We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and ok location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Seattle Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #50 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great staff and ok location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Visited for 4 days and the staff were great. If I had to do it again, I might choose another hotel with a better view of the city. It was however convenient to everything downtown and easy to get to of I-5

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear John,
Thank you very much for staying with us and your great review.
I do appreciate that you like our staff as we are proud in our guest service.
I am surprised about your comment about our view. We have some of the best view rooms in the city and R view our roof top lounge on the 28th floor has by far the best view of any hotel bar.

I do hope you will reconsider and visit us again.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    566
    233
    87
    36
See reviews for
157
379
80
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel is clean, spacious, but soulless. The conference facilities were very good. The hotel charges (a lot) for amenities like wi-fi and the use of the business center. Restaurant on the 2nd floor was not very good. Seattle has some great hotels in the same price range that feel much more inviting. Had my conference not been here there would be no reason to stay at the Renaissance.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your business and your comments.
I am sorry that you found our hotel without soul and that you did not like our restaurant on the 2nd floor. I do hope you had an opportunity to try R view on the 28th floor. We do offer live entertainment in our lobby bar every Thursday night and try to be a bit different in style and our service representation.
I did however appreciate that you found our hotel clean and I hope that you will give us another try on your next visit to Seattle.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The staff was quite helpful. I am a platnum member and it was noted. The overall experience was outstanding. I even phoned before to obtain information about the "Light Rail" system and the hotel provide helpful information on taking the local bus from the rail station. It stopped directly in front of the hotel and I did not have to walk up hills. I had access to the "club lounge" on the 26th floor and it was stocked with water and sodas. They also have a good lounge. I was attending a meeting and the banquet meal was excellent.

Room Tip: I did not use the pool or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Donald,

Thank you very much for the opportunity to have you as our guest and your great review.
Your comments regarding our staff, service and quality of food is very much appreciated.
Thank you and I hope we will see you again real soon.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Excellent hotel, few blocks walk to Washington State Conference Center as well as to the Waterfront and Pike Market. Rooms are spacious with great bay windows overlooking city. Room service precisely punctual and great food too. Even delivered flowers which my husband sent to the room. Nice workout room overlooking city on 28th floor. Would definitely stay here again. Aveda products in bathroom are a nice touch.

Room Tip: Corner suites have great views of city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and your great review. I do appreciate your great comments about our hotel especially our room service. We are proud of our room service department, as we have been recognized by our regular guests as one of the best in the brand.
Thank you once again and I hope you will be back real soon.
Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I haven't stayed at this hotel yet. I know Seattle well and am happy about the location and the price but their customer service over the phone (from three different employees) has been terrible. I received mis-information, little trouble shooting (hence why I had to call back three times as was booking) and the employees generally were unhappy. I do hope that the in-person service will be better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
It was a pleasure to speak to you today and I do understand your frustration with our reservations department. While they do not work directly in our hotel it is never less a reflection of our brand and our service and for that I do apologize.
I am glad we were able to work out the issue and I know you will have a great stay when you come and visit us this weekend.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Renaissance is a solid choice for a stay in Seattle, whether you are going for business or pleasure. My husband had a business trip, while I got to play tourist. The hotel was great for both of us.
Staff: Check-in was quick and efficient. Front desk staff, as well as bellmen and restaurant staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Rooms: Typical Marriott-type rooms with comfy beds, clean bathrooms with nice shower and toiletries. We had a lovely view of the Space Needle from our room, which was very nice.
Restaurant/Bars: The restaurant and bar on the 28th floor has a fabulous view and great staff. I had drinks there and it was wonderful. Maxwells on the 2nd floor had a delicious lunch of crabcakes and salad...I didn't have high hopes for a hotel restaurant, but it was delicious!!
Club room: Friendly staff and nice breakfast/snacks.
Location: Easy walk down to the waterfront, but need a taxi or enjoy hiking up a mountain to get back up!! Cheap $6 taxi got me to the top. Easy to walk to the stores as well as the Pike's Market.
We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Deanna,
Thank you very much for staying with us and your great review.
I could not agree with you more in regards to your comments about Rview our rooftop bar.
Not only do we have the best view of any hotel restaurant in the city, I agree with you on your comments about our employees and the quality of our food.
Again thank you and I hope you will be back soon.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Spent a couple of rainy days in Seattle (what's new?) at this hotel. Very comfortable and "homey", good breakfast. Nice part of town.

A bit of a walk to the fish market (fun) - lots of stalls selling "everything".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your business and your comments.
While we are an older hotel we continously upgrade and modernize in keeping with our brand.
Our rooms and public areas are constantly upgraded. This coming winter we will upgrade our health club and public bathrooms and refresh our lobby.

Thank you again and I hope we wil see you again.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#38 Business Hotel in Seattle
#49 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Seattle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.