We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent top to bottom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater Hotel Seattle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Edgewater Hotel Seattle to your Saves list
The Edgewater Hotel Seattle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2411 Alaskan Way, Pier 67, Seattle, WA 98121 (Belltown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off & FREE WiFi
Ranked #24 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent top to bottom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Quite simply one of the best if not the best in Seattle. Staff has a single goal to satisfy every need.

Quality, quality, quality! Food, accomodations and amenities.

I cannot say enough about the personel. They ask if you have what you need and they mean it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy B, Manager at The Edgewater Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear jayarr2k,

WOW. We love your review. Thank you so much for the kind words. We continjually strive to create a positive experience with each guest. When are you coming back to visit?

Sincerely,

Troy Byington
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    629
    270
    148
    83
See reviews for
367
982
119
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (894)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Looking out the window on Puget Sound, watching the ferries, cargo ships, and shoreline is memorable. The room layout is convenient and the bed is comfortable. A large shower AND a clawfoot tub (fiberglass, I think). The service is attentive and efficient. Valet parking is expensive but worth it. The property is nicely located for exploring the Seattle area.I look forward to another visit sometime.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy B, Manager at The Edgewater Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear thewac0kid,

You said it perfectly. Sitting in your room, watching the ships, is a great experience. Thank you so much for sharing. We too look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Troy Byington
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I just spent on night on business in this hotel. We had a great experience . Very attentive and very welcoming employees. The rooms are very nice decorated. In my opinion the mattresses are too soft, housekeeping does a excellent job, and really love the welcome Edgewater bear on the bed. The only negative point is that housekeeping start knocking at each guests doors around 9 am, saying Housekeeping just to know if the room is still occupied, and you can hear the word "loud" from the hallway "housekeeping"...sorry I will be back later...some people get up early some people don't, why front desk is not collaborating with the housekeeping department to know which room are left??
Thanks again and I will be back for sure when I get back to Seattle.

Room Tip: I will recommend to book the seaside rooms, and you will have more privacy and better views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy B, Manager at The Edgewater Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Resortlover5

I enjoyed reading your review. We truly appreciate your comments. We have many of our guests that depart the hotel without stopping by the desk so it is impossible to know which rooms have departed. For that reason, we have the "do not disturb" signs for your use as we are very strict about honoring the do not disturb request.

We look forward to your next visit. Please feel free to reach out when you are planning your next trip.

See you again soon,

Troy Byington
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Edgewater is a lovely property. The staff are very attentive, and there is no question the place is steeped in history. Myself and my colleague stayed two nights in a city-side standard guest room.

The room was clean and generally nice, I appreciated the ihome ipod dock. Two surprising touches (not in line with the overall quality of the product) was the old CRT television, and the questionable in-room coffee selection. In a coffee mecca like Seattle (Starbucks, Stumptown, etc.) it was surprising to find generic, non-local packages for consumption. I shared my views with the staff, and it became clear that Noble House has this under review. When the room costs $269/night, it should be a no-brainer - good coffee! Get on it!

The Six Seven restaurant served a great eggs benny, with when coupled with a great view of Elliot Bay was the perfect way to end my stay.

My final comment - for an iconic, prestigious hotel such as the Edgewater, I appreciated all of the in-room extras (teddy bear, wet bar, random snack assortment), but the extra cost associated with EVERYTHING made it feel like less of a luxury experience, and more of an 'incremental revenue cash-grab'. Even when asking the front desk if they had a loose aspirin I could ingest (hard day's night) I was directed to the gift shop to buy a box. A small gesture goes a long way in hospitality gang!

In summary, a pleasant stay, but be prepared to pay for it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy B, Manager at The Edgewater Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear EricDouglas,

I am happy to tell you that we are switching our in-room coffee in the next month of so. We have chosen a local roaster here in Seattle, Zoka coffee. We are very excited about this. It is general hotel practice to not allow staff members to dispense medications. I am happy that the gift shop was able to accommodate you. We offer refreshments in our guest rooms and the pricing is very competitive and it is there for guests that opt to enjoy the items.

I have to admit that the eggs benedict here are perfect everytime and you can't beat the view. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Troy Byington
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forty-ninth Parallel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Spent two nights with my wife and 2 y.o. daughter at the Edgewater Seattle recently. First impressions of the property were good ... location is nice and the building and lobby are attractive. The view from the sitting area off the lobby is amazing. When others talk about being "on the water", you literally are as the hotel is built on a pier jutting into Puget Sound so there is nothing between the edge of the building and the water. After booking my nights, I emailed guest services asking for a quiet room since my daughter is a light sleeper and I was told it wouldn't be a problem. Upon checking in, I inquired as to whether we were booked in a quiet room and I was advised that the city-facing side of the building wasn't as quiet as the water-facing side, but I could upgrade for $40/night. We declined and were led to our room by the porter. The initial room we received was quite small with a queen bed ... not nearly large enough to fit our travel cot and luggage, so we requested a room with a king bed and were granted the request with no upcharge (+1).

