We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bargain, Great Location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Moore Hotel to your Saves list
Moore Hotel
1926 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Central New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Bargain, Great Location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

If you are looking for a bargain hotel with a great location in Seattle, than look no futher than the Moore Hotel in Seattle. The Moore is located two blocks from the Pike Market and the major attractions are a short walk away.

This recenlty renovated hotel is clean and comfortable, but lacks any luxury ammenities that a major name modern hotel will offer which was fine for my wife, daughter and myself. This is strictly no-frills except for those looking for a clean bed and shower.

I would not recommed it for families with young children as the concerts in the adjacent theater can be heard in within the hotel. I don't recall a concert ending later than 10:00 - 10:30 PM. You can request a room on the higher floors (7 floors) but be warned there is only one elevator.

Glad we stayed at the Moore!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    372
    120
    36
    27
See reviews for
103
279
93
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Wa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

We took a room at the Moore when it seemed that all rooms in Seattle were taken. It has both good and bad features. The accommodations are Spartan but clean and spacious. The location is great except for the drug and alcohol recovery center next door, which results in individuals of questionable character loitering on the street day and night. (These folks can be avoided by walking on 3rd St. or on the west side of 2nd St.) We appreciated the kitchenette, but had to request a microwave, which was provided. There were very few cooking utensils, but nice tableware. There were no knobs on the cooktop, and none could be found by the staff. Electrical wiring was stapled to the walls, and there was no clock or clock radio. We were on the street side, 2nd floor, and there was considerable street noise (much of it from the rehab folks next door.) Free wi-fi worked well.
Would we stay here again? Probably. If you limit your expectations, the Moore provides acceptable, spacious, but spartan accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

This hotel is old and has the charm that goes with that. It is well maintained and improved but not extensively renovated. We liked the desk clerk who recommended a great restaurant for us and we liked the location of the hotel. Ww could walk to the restaurant and bar area around Pike Market and also to the seafront. We had a one night stay and found the hotel completely adequate for our needs. We'd recommend it for a budget stay in downtown Seattle.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken SC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

We stayed at the Moore Hotel pre and post cruise to Alaska. We had a suite witha seperate bedroom for our nephew who was traveling with us. It is not the most modern of hotels 100 years old. If you arte into historic this is the plaace. The rooms are clean. It is a bit noisey due to traffic out side. No Air condiationing, but you don't need it. Walking distance to everything including busses to Sea-Tac. Night desk clerk robert, knows all the good spots to see..Would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

I was spending a few days sightseeing in Seattle prior to travelling up to Vancouver for an Alaska cruise.
I chose this hotel based on location and price.
I will admit to being a little nervous as we pulled up in front of the hotel - it's definitely nothing to look at - but the lobby had an old-time charm to it, and the staff were warm, friendly, and helpful.
I was given a verbal description of three available rooms and allowed to choose: one with a clawfoot bathtub, one on a newly remodeled floor, and one with a view of the water. I chose the waterview, which was on the seventh floor facing Second Ave. And received, to my great surprise, an actual KEY - not the key card you get at all the chain hotels.
You can see the water over the tops of the other buildings.
The room was quite large, with a very high ceiling and two big windows that you can open - which is a good thing, because there is no air conditioning, and the weather during my stay was sunny and warm. There was a small tabletop fan, which was a huge help both in cooling down the room and in providing white noise to counter the traffic in the street below.
Very plain decor, institutional-looking bedspread and drapes. Nice little table near the windows, but the chairs seemed low when using them with the table.
The bathroom was small, and it puzzled me. In the space where a bathtub would normally be, there was a shower stall. There were walls on both sides of it, which made the space next to the toilet uncomfortably small. And that shower was extremely temperamental temperature-wise - it would not maintain a constant temperature.
All that being said, however, the hotel was clean and just a short walk from Pike Place Market and Westlake Center (and the monorail). When you input the address shown here on TripAdvisor, it doesn't line up with what I found in reality; it's on Second Ave between Virginia and Stewart, right next door to the Moore Theatre, which did not have any events during my stay.
This puts it on the same block, practically next door to some kind of housing called the Josephinium, a "Recovery Cafe" and what appears to be a group of social service agencies. So there were some interesting characters hanging out in front of those buildings - but they were not of the type who accosted passersby.
The public transportation buses are free within a downtown zone which includes the Moore Hotel. A cab down to the Amtrak station cost, as I recall, about $12.
This was nothing fancy, but all I needed was a place to sleep when I wasn't rambling around, so it suited me just fine.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

my wife and I stayed in a European style room for 3 nights. There is a bathroom that includes a shower / bath and toilet and there is also a separate toilet. Unless you have used a european room before, you need to get in the shower early to avoid the peak shower periods from 8am to 10am but presumably people who book this type of room have done so before so this would not be a suprise. The room itself was clean and comfortable which included a tv, closet, sink, table and fan. Maids are quite active in the mornings and seem to pay attention to cleanliness. The hotel has 2 internet stations in the reception. The hotel is a short walk to the Pike Market and probably a 10 - 15 minute walk to the space needle. Plenty of eateries are near the hotel. We did a Seattle underground tour and would thoroughly recommend it. We also caught a ferry to Bainbridge Island for the day - the ferry terminal is on the foreshore, 10 minute walk from the hotel. We easily caught a bus near the hotel to the airport, the reception guys were helpful. All in all, we had a good experience and is what we expected.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Stayed with my husband and two teenage daughters in March. We did face the bay and I was happy that we could open the windows. Downside very loud on the weekends with ppl coming out of the clubs with drunken yelling. I'm sure earplugs would work, but didn't notice any noise from other guests. I liked our rooms with their high ceilings. we had two rooms that were adjoined by a bathroom. Each room had its own closet and TV. The kids room had 2 twin beds and an extra sink and mirror. All this for about 130.00 per night. We also had a microwave and frig. Very clean room, heat with radiator. Desk staff was adequate, not overly nice but not rude either. We had fun here, a little dicey neighborhood at night but I walked along and felt safe, but I live in a big city so I'm used to panhandlers and street ppl, but if your from a small town or the country this might not be the place for you. Only bad thing I could see was there was no A/C so a hot night/day in the summer might be very uncomfortable but perfect fall through spring. Walked everyday to Pikes place also walked to space needle just a mile or so, very close to lots of shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moore Hotel

Address: 1926 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#44 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Moore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moore Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.