We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Seattle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Seattle Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Sixth Ave, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #40 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Centrally Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If comfort, practicality, and a good central location are what you are looking for in Seattle, then this hotel fits the bill. We were in Seattle for two nights pre-cruise and did not have a car to get us around. Not to worry, the hop-on, hop-off trolly (with one of it's stops directly at this hotel) at $20 per person for a one-day pass got us everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel is at the heart of the shopping district and close enough to the flagship Nordstroms to walk there and back with arms loaded with shopping bags. Two movie theaters are within blocks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronwyn g, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for the nice review. I love your comment about our proximity to the flagship Nordstrom. You must have been here during their Anniversary Sale! Thanks for mentioning the trolley. It is fairly new and we are hearing great things about their service. We hope you will be back to visit us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    1,036
    316
    96
    47
See reviews for
405
576
142
825
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is pretty decent. Typically what you would expect. I had the basic room which was okay.

Cons - No mini fridge, washroom was cramped. No robe, no slippers.

Pros - it did the job. Close to shopping, monorail, theater, cheesecake factory. A bit of a walk away from Pike Place but you can shop along the way.

BIG CON- Overnight Valet is $38. If theres a parkade nearby i suppose that would be a cheaper option.

TIP - if checking out with Valet. Don't check out during the check out time. It's PACKED. Waited 15 minutes for my car. Use the express check out for your room. The line at the lobby was long too. Maybe it was because I left on a Sunday though. Better luck on the weekdays.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Seattle Sheraton is at a reasonably good location but that is about it. The room while otherwise comfortable had an air conditioner that made a loud buzzing sound. And it often took way too long to get an elevator. If you are a SPG elite member, or pay for club privileges, don't expect much in the club lounge. Indeed, if you need assistance in the lounge during the day there is a good chance no one will be there to help you as I did spend some time on my first visit searching around for someone but without success

But what really turned me against this hotel is that at check-out I reported my mini-bar consumption and paid for it. I specifically told the man who processed this (and took my money--the reservation was otherwise prepaid) to make sure I didn't get double-charged when they later reviewed my room after checkout. He assured me this would not happen. He also told me his computer was running slow and asked whether he could email me the invoice rather than provide it at the time. I said he could.

Although he never did send the invoice, at least I know from the Starwood points I later received for the mini-bar purchase that my account was credited with the cash payment. However, a few days after I checked out I noticed they charged my credit card for the items I already paid for in cash. In other words they double-charged my mini-bar consumption even after I asked them to make sure this didn't happen.

I wonder whether this was an isolated error or part of their "business model" for generating unearned profits. In any event, I wrote to them and asked for a reversal of the charges and some SPG goodwill points for my inconvenience and as an acknowledgement of their responsibility for their error. They did reverse the charge but to date I have not received any goodwill points which I take as indicating they couldn't care less about inconveniencing their guests by these sorts of "errors," errors that if uncaught generate illicit profits for the hotel.

The Grand Hyatt is about a block away from the Sheraton. I have stayed there and found it is a much better option if one wishes to stay in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madalena M, Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for the incorrect charge for a minibar item that you did not consume and for not sending your folio knor awarding you points. We work hard to ensure that guests are not incorrectly charged and appreciate knowing when we have made an error! We would welcome the opportunity to redeem ourselves relative to this error and would appriciate it if you would contact me so that I may ensure your points are credited soon!

Warmly,

Madalena Miller
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I made a one night stay here, and at $333 a night for a standard double (the view was phenomenal by the way) and $40 bucks a night for parking, if you have the means to stay here, than go for it.
You cannot ask for a better location as this hotel and convention center is ideally located within walking distance within such major attractions such as Pikes Market Place. It wins the award for downtown Seattle location, that's for sure.
The rooms are top notch with beds to die for, they didn't go cheap on the bed count fabric, that's a guarantee. This is more of a business hotel as next to a convention center, so people with family may want to consider other choices.
Overall, my stay was quick, comfortable, and pleasant, without any major issues.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great location, Pike Place, Pioneer Square, shopping and public transport are all within walking distance. We were able to visit Pike Place and shopped in the area in one morning. Staff were friendly and efficient. Though I would prefer the hotel can provide shuttle bus service from/to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronwyn g, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. The Sheraton Seattle is in a great location and it is very easy to walk from the hotel to most of the city's attractions. Thank you for mentioning our friendly and efficient staff. We will make sure to share this with everyone here as they will appreciate your kind words. Please come back to visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Seattle for 5 nights in July. All the basics were great. Lots of hot water, totally comfortable mattresses, decent air conditioning, quality housekeeping. The location is excellent for access to the Convention Center and a 5 minute walk to Pike's market, with busses and trolley all near by. The concierge gave excellent advice for places to go and getting around. The room itself was attractive with nice dark wood furnishings that actually looked like furniture. Lots of drawers, iron and ironing board, coffee maker. Free wi-fi is a big plus. Objections are small - the refrigerator is filled with drinks and liquor and you need a key to open it - empty and free with a soda machine somewhere on the floor would make it a lot more useful. There is also a basket of snacks designed to attract the hungry and children, equally - the price list will run up your room charge. Check the price list for the bottled water before you indulge. But these are small and perhaps even petty complaints - over all, I enjoyed this hotel very much and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay view - there actually are a few.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronwyn g, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Many thanks for your review and for choosing the Sheraton Seattle for your summer vacation. We appreciate all of your wonderful comments regarding the hotel facility and our location. We hope you will spend time with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here for a conference in July, and this is the second time I'm reviewing this hotel. The difference between this stay and the previous one:

1) I stayed in a different tower - there is the Pike Street Tower, and the Union Street Tower.
2) I was staying in a better category of room this time.

The things I like:
1) Location. Location is very good, right in downtown Seattle, not far from the water, and PIke Place Market, and right next to the Washington State Convention Center.
2) Room is well appointed. Everything you expect from a business hotel is there.
3) Wireless internet for me is really good - fast and fuss free.

Things I think can improve:
1) I guess this hotel can be described as not outstanding in terms of its décor.
2) Lifts can get a little busy ...
3) Funny how we only get soap every few days, and shampoo too. And same goes for the complimentary drinking water ... I stayed for 9 days, but they only replenished it on of those 5 days ...
4) In my opinion, the bed is just right in terms of firmness, but the pillows are just waaaay too soft.

All in, a good hotel. I prefer the Union Street Tower, which I stayed at this time. There are fewer floors, but that also means there are less people trying to get in and out of the lifts. It got really busy when I was there (there was some conference going on in the hotel then), but overall, very good and comfortable stay, not luxurious by any means, but not bad as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Seattle Hotel

Address: 1400 Sixth Ave, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#26 Family Hotel in Seattle
#28 Business Hotel in Seattle
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Seattle Hotel is steps from Pike Place Market, Seattle Waterfront, Space Needle, and Washington State Convention & Trade Center. We have 47 meeting rooms, totaling 75,000 sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Amex, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and BookIt.com so you can book your Sheraton Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Seattle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.