We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Seattle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sorrento Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Sorrento Hotel to your Saves list
The Sorrento Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Madison St., Seattle, WA 98104   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Seattle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Sorrento is old world styling with lots of class, character and great personnel, outstanding service. The food in their restaurant is excellent. It's a healthly walk to shopping, Pike Place, etc. envigorating.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review! Hope to see you again soon!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    144
    39
    20
    7
See reviews for
70
247
46
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Having lived in Seattle for many years I would not consider staying in another hotel than the Sorrento. The serice is impeccable and the rooms are comfortable. The front desk goes out of its way to help as does the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: When you check in ask if there are rooms slightly above what you have asked for and see what you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. I have shared your comments with our staff and the Front Desk wants to give sincere thanks! Hope to see you again soon.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at the Sorrento for about 8 days last year while my Seattle home was being renovated. I did not specifically choose the Sorrento, but it happened to be the "Hidden Name" hotel that I was booked into by an online travel site. I While I prefer a spacious, minimalist, business friendly, hi -rise type type of hotel, the Sorrento is much more British boutique-y, and I felt that the small room was over full of charming furniture. As the "desk" was a secretary style with no "desk chair" there was nowhere to set up a laptop/workstation. Also, the hotel is in an awkward location that requires a hilly hike to get downtown and is miles from Madison Park. True to the description, it is VERY near area Hospitals. Windows are old-style: open to a screen, so you WILL hear sirens all night long. Be forewarned. The bathroom also tiny, with a tub that was more of a sunken triangle below a showerhead than an actual bath--also disappointing. Hunt Club, the only restaurant on site--has limited choices, limited hours and is quite $$. Despite all, the Sorrento is a nice, 3-4 star hotel. Beware: when you arrive at the circular drive in front, there is nowhere to self-park. A friendly valet offered to park for me, which came as a relief , given that I hadn't seen any open spaces. Only when I checked out did I learn that the hotel charged me $37.00 for each time I needed my vehicle retrieved, and it was being parked at an off-site lot down the hill from the hotel. So, you'll either find the place uniquely adorable, or overpriced, irritating and poorly situated. I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: East facing rooms seem to get the most siren/traffic noise. However, if street noise is a concern, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. I am sincerely sorry that you did not care for the style and location of our Hotel. I would love to speak with you directly and discuss our shortcomings. Please let me know a good time to contact you, would be.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Winter stays are cozy and comfortable. Boutique hotel at its best. High Tea in the afternoon. Restaurant is really great with well thought out menus for all seasons. Perfect place for the professional business woman in my opinion. Classic 100 year old hotel with modern feel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is the third or fourth time I've stayed here, and I always love it. The staff is "over the top" friendly and accomodating. A couple of free glasses of wine certainly was welcome too! We've had the same Jr Suite each time we've stayed here, so I was stunned when I read the negative review on the Jr Suites. Ours has a sofa, a love seat, a desk and a lovely king size bed. There is a huge square table in the suite area, nice for dining. The bathroom is generous, all marble, with a nice dressing area.
If I ever had a complaint....3 years ago I was looking for a Bible and there was none. When I called the front desk, they said there wasn't one in the hotel!! I didn't think there was a hotel that didn't furnish a Bible! But, and here's the caveat. When we came the next time...we received the exact same room and...voila...a Bible in the bedside stand. These people listen! I love when you return that they always try to put you in the same room. It makes it feel like home.
I always look forward to to staying here....have not been disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I sincerely appreciate the praise, made our day!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is truly a warm and inviting. True to the Pacific Northwest, the interior is wood, but more European inspired than the typical western decor. The hotel bar is top notch, mixing up great cocktails. The food is also quite good, both in room and at the restaurant. The room was spacious, and extremely comfortable.

There is not much in walking distance, and Seattle is definitely a city which needs a car to get around. The neighborhood seems to mostly be hospitals, but is a close drive to many attractions.

Fun fact: The carpet in the elevator has the day of the week written on it. It changes every day! (obviously).

Room Tip: Go for the room upgrade, if available. Its worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for the kind review! I have shared your comments with our staff and they want to give thanks!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I liked this hotel quite a bit and given how many bad hotels I stay in this was a treat. We held a corporate retreat here and was upgraded to a suite which is very big. What I like about this hotel like the Fairmonts is the blend of old with modern. Now this is a 4 star hotel so it is not all excellent like the Fours Seasons and Fairmonts. But everything that is important is excellent,.The bed is great with lots of pillows and down comforter, the bathroom towels and the amenities are nice - the hardware is poor on the shower but nice bathroom overall all marble. The TVs are nice and big and placed correctly and the wifi is free. The lobby is unique in the old style and decorated for Xmas. There is hot cider at night and candies at the front desk and hot chestnuts. This hotel is 6 blocks from downtown and there is a shuttle. This is a great 4 star and is quite lovely and you will enjoy it. Take it from oneof the toughest critics on this site. Look at my reviews.

Room Tip: The rooms face either downtown and have road noise like any older hotel and roads on 2 sides so choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandallObrecht, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Sincerely appreciate it. I hope you enjoyed the Holidays!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sorrento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sorrento Hotel

Address: 900 Madison St., Seattle, WA 98104
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#20 Family Hotel in Seattle
#22 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sorrento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Sorrento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrento Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sorrento Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.