We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Gem in a Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Moore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moore Hotel
1926 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101 (Belltown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Funky Gem in a Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have stayed here 6 times now and love the place. If you have to have AC and obsequious plastic people at the desk, this is not the place for you, and yes, the elevator is weirdly slow. The staff is very helpful, particularly the young man who always seems to be there when I check in at night. He is so knowledgeable and refreshingly candid, which I really appreciate. The price is amazing for a location two blocks from Pike Place (15 minute walk to the Space Needle area and a couple of blocks from light rail, too). I have never had a problem with getting fresh towels or using the wireless connection. The coffee shop in the lobby has great coffee, even by Seattle standards. If you need quiet, the back of the hotel is better--there are a few homeless people who wander by and shout occasionally at night. For amenities, bring your own conditioner but they provide decent shampoo.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    345
    108
    33
    27
See reviews for
96
251
81
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

In addition to location you could add price as a selling point for The Moore. It is easy walking distance to a number of the more popular attractions including the Pike Street Market. The downside is the location which is noisy especially since in warm weather your air conditioner is the open window and the eight inch plastic table fan ( for which I was grateful ). The sound machine we travel with also helped. Our room faced the street which made for a good view and extra noise but life's made of trade offs. The room was clean if spare and the bed was comfortable. We also opted for a room with its own bath. Some might say the decor of the the hallways was funky or hip or boutique. I'd call it creepy. Any minute I expected to hear "Redrum" in a child's voice. Be forewarned about one of the smaller elevators I've seen and definitely the slowest especially the door. By the way it's the only guest elevator. All in all given the excellent location and reasonable price, it's worth checking out. No pun intended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location couldn't be better, it's a very short walk to Pike Place Market and many other attractions in downtown Seattle. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We had a suite, which meant there was a private bathroom and a separate living area with some basic cooking facilities - small fridge, two electric rings, and a coffee maker. This was just about enough to cook up a simple meal. The staff were helpful and the café downstairs served very good coffee and waffles. We had a great time in Seattle and would definitely stay at this hotel again, as it is such great value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Moore has a great location. Walking distance to pikes market and shopping. A little further to pioneer square. 2 blocks to the stop for the hop on/off trolley, and 3 to the monorail to get to the needle. We had room 724 which was a 2 bedroom with one room having a queen as the other had a queen and 2 singles plus a 2 piece washroom. Small kitchen with full size fridge, microwave coffee maker and complete dishes and cutlery. The only drawback was that is is a busier spot on 2nd and the traffic noise including emergency vehicles can be disrupting to your sleep. The windows open, no screens, nice air flow but then the noise comes in. Don't know if this is an issue if you get a room at the back. The hotel itself is old and has lots of character. Squeeky wood floors but very clean. Taxi to the amtrak was $6.00 and from the airport to the hotel was $52.00 in a van.

Room Tip: If you like quiet maybe a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My 7 year old and I spent the weekend in one of the European type rooms (bathroom across the hall). It was $73 a night, clean, within walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do, including the Space Needle, Pike Place market and lots of good food! I highly recommend this place. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here in room 605, June 11-13. This hotel was wonderful! We had one of the suites which had its own bathroom. Everything was clean upon shall except for a stain on one of the throw pillows but that didn't bother us, just tossed it off the bed. The room had a kitchenette and a table, a queen size bed, a closet and dresser for storage, and a vintage bathtub with a showerhead. Perfect for all our needs. To future guests, it is a green hotel and doesn't have air conditioning- again not a problem for us, it was plenty cool with a window slightly cracked at night and the fan on.

The hotel is 2 blocks from Pike's market, which was wonderful and a perfect place to walk for lunch/dinner. The Moore cafe that's connected to the hotel also was wonderful. We both had waffles and coffee one morning, I went back two additional times for coffee because it was so good. Overall, great price and great location.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were coming to seattle to stay with friends and needed a hotel one night unexpectedly. Went online and the Moore had a queen room shared bath "European style", we were a bit apprehensive about sharing a bathroom. It turned out great! It's no big deal, everyone was courteous, we didn't wait in line, people were sometimes a little casually dressed in the hall, but it occurred to me that was natural, as you were forced to use more of the hotel space than in an ensuite situation. I'm a big fan of the Moore, even more so now!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moore Hotel

Address: 1926 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Moore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moore Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.