We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star hotel at a 4 star location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater Hotel Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Edgewater Hotel Seattle to your Saves list
The Edgewater Hotel Seattle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2411 Alaskan Way, Pier 67, Seattle, WA 98121 (Belltown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off & FREE WiFi
Ranked #24 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Yorba Linda, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“3 star hotel at a 4 star location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

The Edgewater's best feature is revealed in its name-it sits on a pier on Elliott Bay, giving the lobby , bar and restaurant nice views of the water with the Olympic mountains behind. The service and rooms are nothing special however. As other reviewers have mentioned, the hallways have a strange unpleasant smell. The front desk staff were either poorly trained, uncaring, or both. At check in, after waiting in a short line, when I got up to the counter the woman behind the desk did not acknowledge me and instead took a long phone call. When she hung up to assist me, I was told my room wasn't ready ( the colleague I was traveling with got a room immediately) and I would be called when it was. 2 hours later with no call I went back to the desk and purposely talked to the other person who was working . A room was indeed ready. Having seen the rooms of 2 colleagues mine was particularly disappointing-very small with no room to set up the luggage rack, and no desk. I went back and asked for a room with a desk as I was there on business. The attendant told me none of the queen rooms had desks, and that he always warns business travelers about that (except me, I guess)-so if you stay there (I would recomend the Marriott down the street instead) be sure to ask for a King room. I mentioned the company I worked for and then did get upgraded to a king room with a partial water view. The city view rooms are depressing-so near, yet so far! The decor in the rooms is best described as cabin cute and not my style. The room was clean enough and the bed was comfortable with good pillows. The best part of the property besides the location (walking distance to Pike Place Market) is restaurant Six Seven. Excellent food and service the 4 meals I had there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    630
    270
    148
    83
See reviews for
367
983
119
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (894)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

My experience at Edgewater Hotel last week was a mixed one.
I will start with bad experience. I was waken up by huge noise at 4:58 am the first morning. The noise lasted for about 15-20 min, then became quiet all the way to 7 am. After complaining to the front desk (I was offered another room, but just did not bother to move as it was late), the noise was postponed to 6:30 am on the second and the third morning. I got up and opend the door, just to find out hotel staff walking around (and talking). The noise seemed to have come from their moving the heavy laundry carts, as they would park in the narrow hallway during the day. That group of staff (and most probably the hotel management) did not seem to be aware of the guests staying in the hotel. The other factor that made this worse was the old, wooden building. It is not sound-proof at all.
My good experience was with my daily trip to Downtown. The hotel has a van that would send guests to the city in the morning (free of charge). The driver was a nice person and offered a return service as long as I called him. The front desk and the vallet staff were also very nice.
The hotel has a gorgeous waterfront view in the lobby and the reasaurant. I believe it has the same view in those waterfront rooms (unfortunately my room was on the street side). The room interior has a style, with a fireplace. The location of the hotel is good if you would like to walk along the waterfront, and visit the aquarium and the marketplace. But it is a little far from the busy street. I would not recommend walking near the aquarium area alone late in the evenings, as I was approached by a suspecious stranger there one evening.
Overall, this hotel needs to improve its infrastructure to claim a four-star one. At this stage, it is a nice motel.
If you go there for a casure trip, this hotel is still on my recommnedation list. But make sure you have the waterfront rooms and stay far away from the room 101. If you are on a business trip, not a good idea to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

I reserved this hotel through priceline and I should say it was one of the worst 4-star hotels I had ever seen. The decoration was not to my taste, which is not really a big deal. The main problems were:

1. The sink in the bathroom, the water would not go... so it would flood in less than 60 sec of running the water.

2. No bathtub in the "DELUXE" king bed rooms. Imagine we paid extra to upgrade the room from normal queen to a DELUXE king... :(

3. The water pressure in the shower did was very very weak, never saw such a weak shower in my life. It took me 30 minutes to get all the shampoo out of my hair.

4. The TV remote did not work.

5. The TV cabinet door would not stay open to watch TV. We had to stuck something in front of it to keep it open.

6. No coffee table or dining table or nothing. We had to eat on the bed... Very hard with the little one.

7. Very noisy. Every time the neighbours opened or closed their doors it was like they were in our room. We could hear everything in the hall ways.

8. Very expensive valet parking (but to be fair, we knew that before we go). $33+taxes for each day. But when priceline gives that to you you have no choice anymore.

9. Was not worth the $80+taxes (per night) we paid priceline, and $10+taxes (per night) for upgrade. I cannot imagine who would pay their regular $200+ prices for this low quality.

Completely unsatisfied. (Staff were nice and friendly though). I totally loved the Silvercloud lake union and wished I would have stayed there.

Stay away, specially if you have young kids.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

This hotel was beautiful. What else can I say? I stayed on the first floor and then moved to the 3rd. The first room was gorgeous, but the walls were a little thin. My 3rd floor was much quieter. The rooms were identical, but I had a better view the second time around. Ask for a room higher than #1. If you can get waterview even better.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria,Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

The room was so cozy with the fireplace and ocean view. The windows opened and you could have the freash air and the fireplace going to keep you worm. You could sit in the comfortable chairs and watch the ship of all sizes go by. Dinner was wonderful our daughter had room service and she was very happy with the food . We took the hotel suttle to different places and the driver was very nice. Over all we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

The hotel had a horrible odor. It's a dated property. The rooms are tiny. The only decent part of the room was the bathroom. Definitely not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

I have stayed at the Edgewater several times now. It is my favorite hotel for decor and location. The bar and restaurant are excellent, not to mention the view. Its a short walk to Pike's Market and convenient to highways. All the rooms are super cozy with a fireplace and fuzzy bear footrest. The Main Lobby is gorgeous with amazing views and very comfortable places to just sit and read. I love coming to Seattle, just so I can stay here, and there are usually great deals for this hotel online.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgewater Hotel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel Seattle

Address: 2411 Alaskan Way, Pier 67, Seattle, WA 98121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Edgewater Hotel Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of Pier 67, The Edgewater hotel offers an easy walk to Seattle downtown vibrancy, stunning views and lodge luxury. Surround yourself with the beauty of the majestic Olympic Mountains, the sparkling waters of Elliott Bay and the velvety-pink sunsets of the Northwest sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater Hotel Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.