We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater Hotel Seattle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Edgewater Hotel Seattle to your Saves list
The Edgewater Hotel Seattle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2411 Alaskan Way, Pier 67, Seattle, WA 98121 (Belltown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off & FREE WiFi
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Citrus Heights, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

We stayed at this hotel upon the recommendation of our travel agent. We were going on an Alaskan cruise, and stayed here the night before. The room was terribly expensive and very, very small. Our cabin on the cruise line was bigger than this hotel room. Also, there was a wedding on the floor that we stayed on, and kept us up most of the night. The management did not seem to care of our inconvenience. The food at the restaurant was very overpriced for what we got. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,238
    701
    291
    154
    88
See reviews for
404
1,086
130
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,024)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

As we pulled in late at night we were a little hesitant - it is clearly a 1960s hotel updated. The lobby was fantastic and the view simply spectacular. The staff was courteous and helpful. The room was delightful. Updated amenities including a fireplace and a lvery nicely decorated bathroom. A delightful place!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Great place to hang out. Rooms are very nice, especially the bath and shower. Beds are comfortable. Waiting area and bar are very pleasant to just sit and enjoy the ambiance of Seattle. Food was great. This is our favorite "splurge". My daughter had her wedding here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

My husband and I went to Seattle for a long weekend to semi-celebrate our Anniversary but also to experience Seattle which we have been wanting to do for awhile now. Some friends who live in the area recommended we stay at the Edgewater Hotel. The hotel is very cozy and was perfect for the time of year we were in Seattle. It is totally worth it to upgrade to a waterside room, we originally were in a streetside room but it just wasn't as nice. I think it was an extra $50 for the upgrade and totally worth it. The lounge and restaurant are great if you don't feel like dealing with the rain. Great location - we could basically walk to everything, never needed to take a cab except to the aiport. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

I stayed Friday and Saturday with my husband who is leaving for a year to Iraq so I wanted this to be special. I called to make a reservation and the reservations department was rude, so I booked on hotels.com and actually got a great deal. I chose Edgewater because during the rainy weekend I thought it would be nice for my husband and me to snuggle up by the fire. We got into our room and of course the fireplace didn't work, during our stay we called down 4 times but the fireplace was never fixed. The room was very small but clean. Our room was a non-smoking room but for some reason every few hours the smell of cigarette smoke filled our room. The hallways are dirty and roomservice trays were outside many of the doors. If you aren’t going to spend the extra money to have the ocean view don’t bother staying here, there are plenty of nicer and cheaper hotels around the same area. The parking was ridiculous. It was $30 per day it would have been cheaper to park in a garage since most are $7 on the weekends. The restaurant wasn't too bad over priced but that was to be expected a better choice would have been Anthony’s just a quick walk away. Overall the hotel was overpriced and not managed well at all.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

We travelled to Seattle for a weekend getaway and our first night was at the Edgewater and our 2nd night was at the Hotel Sierra in Bellevue. We had a Gift Certificate for a Waterside Room at the Edgewater but none were available the night we stayed so rather than the hotel upgrading us, they put us in a Deluxe City Side room which we did not argue with. It was far from Deluxe. Upon checking in, my husband was greeted with a curt "last name on the reservation?" No eye contact and no "Hello, how are you doing tonight?" At 4:30 a.m., we were awoken by the beeping sound of some big truck backing up into some part of the building, then the garbage truck came to do its pickup, then the train came whistling by. Then we thought someone was using our toilet but we figured out it was the loud plumbing rolling through the pipes in the walls when someone in other parts of the hotel flushed their toilets. The halls had a musky smell and the decor, well, we don't really know what to call it. Our 2nd night was with the Hotel Sierra in Bellevue which was far superior to The Edgwater. Hotel Sierra has no view of the water but it has friendly staff and fine customer service. Our stay over the weekend at the Edgewater was our last and we will now be staying with Hotel Sierra in Bellevue.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyler
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

My husband and I had stayed at the Edgewater to celebrate our anniversary. The room we were in was right across from the bathroom for the conference rooms and right above the lounge. They were having a big wedding and the music and guests were very loud. We were getting the music from the wedding reception and the music from the lounge and the wedding guests going in and out of the bathroom laughing and yelling at each other until about 1 am. It sounded like they were in the room with us, which did not make for a relaxing evening. I had also ordered a gift for my husband which they had forgotten and it took them awhile to bring it up. The way the room was decorated was really cool, and the view was amazing. I thought the room was expensive for what we got. If you can find a quieter room, it might be worth staying there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgewater Hotel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel Seattle

Address: 2411 Alaskan Way, Pier 67, Seattle, WA 98121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Edgewater Hotel Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of Pier 67, The Edgewater hotel offers an easy walk to Seattle downtown vibrancy, stunning views and lodge luxury. Surround yourself with the beauty of the majestic Olympic Mountains, the sparkling waters of Elliott Bay and the velvety-pink sunsets of the Northwest sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater Hotel Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.