We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a a neat and hotel with great food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sorrento Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Sorrento Hotel to your Saves list
The Sorrento Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Madison St., Seattle, WA 98104   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Wow, what a a neat and hotel with great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Decided to spend the night in Seattle for Valentines weekend and was looking for something a little different than the “big box” hotels downtown. Saw some good reviews on TA and picked the Sorrento. What a great find! From the moment we pulled into the circular drive, we thought we were in a boutique hotel in Northern Italy. Room had modern touches, CD player and Coffee press. However, it was the charm of the room (and what a view) and hotel that made the stay. Hanging out in the Circular lounge by the fire and listing to the live jazz was the way to go before dinner. The bar in the Hunt Club is the place to hang out after dinner for a quite night cap and to people watch. Service was great at every turn. Definitely going back to the Sorrento.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    143
    39
    20
    7
See reviews for
69
247
46
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Lovely hotel! The staff was very attentive, rembered our names. The in-town car service is great! Rooms are clean with modern conveniences yet the old charm has been preserved. The Fireside room is fabulous and cozy; great for relaxing with a drink and snack after a long day of exploring the city shops and Pike Place Market.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. Every member of staff was so polite, cheerful, welcoming it made us feel great. Our suit was exquisite, very spacious, very tastefully furnished. We loved our weekend in this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, N. Y.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

I loved this hotel. First, it has a wonderful entrance--a circular driveway cut into the street corner, which makes it oddly hard to find. You drive up, enter, and find yourself in a turn-of-the-century lobby, which leads to an intimate concierge desk on one side and a bar on the other. Every time I went in and out, something exciting seemed to be happening in that bar! I was also really impressed by my room, which was old-fashioned but modern at the same time. Everything has obviously been restored and revamped since 1909, but in a really tasteful way. The bathroom still looked old-fashioned, but all the fixtures worked in a very new-fangled way. I approve! I wish I could have stayed a little longer, in order to enjoy the comfortable bed properly, and experience that bar!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We held our company meeting at The Sorrento. Their Sales and Catering Managers were pleasant, attentive and very helpful when I made the arrangements. The service - during our meetings, for meals and in the bar/restaurant was terrific. This hotel is modeled after a hotel in Sorrento, Italy - from the beautiful dark wooden paneling in the lobby, bar and restaurant to the furniture and fixtures in the room, they strive to take you to Italy, while staying in downtown Seattle. If you want modern, edgy or a cookie-cutter hotel, then go to a Marriott. But if you want cozy, comfortable and unique, then The Sorrento is your place. Rooms are unique but they are all well-appointed - GREAT beds, upscale amenities and robe and my favorite... a french press coffeemaker in each room complete with delicious coffee so that you can make yourself a cup of fresh coffee anytime you want!. While their wine list isn't the longest, the selections are quite good and reasonably priced. We had a delicious meal in the hotel restaurant one evening and took advantage of a very short taxi ride to a local restaurant in downtown Seattle the next evening. (There are numerous excellent restaurants within walking distance.) If we have our company meeting in Seattle again, we'll be back at The Sorrento.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

I'm from Calgary, AB, Canada, and decided to visit Seattle during the Christmas holidays. I've travelled to a lot of places and stayed in very lovely and expensive hotels from Paris to London to Amsterdam, and various Canadian and US cities. My hotel standards are very high and on this particular trip opted to try this smaller hotel situated just blocks from the downtown core. Well, this turned out to be a hidden jewel - all the hotel staff, from the front desk attendants to the concierge, door/shuttle service staff, restaurant and cleaning staff were the friendliest and most helpful that I have ever encountered. The standard room I had was larger than most hotel rooms so there was no need to upgrade - it was beautifully decorated, super clean, and had a very spacious closet and loved the coffee bodum instead of the standard coffee maker. The bath products were lovely and l have an affection for all white marbled bathrooms. The beds were extremely comfortable and one can never go wrong with all-white linens. There was a problem with the phone one evening but that was immediately fixed as was the burned out light bulb in the closet. They addressed me by my name (and pronounced it correctly) so obviously took the time to know that. I will definitely return and stay here again ... you feel like they really care and it definitely shows ...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frequent traveler
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

I stayed at the Sorrento for two nights. A colleague and I selected this hotel because it was within walking distance of a business meeting and we found a great rate on the Internet. The hotel was very comfortable and luxurious for the price. The standard rooms are on the small side, but that's to be expected given its location in downtown Seattle. I was given a free upgrade to a room with a more "suite"-like setup and enjoyed two TVs -- one in the bedroom and one in the sitting area. There is free wi-fi in the hotel, but parking is very expensive and valet-only (think carefully before you commit to parking there). If you don't mind walking several blocks, you can get to Pike's Market in perhaps 10-15 min. Convenient location in downtown Seattle; for the price we paid, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sorrento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sorrento Hotel

Address: 900 Madison St., Seattle, WA 98104
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#19 Family Hotel in Seattle
#21 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sorrento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sorrento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrento Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sorrento Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.