We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great after renovation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Seattle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Seattle Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Sixth Ave, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #38 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great after renovation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

I have stayed at the Sheraton before the renovation and it was OK, dated, but not horrible. However, now the hotel is just great. Lobby looks amazing, fresh and luxurious. The rooms are great, updated in all possible ways. I cannot tell if the walls are very well insulated, or if the hotel was half-empty, but it was very quiet in the room.

Location of the hotel is obviously excellent, right in the middle of downtown.

On the negatives, the ice machine in our floor had not been turned on. Parking is very expensive and valet is slow at peak times. Hotel needs a bar with extended hours, we wanted one more rounds of drinks just after midnight on a Saturday night and nothing in the hotel was open. The staff could not tell where a closest bar would be.

  • Liked — Updated and very clean rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing major worth complaining about
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    973
    298
    91
    47
See reviews for
382
556
138
766
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

I just returned from a weekend visit to Seattle and had the pleasure of staying at the Sheraton. This is a popular, bustling, and well-appointed hotel that is ideally located downtown -- minutes from Pike Place, the Seattle Art Museum, the Waterfront, high-end shopping, delightful restaurants for foodies and all the must-sees for the first-time visitor. I snagged quite the bargain on Priceline for $109/night. Take the ultra-convenient and reasonably priced ($17/roundtrip) Gray Line shuttle from SEA-TAC airport, which stops at all the major downtown hotels.

Outside of the hotel itself, some quick recommendations:

Make one breakfast stop at Le Panier across from Pike Place. Decadent pastries and bracing coffee. My recommendation is the caffe americano with an almond croissant.

If you want to escape out of the city, there is an Alamo rental office in the Hilton, which is only a couple of blocks away. We took the ferry over to Bainbridge Island and drove to Port Townsend, a cute seaside town that offers a number of galleries with a focus on handmade jewelry and local art. (Wish I had gotten more!)

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

Booked through Priceline at the last minute for a quick getaway for myself and my husband. We live about 40 minutes north of Seattle and came over the the ferry.

Check-in was a breeze - we asked for a king bed (knowing that with Priceline you usually get two doubles) and not only did we get that, but were put in the newly renovated tower in a corner room! (#1252 if you are interested.) Great city views with a peek-a-boo of the water at the ferry terminal.

The room was lovely - very neutral toned with great linens, flat screen tv, huge desk and an armoire/closet in it's own seperate location near the entrance. I have not one complaint about the room - it was lovely.

We are dinner down the street at the Taphouse Grill - good food, not too expensive. For those of you who are beer lovers, they have 160 on tap. We could have eaten in the hotel, and the Cheesecake Factory and Morton's were also within walking distance. Then we walked to Pacific Place, did some shopping and saw a movie. Evenything is really close by so you can walk.

Breakfast at the Daily Grille in the hotel was just so-so. I always think it's kind of hard not to make a good breakfast, but I guess I was wrong.

So, for a bid of $100.00, I think we more that got our money's worth and I would definitely stay here again......

  • Liked — The great corner room with all the windows
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

Overall, a very nice hotel as one would expect from staying at a Sheraton and paying a little over $200 for a room. Customer service both at curbside and front desk were top notch. We had adjoining rooms on the 24th floor with good views of the city. The pool is located on the 35th floor and was smaller than I expected. Weight room and sauna also on 35th floor. View from there was really amazing. Hotel was very accommodating, giving the kids (5 of them!!!) coloring books and a goodie bag upon check-in. Rooms were quiet, beds were firmer than I prefer but still comfortable. Internet service available for free in lobby only, which surprised me. You had to pay for wireless in your room. We did not try the restaurant or lounge. Hotel is within 5-6 blocks of Pike Place Market and only a block away from TRAM and mall. Lots of things to do and see within easy walking distance...even with five kids in tow! I would stay here again when visiting Seattle, the location was very convenient for us.

  • Liked — LOCATION, downtown Seattle within easy walking distance of Pike St Market
  • Disliked — Firm Beds, in-room internet was NOT free (was free in lobby)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalrover
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

Stayed at this hotel with my gf for the Easter long weekend. The central location downtown was why we decided on it. Booking was easy with the hotel's website and was a really good price with their stay friday promo ($129) which is great considering it is a four star hotel. After we got the confirmation number, we called the hotel to see if we could reserve a room in the Union Street Tower (UST) which is the newer (2007) slightly shorter (26 floors) building, as opposed the Pike Street Tower (built in 1982, renovated 2004). The front desk said she would put a note on our reservation which was confirmed when we checked in. Amazing lobby! The room was perfect. At the end corner of the floor so with windows on two adjacent walls (only could hear the ice machine a little). Only on the 7th floor, and facing the highway exit, but not noisy from street at all. Super clean room, immaculate bathroom. Big king bed and flat screen plasma (note: go to TV guest services to get local weather in Celsius). To top it all off, we totally lucked out with an all sunny weekend (in Seattle no less!!) Only one downside was parking. In heart of downtown have to pay, but we took another reviewer's tip and did not use the hotel's $35 a day (out by 6pm but with in-out privilages) which has to be declared upon check-in (add added to your bill). Instead tried the convention centre which is one block north of the hotel. First nite parked at 6:30pm and got the car out by 6:00p the next day = $30. Second nite parked 9:30pm (after the convention centre closes) and got the car out 1:30pm=$22. No in-out privilages but okay since we were mainly walking downtown. Good luck!

  • Liked — New, clean and central location.
  • Disliked — Pay parking.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver B.C.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

The newly renovated Seattle Sheraton is in an excellant downtown location and highly recommended for those travelling without a car who want to be close to what downtown Seattle has to offer. It is within easy walking distance to great shopping, nightlife, the monorail to Seattle Centre, theatres, galleries, Pike Place Market and many many restaurant options. Being Seattle there is also at least one coffee shop per block. Our room was a decent size, clean and our check in was easy despite the hotel being very busy over Easter/Spring Break weekend. The bathroomwas not quite as nice as many Sheraton's we have stayed in before, perhaps we were not in a newly renovated room, i.e.older tub and tile and they did not have robes as advertised, but these are petty concerns really.
Overall it was a great stay for a resonable $160 CAN per night. They have free wi-fi in the lobby and user pay wi-fi in your room for $9.99 Parking is paid additionally as well.
Overall because of the great location we were able to quickly fit in many auxillary activities such as Pike Place and Music Experience while travelling to Seattle for an pre-planned event. I would stay here again just for this reason.
We had a great meal at Boom Noodle - 12th and Pike! Check it out.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Older Bathroom
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

We stayed at the Sheraton for 3 nights in March and thought we got a GREAT deal. I think I priced every hotel downtown and eventually bid on Priceline for the room. It was significantly cheaper than the other hotels. We could not get a King bed which was the only bad point, but they did change us to a room higher up with a nice view of the water. The gym is very good and looks like they are making it even bigger in the future. The pool and hot tub are fine, kinda old looking but have a great view. The service was good, although the prices at the resturant/bar and gift shop are spendy. You are located near everything downtown-bars, shopping, resturants, 1 block from the monorail and about 6 blocks from Pike Market. I would stay at this hotel everytime I went to Seattle. Watch their website, cause they offer great prices online too.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Seattle Hotel

Address: 1400 Sixth Ave, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#26 Business Hotel in Seattle
#29 Family Hotel in Seattle
#34 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Seattle Hotel is steps from Pike Place Market, Seattle Waterfront, Space Needle, and Washington State Convention & Trade Center. We have 47 meeting rooms, totaling 75,000 sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Seattle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.