We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel which is well appointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Seattle Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #51 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very nice hotel which is well appointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Nice place for a short visit. We stayed on a high floor and had an excellent view of the city. The hotel is situated a fair walk from the city center so we ate at Maxwells, on site and weren't impressed with food there. No chowder available as was shown on the menu and crab cakes with pineapple salsa came with no salsa, just lettuce leaves. Hotel very good apart from this.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Dianne,

Thank you so much fort opportunity to be your host during your visit to Seattle.
I am glad you had a great stay. At the same time I am disappointed that we did not have the calm chowder while you were here as well for the mishap with the crab cakes. I have reviewed your comments with my Kitchen team to insure we have all the menu items available.

I am sorry about this but I hope it will not deter you from coming back to stay with us on your next trip to Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    566
    233
    87
    36
See reviews for
157
379
80
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

First time Seattle visitor and we found the Renaissance to be perfectly situated near the waterfront, Pike Market and the stadiums. Friendly, cheerful staff answered all our questions and went out of their way to give helpful tips and advice for getting around and things to do. Our room was spacious and comfortable. And, I loved the Aveda products in the bathroom! Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Lori,

Thank you so much for the opportunity to have you as our guest.
We appreciate your kind words about our staff and look forward to have back real soon.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Nothing great, nothing bad, So So But the Renaissance Hotel Brand once stood to be a top notch hotel brand. I have seen this Marriott Brand go down hill over the last 5 years and many of the locations including this one shows wear. Price is high for the value. Don't walk the area at night by yourself, Little sketchy.. Seattle has a tremendous amount of homeless folks panning the streets at all hours for money. This is not good for the local business folks trying to drive guest into downtown..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you much for staying with us and your review.
I am sorry you were not totally satisfied with your stay. Seattle like any major cities has its fair share of homeless people. We are working with the city on this problem. Our hotel is planning a major redo of our guest rooms this fall to update our image.

Again thank you for your comments and I hope you will be back on your next visit to Seattle.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed here with my husband for one night for a "staycation". The location is great, close to Capital Hill and downtown. We walked to dinner and easily took inexpensive cab/Uber rides to our other destinations. The outside has scaffolding on it, but the inside was all very new and updated. The room showed a little bit of wear and tear but nothing that affected our stay. We were on the 15th floor and had a great view of the mountains, stadiums, sky line, Puget Sound and Lake Union. Beautiful corner room. Staff was all very helpful and polite. Complaints: I told my husband I was only hoping for 3 things out of our night away from the kids - relative quiet, a comfy bed and black out shades. Two out of three I got. The bed was comfy, the room was quiet but the curtains did not block the light. Summer in Seattle means we woke up at 5am with the sun. Would really have appreciated better curtains in the bedroom. We also we to the R Bar on the 28th floor. We were told it would be open until midnight. At 1030 we were told to finish our beers, it was last call, they then began shutting down around us and turning people away. It was a minor thing but it made us feel rushed and like we were inconveniencing them. Overall, I would recommend the hotel to others coming to Seattle and looking for a downtown location.

Room Tip: corner room was junior suite with outside sitting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you so much Lauren for staying with us and your great feedback.

I m sorry that we were not able to meet all your needs. I have addressed your comments about the bar and curtains with my team to make sure we rectify these issues immediately.
I hope we will have another opportunity for your next staycation in the near future.


Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Christina welcomed us very warmly at the front desk. Our room was beautiful. The breakfast buffet was very impressive, especially the wonderful omelette station. Make sure to get directions to avoid some of Seattle hills getting to and from the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room on the non-expressway side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your business and your great feedback.
I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and your stay.

Looking forward to have come again real soon.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Close proximity to train station, Pier 66 and Pikes Market. Currently undergoing a facelift on the exterior... Their was not a bit of noise that interrupted our stay from the construction, as we were there on a Friday night only.
Nice happy hour upstairs in the lounge on the 28th floor.. As always the customer service was wonderfully ... The Marriott Experience!!
Used this as a pre cruise hotel...

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up away from the freeway... Sun sets are lovely... North facing rooms might ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your business and your review.

We appreciate your nice comments about our staff and service.
The scaffolding you referred to will start to disappear by next week once the painting of the outside of the building is finished. At that point we will be done with all touch ups and upgrades until the end of the year.

Thank you again and please come back on your next visit to Seattle.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I enjoyed my stay and the room is exactly what I expected. While the hotel exterior is a bit dated, the interior is contemporary. The view from the restaurant was exceptional, and it stood out since the Seahawks won that night. You could see the fireworks from the stadium.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us while you were on your staycation.
We to like the view from the restaurant and loo forward to many more fireworks from our stadium.

Hope you will be back soon.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#38 Business Hotel in Seattle
#49 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Seattle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.