We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Great Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Seattle Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #53 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location - Great Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The location & service off the hotel was great! We were able to walk to very easy public transportation (cheapest way to see the city) but if you plan on walking back to the hotel, good luck! The entire walk is up hill and when I say up hill, I mean up hill!! We had a great time and the hotel was great and very helpful in getting us ready for our cruise the morning we were leaving.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and your nice comments about our service.
While we are on a hill, the approach from Pike Place Market is much easier when you follow Pike street to 6th avenue and than to the hotel. This is an easy way to avoid the uphill walk from the waterfront.

We look forward to see you on your next visit to Seattle.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    587
    244
    92
    37
See reviews for
163
395
85
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Renaissance is clean, has a terrific staff, but if your room is on the same side as the interstate highway, you'll have considerable highway noise during your stay. Good value and a nice walk to Pike's Market are pluses, however.

Room Tip: Tell them you want the non-interstate side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Mike,
Thank you so much for staying with us and your nice comments about our staff.
We appreciate you recognizing our service and hope you will be back real soon.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

On our way to Orcas Island we decided to stay the night in Seattle at the Renaissance. Exceptional service upon check in and we were upgraded to a junior suite since my husband is a platinum member. To me the room was nothing special it was a generic Marriott room with no character and reminded me of a courtyard. Dining was mediocre but again, great service and the view was spectacular. I just wished this hotel had more charm but it is hard to with so many rooms. The gym was too small, parking was expensive but location wasn't bad. Next time I think we will stay at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your business and for your nice comments about our staff.
We do appreciate that you recognize our great service.
Over the last few years we have renovated a large part of our hotel and we will continue to do so. This upcoming winter we will move and enlarge the health club, upgrade the entrance and the lobby and public restrooms. All in an effort to improve the hotel and make it more enjoyable.

We hope you will return to stay with us on your next trip to Seattle.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was hesitant to stay at this hotel due to the number of reviews on this site that listed it below par for it's star rating, however i booked with hotwire and wasn't going to be able to switch. I am so very thankful that i didn't listen to all the negativity! This hotel was amazing and one of the best stays i have had in a long time! When we arrived i followed the advice of another traveler on this site and asked for a room above the 16th floor facing north. AnnaMarie at the front desk was more than happy to help and although it was not cleaned when we arrived (2 p.m. was before check in) she apologized and said it would be available if we were willing to wait, which we were. It was the best view!!! We went up to the 28th floor for drinks one night and realized our view was just as amazing as the top floor. I also was worrisome about the traffic noise due to other reviews and can honestly say I couldn't hear the noise.
Additionally the housekeeping staff, though early most days, was more then accommodating of my requests including extra coffee and towels.
We had a late flight the day we checked out and Scott at the front desk was so helpful in keeping our bags at the hotel so we could explore the city one last day.
My last bit of advice, which the front desk had shared with me, was about walking to the hotel. If you choose to walk directly up Madison from downtown it is a rather steep hike and can be tiresome, but by walking north to university and up to 6th the walk was much better.

I would most definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again if i was ever in town!

Room Tip: ask for a room above the 16th floor facing north... best view (space needle and mountains) and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and your great review.
I am so glad that Anne Marie took care of you and was able to give you a room with a view.
R view on the 28th floor indeed has a great view and I recommend to anyone that stays in Seattle to take advantage of this place.

Again thank you and please come back.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Renaissance Seattle Hotel on two occasions. Once, several years ago, and again, this past month. Overall, the experiences have been consistent and positive. The hotel itself is well-kept; the rooms are comfortable - if a bit small; and the staff is very helpful. It's also pet-friendly. We have not eaten in the hotel, but the R View lounge is a great place to enjoy a few drinks and some appetizers - especially after dark.

The hotel is located in the business district, across the street from the federal courthouse and kitty-corner to the library. So, you'll have to walk a bit to get to Pike Street Market and other shopping. Off-premises meal options are also quite limited in the area - particularly on weekends, when the cafes and delis in the adjacent office towers are closed.

As anyone who's stayed in Seattle knows, hotel prices are considerably more expensive than you might expect. $350 + taxes was the going rate, while we were there most recently. However, occupancy rates back up the cost of the rooms; and if you want to pay less, you're going to get less. Indeed, the Renaissance proved to be the least expensive among hotels of comparable quality.

While our stays have both been for personal reasons, the hotel is probably best suited for business travelers.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a hotel with a pool in downtown Seattle, good luck. The Renaissance used...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Charles,
Thank you so much for returning to our hotel.
We do appreciate when people come and visit us and return because they had a great stay.
Seattle just like Vancouver get's expensive in the summer months, and special deals are available in the off season. Try us out in the fall and winter and you will pay almost half the price.
Again thank you and we hope we will see you again.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were in town for a wedding the first weekend of August. This was the hotel that had the room block so we stayed here as my boyfriend was in the wedding party. The hotel was lovely, clean, great service, etc. Our wedding block price wasn't a great deal, just a few dollars than what the hotel was advertising online. I don't know how the price compared to hotels close by as we were part of a wedding party, but it's expensive to stay in downtown Seattle. However, this hotel is a great location, a few blocks away from Pike's Market and the waterfront.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and your nice comments.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serve you again on your next visit to Seattle.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Definitely not impressed with this hotel! The location is mediocre, we barely slept due to the highway noise, our bed was one of the most uncomfortable that I've slept on north of Mexico and the pillows lumpy. The valets and housekeeping were amazing but the front desk staff were almost rude. Our truck was too tall for their underground parking so we needed valet to park it in a different lot. Valet told us it would be the same price as self-park as we couldn't help the situation (which is already $32/day + about 20% tax!). When we checked out we were charges $38 + tax and told that they couldn't do anything about it. WiFi is $13.95 a day! Seriously! And they charge it! You can't even use the ethernet cable for free! They ding you for everything in a hotel that was already overpriced. I came home pissed off with a cramp in my neck, back and wallet. This was my 5th time to Seattle and my worst experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Heather,
Thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting Seattle.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience while at our hotel. I realize you had issues with the parking and the bed in the hotel. I would appreciate if you would contact me so that we could discuss your issues in more details. In particular I would like to now the room you were in so that we could exchange the bed. We get many great reviews about our beds but seem to have a few that have not held up well and we do have a program to exchange them.

Again thank you and I look forward to hear from you.
Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#34 Business Hotel in Seattle
#50 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Marriott so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Seattle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.