The room is nice and well appointed with a bureau housing the CRT TV, a coffee machine, a small fridge stocked with drinks for purchase, and a few small drawers for clothes. There are a couple of nicely padded chairs in front of the gas fireplace and decorative stone chimney facade. Finally, there's a small desk and chair and nightstand. The bathroom in our room was fairly small and housed a closet, a single sink, toilet, and shower ... no tub.

The temperature controls in the room consist of both a central thermostat and an on/off button for the fireplace. The weather in Seattle during this trip was nice for late Winter/early Spring, so we didn't use the fireplace, but the thermostat had a low-end limit of 18.5 C which was too warm for us. The fan buried in the wall was also very loud. On the first night, we turned the fan off and cracked the window open but that led to another issue we had during our stay ... there is an active rail route literally at the end of the hotel driveway. Trains were passing by the hotel all day and night and they would often blast their horns (likely to warn waiting cars of their arrival at the intersection). The hotel provided a single pair of earplugs in the room which none of us used as we don't like the feel, so we compromised by closing the window. This lessened the noise of the trains by about half. On the second night, we just left the noisy air conditioner fan running which did a good job of drowning out the trains ... compromises.

Parking is available at the hotel but only option is valet. The cost is $38 + tax which worked out to be $46 and change per night. There are LOTS of secure parking options all around the hotel for much, much less. Parking on the street is also an option. Street parking is free after 8 PM until 8 AM Mon-Sat and free all day on Sun. Street parking also appears to be safe.

The gift shop in the lobby serves excellent, locally roasted coffee from Zoka. Much better than the oversaturation of Starbucks stores practically on every other corner in this area. There is no breakfast included with your stay in this hotel.

Location is within walking distance to Pikes Place Market. There is a nice seawall walk heading north from the hotel also. Restaurants in the area are mainly tourist oriented with many seafood options available.

While our stay was average, I would not stay here again given another option for the same cost.

Room Tip: Rooms on the waterfront side are likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy B, Manager at The Edgewater Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear JSpode,

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I was happy to read that we were able to get you into a room that suited your needs. We do offer a variety of room types, some that appeal to the budget conscious guest and those that prefer to spend a little more to be on the water.

The train system is an integral part of the charm of Seattle and downtown. We are working with the athorities on enforcing the "no train horns" in downtown Seattle. They are not suppose to be blowing their horns here.

I truly hope you will reconsider staying with us on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Troy Byington
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our Edgewater stay was fantastic. We were in Seattle for business with the Seattle Aquarium, who recommended the hotel. The staff was very friendly, service was quick, and the rooms were spacious and clean. I always check the sheets, right down to the mattress, for cleanliness and was surprised to see just how clean everything was... almost brand new! Most of all, the view from the lounge and restaurant is really spectacular. After a long day, it is lovely to just sit by the big window and relax. I would come back again for business or pleasure. Wifi did seem expensive though... so we just opted to go to coffee shops instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy B, Manager at The Edgewater Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear samantha_h39,

We LOVE seeing such great words that describe your stay. It is an honor to be called amazing. We have a great team here that work very hard to ensure that every guest stay is "amazing". Thank you so much for sharing.

Sincerely,

Troy Byington
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Edgewater the night before our cruise. The hotel is located right next to the Pier that NCL leaves from. You can walk right out of the hotel, right to the pier, check in your luggage and board the ship. If your cruise leaves later than check out, the front desk will hold your luggage while you sight see. There is a wonderful restaurant on the property, although it is a little pricey. You are near Fisherman's Wharf, so there are numerous choices that are more reasonable. The Space Needle and World Fair attractions are within walking distance so plan to spend some time walking around a bit in Seattle before boarding the ship.

Room Tip: Great hotel right by the cruise pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy B, Manager at The Edgewater Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear susandns,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. We do have a great location that is easily accessible to the famous attractions. We hope you had an enjoyable cruise and look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Troy Byington
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgewater Hotel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel Seattle

Address: 2411 Alaskan Way, Pier 67, Seattle, WA 98121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Edgewater Hotel Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of Pier 67, The Edgewater hotel offers an easy walk to Seattle downtown vibrancy, stunning views and lodge luxury. Surround yourself with the beauty of the majestic Olympic Mountains, the sparkling waters of Elliott Bay and the velvety-pink sunsets of the Northwest sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater Hotel Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.