We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem, close to everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Moore Hotel to your Saves list
Moore Hotel
1926 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Lanark, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An absolute gem, close to everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I can't say enough good things about the Moore Hotel. First of all it was the most economical hotel I found when doing my search. We paid $135 for a 5-room suite, a price no other hotel in the downtown core came even close to. Also, the location was fabulous. We could walk to all the major downtown attractions, most being just a few blocks away. It was clean. It offered a real mix of old and modern, i.e. a historical landmark, over 100 yrs old, yet our room was upgraded and decorated in an urban / modern / chic style. We stayed there twice, once before our cruise and again after. For one night only, we chose a smaller room, and it was just fine. For our 3-night stay, we chose a suite. It was very spacious: 5 rooms, 12 foot ceilings, and tastefully decorated. All the front desk staff were 100% service-oriented. It didn't matter what we needed or what questions we asked, they were there to help. I would recommend the hotel to anyone willing to exchange new accommodations for the charm of an older hotel. We loved it, and if we ever return to Seattle, we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter with minimum street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    371
    120
    35
    27
See reviews for
102
279
93
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Moore on three get-a-ways to Seattle. We love this somewhat quirky, friendly, affordable and well located hotel! During our last trip we took a shared bath room for a night and it worked out great so if that's the only room they have available don't be concerned. While the place shows it's age with some cracked plaster it is clean and well enough appointed. The location is very good and is within walking distance of Pike Place, Pioneer Square, the Space Needle and Bell Town. The coffee shop in the lobby is excellent too. Be sure to take the staff's advice about parking which can be the only tricky part of staying here. Speaking of staff they were most helpful with where to go, what to see and how to get there. They also allowed us to store our bags at check out so we could explore a few hours more. As for the quirky part we love the leopard print carpet on some floors and look for unique art work like the poor lady trying to hold the elevator door open on the third floor!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to share a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

I spent three days at the Moore Hotel and I didn't want to leave! I stayed in room 728, the room was clean and comfortable! The beds were very comfortable I slept like a baby every single night. The tv had plenty of channels! Our room had a little kitchen, it had a fridge, stove, microwave, plates and silverware! The bathroom was also nice and clean. We were down the street from Pike Market. We walked down and had piroshki piroshki pastries every morning (BEST apple cinnamon roll I've ever had). I'll warn you about the elevator, it's probably the slowest, smallest elevator I've ever been on, so if you have a thing about elevators take the stairs. Another thing, try not to walk around after it gets dark, there are a few homeless people around there, if you do go out take a cab back to the hotel just to be safe lol. However, I highly recommend this place. If you don't mind old, awesome, historic buildings you will not regret staying here. Ps. Order a Mexican mocha at the Moore cafe, you will love it!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Lots of character, walking distance to main attractions. Really impressed with the friendly staff, one of whom was especially accommodating seeing that we were exhausted from an overnight flight. Shared bathrooms for European style rooms were clean. There is only one elevator so we just took the elevator up with our luggage and used the stairs the rest of the time (better for our health anyway!) o and the coffee shop downstairs is fantastic - talented baristas who draw pictures in the top of your coffee.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed after arriving back from a cruise. When checking in the afternoon person was ok and helped with directions. The morning staff at check out seemed more polished. We'd asked at time of on-line reservation to have quiet room - we were on 7th floor and facing street. It did finally quiet down around 8p.m. or so and start again early in the morning to have bus traffic. We didn't find it a quiet room. Window openings don't have screens - & seem to be single pane glass. We didn't open the windows. No in room coffee, but coffee shop next door and a place that sells waffles.
It is convenient to get to Pike Place Market - just a couple of blocks. The elevator is very very slow. The room was clean and a number of cable channels on tv to chose from. Bathroom ok, a shower not shower/tub combo. There was shampoo and soap.
We chose this hotel because of price and closeness to the Market so it met our expectations.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was my first time visiting Seattle and since I prefer to not mess with a car while traveling location is a strong consideration. My spouse and I chose the Moore because of the price, which was far below other hotels in the immediate area. We had originally booked the "European Style" room, which is essentially a fancy way of saying that you share a bathroom with other people on the floor. Neither of us mind this setup, especially to the tune of a 35$ per night savings. However, we we arrived we were actually upgraded to a room with a private bath at no additional cost. Sure, out window looked straight out at a brick wall, but this honestly kept the noise from the street down (with the exception of the occasional garbage truck in the alley). The room was bare-bones, but spacious. Our bathroom had a very old tub/shower, which was neat and had no operational issues. There was no place to really sit your shampoo and the life, but the top of the toilet worked just fine. The room had a very large closet, probably the largest I've ever seen in a standard hotel room. If anything, it almost felt like the room was too big and didn't have enough furniture in it. The bed was comfortable and the TV was a modern flat-screen Samsung. Aside from the good sleeping quarters and great price, the staff was absolutely amazing. From the first moments to the last they provided us with food suggestions, transit help, etc. The cleaning staff did a nice job as well and were friendly in the few interactions we had with them. Overall, I definitely recommend the Moore if you are one of those people who doesn't expect much more from a hotel than a clean and safe place to sleep. There didn't seem to be many bells and whistles and I believe the entire hotel is serviced by one ice machine on the second floor. That being said, we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be staying at the Moore Hotel again when we returned, the money and time saved by doing so this time allowed us to see a lot more of Seattle!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We visited this hotel and were very pleasantly surprised. We would absolutely stay here again in the future. Rooms are nicely sized; clean; and what a fantastic location for the price! I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I had an odd experience with staff. The man who checked us in was incredibly accommodating and nice. The next morning during check out a woman at the front desk was rude and unprofessional. So I can't speak well about our experience with staff.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moore Hotel

Address: 1926 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Moore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moore Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.