We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOTAL LACK OF CONCERN” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Seattle Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #53 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“TOTAL LACK OF CONCERN”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

the lack of customer service I have received from this hotel about cancelling my reservation, within 12 hours of booking through another site is shocking. The other site (that will also get a well deserved review) has put the entire blame on the hotel who has done absolutely nothing to defend themselves. For a hotel that claims they are 4 stars, their service sure isn't. stay tuned for my reviews once I have actually stayed there as the treatment I have received so far is appalling.

PEEVED

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
First and foremost, we apologize that you are having troubles with booking our hotel. Each booking engine has its own terms and conditions, so depending on which one you booked through, we'd have to investigate. I would be happy to discuss this with you via telephone or, when you check-in with us, please ask for the Manager on Duty or me so we can get to the bottom of the problem. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    586
    243
    92
    37
See reviews for
163
393
85
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Friendly staff, good service, rooms spacious. Perhaps a little more variety in the restaurant menu would have been appreciated.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed at the Renaissance Seattle for a long weekend with my mom and sister. The hotel is a classy property that appears geared toward the business traveler. The hotel was clean with nice amenities, including Aveda products. We enjoyed a visit to the lounge one evening. The hotel's location made it an easy walk to many popular downtown venues. The big downside: the beds. We had a room with 2 double beds, beds that should not be shared. The mattresses in our room were certainly in need of replacing. But overall, and certainly considering the excellent rate we had received, it was a good downtown hotel choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about our property and amenities offered. I am sorry to hear that you did not find our beds comfortable. With our hotel being recently renovated, most mattresses are less than four years old. We also have them on a routine maintenance program for rotation. If you would be so kind as to let us know the room number, we will check the mattresses out immediately. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

My experience at the hotel I would describe as average and not a 4 star rating that priceline might suggest, thus I was slightly disappointed. Overall the hotel property is okay and for being in downtown Seattle the price I paid on priceline was a bargain $115/night.
The inhouse workout room and nice treadmills and a full set of dumbells, however the other workout machines needed repair, gym was small. Pool had stong smell of chlorinates.
*Internet should have been free, for $13/night, it was s-l-o-w.
*Parking was tight and expensive $30night for self park (however compared to parking elsewhere this is probably standard fee.
*access to I-5 was convenient
*Maxwells restuarant had nice breakfast buffet, 3 newspapers to pick from and a very friendly staff.
*Overall staff was very helpful, friendly and actually seemed to enjoy their work. Rooms were clean and diligent housekeeping service.
*tv picture in room was not HD, small channel selection
In my opinion this is a value property if you can get it through priceline, however add $43/night to compare with another facility ( if you get free internet and parking).

Room Tip: Avoid the East side of Hotel to avoid nocturnal traffic noise if that bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and our accommodations. I apologize that you weren't completely satisfied with your stay, however, I do thank you for your kind words and feedback about our staff being friendly and helpful. I'd like you to know that we take all comments and reviews very seriously and use them for moving forward in positive ways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The hotel was conveniently located, walking distance to all areas of downtown Seattle.

The room was a touch on the small side.

The bed was comfortable.

There was an empty bar fridge included which was nice. Most hotels provide a fridge full of overpriced goods.

No complimentary slippers.

In downtown Seattle parking is free on Sundays, but the spots are taken up quickly. We stayed Sat & Sun night, we paid $8.00 to park from 6PM to 8PM Sat nite while spots were available. On Sun nite we prepaid $8.00 to park from 8AM to 10AM on Mon. The result was $16.00 to park from 6PM Sat to 10AM Mon. This saved approximately $45.00 in parking.

Ask for a room away from the Interstate.

Ask for a room on a lower floor (6th), this will allow you to use the complimentary wireless internet provided in the lobby saving $12 or so per day (ask the front desk for the password).

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Interstate. Ask for a room on a lower floor (6th), this will allow you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel and your stay with us. I appreciate your comments and am happy you were satisfied with your visit and our accommodations. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The hotel has a very nice design and look to it. My husband and I went for a conference at the hotel. Our room didn't have as many cable channels so being alone in the room at night while he was at a meeting, I didn't enjoy the choices. Also the bed was horrible. We had a king sized bed and both of us slept horribly. Our over 20 year old mattress at home was nicer!
The workout room on the top floor was really nice with good equipment.
I ate at their restaurant for breakfast which was good and not too expensive.
They didn't have a shuttle bus to or from the airport, but luckily for us we had a friend drive us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I apologize that you were not fully satisfied with your stay, but we do appreciate your feedback. It is rare that we receive a complaint about the comfort of our beds, but I am sorry you feel that it was not comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed at the Renaissance Seattle during 29 Oct - 2 Nov 2011. It is indeed a great place.

I landed up at the Renaissance with 30 hours of plane on me, and after Virgin had misplaced my bags. At check-in, the helpful lady there gave me a bag of complementary toiletries and told me that I could get a pair of PJs at the gift shop.

The Renaissance has a terrific location in downtown Seattle. The rooms are large and well-equipped. The wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel. The flat-screen TV in the hotel can be used with the laptop as well. However, the TV transmission is analog, and is sometimes blurry. The coffee-maker and iron are handy for the traveller. There is no bathrobe though--could have come in helpful when I had lost my PJs in the luggage...

Did not dine out at the restaurants, as I was there on conference. The Conference rooms--Level B, Level 2 and Level 3 are--are conveniently located and well equipped. We did have a bit of trouble with the PA system in the conference halls. The food quality was excellent.

Overall, a great property, great rooms and a great experience overall...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that we were able to make it comfortable, despite the airline misplacing your luggage. We thank you again for your in-depth review, and for choosing us as your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#35 Business Hotel in Seattle
#50 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Seattle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.