We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moore Hotel is the greatest & cheapest!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seattle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moore Hotel
Save
You added Moore Hotel to your Saves list
1926 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Tulsa, OKlahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Moore Hotel is the greatest & cheapest!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2006

This place is so so charming, quaint and friendly. Great location and you can't beat the price with a 10 foot pole. I love all the little shops on the block underpants, jewelry and toys, one stop shopping if you don't need anything so practical- and the nitelite bar downstairs is AWESOME!!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    378
    124
    36
    27
See reviews for
106
287
94
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boise, idaho
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2006

Okay, this is NOT a glam hotel, but you can't beat the location! There is no bellhop; the front desk service can be loveable, rude or hard to understand; and the water pressure isn't the greatest. That's the worst of it. What's so great about the Moore that I've visited and revisited and been a fan for nearly a decade now... the price and the location. I don't go to Seattle to sit in my hotel room, I visit to walk around, to shop, to drink coffee and to see the water. At the Moore, you have it all at your doorstep.

When I first started visiting, the neighborhood was in desperate need of police surveillance at night. As a single female traveler, I could walk around and feel relatively safe and the front desk kept a good eye on their lobby and the comings and goings of their patrons. Now, the neighborhood immediately outside the door looks even safer and more options are available for shoppers, diners, beer and cocktail seekers than ever before.

Best part - YOU ARE ONLY TWO BLOCKS FROM THE WATERFRONT. Request a 6th or 7th floor room facing the water and you'll enjoy a view that most visitors pay through the nose for. Walk to Pike Place in the morning, shopping at Pioneer Square in the afternoon, visit nearby Belltown at night. Walk everywhere. They'll hold your luggage for you either before your check-in time or after you've checked out but have a few hours to kill before catching your flight. Visiting the convention center - it's less than 10 minutes walk, grab coffee at the French Bakery at Pike's Place before you head into convention hell.

Worst part - Parking - you have to pay, there are two lots on either side of the hotel or try the Bon/Macy's parking lot for something a bit cheaper. Oh, and they like to keep your key at the front desk - there is only ONE KEY available per room, so if you're sharing with someone but have different itineraries, make a habit of dropping the key off at the front desk. I would trust these people, I once left a drawerfull of clothes behind and they were kind enough to take care of them until I returned the next day, ashamed but extremely grateful.

And if you've always wanted to be a bellboy, there are a couple of luggage carts that you can wheel your stuff about.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2006

The reviews on here are not always spot on but most times they come through. Not with the Moore. These reviews must be written by the owners or something because this place reminded me of something between a hostel and sleazy motel.

The lobby is falling apart (like most of the building)the rooms are big, i'll give them that, but the bed sheets were torn and stained, horrible old mattress, pillows that me think it would be better if i laid my head on a brick. The place wasnt super dirty but it was not kept up. I realize its old but its just not worth it at any price.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2006

I love the Moore Hotel! I have stayed there 3 times in the last 6 years and everytime was an great experience! The staff is friendly and is always willing to give you suggestions on places to go. It's just up the street from the Pike Place market which you have to visit even if you are only there for the day. Also very close to capital hill, the space needle, crocodile cafe, etc. All this and at an incredible price too. I will only stay at the Moore!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2006

This old hotel is in a 7 story building built in 1907 that includes the Moore Theatre, a busy concert hall. Not sure how much of the fixtures, including granite shower enclosures, glavanized pipe and cast iron radiators are original, but they take you back, in a good way. Clean and functional. We paid $79 for a high ceiling-ed suite, two rooms, each with a queen bed and cable TV, and a bathroom between. On the 6th floor, we had a view of Elliot Bay. $15 for 24 hours at the parking garage directly across the street. Cheapest overnight parking in Seattle. All no smoking, great location, friendly staff, good value.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2006

i must say that i was a little skeptical on such a place due to the price, in comparison with other hotels in the downtown area. man, was i wrong. very friendly staff, very helpful, and accomodating. building was very old, but very well upkept. only two blocks away from pike place market, four or five blocks from the shopping district, and the start of belltown (great restaurants and bars). would definitely encourage anyone looking for a great deal, and on a budget. will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2006

I stayed at the Moore Hotel in 1996 and returned last year to find that not a lot had changed. It is very well placed in central Seattle and pretty much everything is walking distance. the rooms are clean, well sized and en-suites are available. when we stayed there the staff were very helpful and introduced us to the local shops and some great restaurants. the moore is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moore Hotel

Address: 1926 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#47 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Moore Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.