We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Moore Hotel to your Saves list
Moore Hotel
1926 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Saint John, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“A real gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Having read some good and some bad I booked the Moore with some trepidation. I needn't have worried. Granted this hotel does not have the usual trappings of a four star but it had everything iI needed and Moore. It is an historic hotel opened in 1907 and built by a Canadian from Nova Scotia. The hotel is in a perfect location and close to the market. We were able to walk everywhere in no time. The front desk staff was welcoming and very efficient. We arrived quite early and had no problem storing luggage while we saw the sights. When we did check in , the room was spotless. We had windows open and apart from the odd siren, the neighbourhood is quiet at night. We had good wi fi free of charge. The coffee shop just off the lobby was excellent. If you need a clean, friendly place to act as a base for Seattle exploration I recommend it. Also, looking at other hotels in the area, this is the bargain of bargains.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    371
    120
    35
    27
See reviews for
102
279
93
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Reasonable price. This hotel offers what you need for your visit. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. If your looking to stay in a place with some history....this is it! I would not hesitate recommending this hotel.....

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We chose the Moore Hotel because of its convenient location in downtown Seattle. We could park our car in the parking garage near the hotel (there is a reasonable charge for parking) and see all the sights of Seattle using public transportation. The staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The building is old, but the rooms are quite comfortable and clean. Comfortable beds. We were very happy with our choice and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed at The Moore for a week. check-in was a bit of a hassle due to not having enough money on a credit card and I was waiting to be paid which was the next nigh. The person on the front desk said not to worry and speak to them on the Wednesday and fix it up. Got the key to my room and got in the elevator (which is a small elevator) and went up to the 6th floor and into my room

The view wasn't great but it didn't bother me...when I first entered the room it had a musty smell but i just opened the window to air it out...the bathroom is small but was ok...the toilet had what I would say airplane quality pressure meaning drop your ring or necklace and flush...say goodbye.

The hotel is right next Pike Place Market and heap of places to shop...yes there plenty of "undesirables" who will ask you for a cigarette, money etc. but they are pretty harmless. The room did get very hot due to the heater being on (which runs on a timer) but just open the window a bit to keep the room nice and toasty)...

The photos on their website doesn't do the hotel any justice..management said they do have to update their website.

Staff are very friendly (they fixed up my credit card issues very quickly without any fuss)

Granted it's an old building and the rooms are missing some mod-cons (my room still had an old CRT TV and wi-fi doesn't go all the way round the floor) but if you need a hotel where you don't care about no room service and just basically use it to sleep, freshen up and keep your luggage safe...this place is for you

Room Tip: Try and get a room that is within the wifi range (if you need the internet)...Front desk will give y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I chose the hotel for my friend and I because we had limited time and wanted good value. It was an excellent location. Quick walk to Pike Market, or the monorail, or to the shops in the downtown core.
Very clean
Excellent service by staff at front desk.
You leave your key at the front desk every time you leave. I never had to wait long. There was often a line up at the front desk, but the staff acknowledged us within a few minutes. I've stayed in hotels where you are left hanging, no order the the line up. I think the Moore hotel has less rooms and professional staff.
We stayed in room 420. No a/c. No fridge. No frills. BUT the hotel is an older 'boutique' heritage building. We knew this going in. It didn't detract from our experience. It was hot outside in early Sept, so ac would have been nice but not a deal breaker. Ear plugs are a must if windows are open OR if the people in 419 (our Neighbour left facing our door) are having crazy monkey sex every 3 hours! Yes, yes, yes! Actually she said, "aw, aw, aw!" *high pitched voice. They copulated so much I had to have a cold shower and cigarette after each session. Thankfully, we were out most of the time running around. (We laughed each time)
Great Mexican food on the same street, about 3 blocks away. Cheap low frills bar next door was good for a nightcap. This is a come as you are type hotel. Don't bring you Fifty Shades reenactment fantasy please. I'd stay again. Location location location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Visited Seattle for 1st time, staying 5 nights from Sept 19. 7th floor room, nice sized room with queen bed, comfortable bed &room. About 32 inch flat screen TV. Quiet (on back side of hotel) from street noise. Soap, shampoo, no Kleenex. Cooked breakfast within a few minute walk away. Within a few minute walk are Pike Place Market, Nordstrom's, Macys, Westlake Center (light rail from airport), Monorail, and in the other direction (Belltown) the Seattle Cinerama. The hotel staff at lobby desk were very nice. Hotel heat not on yet, but staff gave me a space heater. Would stay again at this hotel as very pleased. And, it was very affordable. Historic Moore Theatre in same building.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The rooms and bathrooms are a bit on the smaller side but we were only in our room long enough to shower sleep and change. It is in the heart of downtown and very close to everything! And has one of the best coffee/cafe shops I've ever been to! We will most defiantly being staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moore Hotel

Address: 1926 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#43 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Moore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moore Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.