into a deep sleep in this fab room
-strong, free wifi
-24 hr gym.

What else? I was in town for work at UW Med School, so the location was perfect.

I have lots of colleagues who come to Seattle for work, and I will be telling them to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Wow! Would you like to work part time in our PR department?!
Thank you so much for the flattering review. I have shared your comments with our staff and they want to send a thank you. I am glad that our location was convenient for you and that you got to enjoy some of our unique programs, like the cork!
Thanks again.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there 3 nights recently and quite enjoyed it. My king sized suite was fantastic and after the first night I was less spooked by all the ghostly talk on line about this and a few other seattle hotels! This place is a 1909 gem. On top of a hill,quite a steep climb. Front desk service varied greatly from cool efficiency to warm and helpful. Door staff and concierge were ok,nothing outstanding. Sometimes I felt like they didn't see me. Not too good,servicewise. But my suite was comfy and the bed was great and marble bathroom a real treat. One block away is Thai Star restaurant a really tasty place with affordable and quick,friendly service. Go!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback. i sincerely appreciate your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your ghost free stay!
I am sorry that our valets were not helpful. I am truly embarrassed and assure you that this issue has been addressed. Thank you again for bringing it to our attention.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at Sorrento Hotel on a recent college visit trip with my daughter to Seattle University and U of W. I prefer old hotels that are refurbished/maintained to their original splendor. I was not disappointed. booked a King suite which had a lovely bedroom, bathroom and sitting room. It was an easy walk to the University and many places to eat in the area. The only downside (and this is Seattle) was $39/parking fee per night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for submitting such a nice review. We are very fortunate to be located so close to the University and I am glad that you found it so convenient! Hope to see you again soon.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#8 of 98 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Hotel 1000
#2 of 98 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,235 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#11 of 98 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sorrento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sorrento Hotel

Address: 900 Madison St., Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#18 Business Hotel in Seattle
#25 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#25 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sorrento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on First Hill overlooking downtown Seattle the Sorrento Hotel infuses a classic old world style with modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sorrento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrento Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sorrento Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.