We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great value; decent accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seattle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moore Hotel
Save
You added Moore Hotel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1926 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 98 Hotels in Seattle
manila, the philippines
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Absolutely great value; decent accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed in the Moore several times over the past six years whenever I need to be in the city center. It's no-frills but very decent for the price. The rooms are clean, wide enough, the bed is comfy, towels thick enough and spotless white. Moore is accessible by foot to eating places, Pike Place, etc. Perfect for the budget traveler because it doesn't treat him/her like dirt.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    417
    133
    41
    28
See reviews for
127
322
100
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

After our expensive cruise and anticipating expensive meals in Seattle I was happy to find the Moore hotels with good reviews and very good rates. It just was not for us. Location could not have been better, it truly is the perfect location for getting around town. Part of the problem is we were actually in Seattle during it's (highly unusual I understand) heat wave and this is a "green" hotel, aka "we have no air-conditioning". It was hot, very hot, and the one fan they had for our two rooms was plastic with a 10" diameter, aka "useless".

Upon arrival the lobby was small, shabby and crowded but they did offer to hold our bags until our room was ready (we arrived before check-in time). After exploring the city a bit we returned to the Moore and directed to our rooms. The elevator is down right scary and the hallway was dark and shabby but I'm still thinking that for the location and price ...

We left our bags and went to dinner and truly hoped it would cool down a bit but it didn't really. When we returned to the hotel the room seemed even hotter, the fan was useless and we knew we had to go, we'd never get to sleep.

We called around and ended up at the Klimpton ... it was like a breath of fresh air, pricey fresh air, but cool pricey fresh air nonetheless.

I wanted to like it but it simply wasn't for us, admittedly partly due to the heat but it was too dark and too shabby for a vacation hotel for a couple in their 40's and their teenage daughter. Twenty somethings with backpacks for luggage (and I'm really not saying that in any sort of a bad way) would probably find it ideal, I know I would have back in the day, but not now.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you want some place central, clean & tidy with good staff and at a reasonable price for a downtown place to lay your head, look no further than the Moore Hotel in Seattle. This little gem is two blocks from Pike Market in the heart of the city and I could not recommended it highly enough for a travller on a modest budget.
I do have the feeling its probably haunted though as the decour has a Shinning feeling to it!
Enjoy your stay...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We really enjoyed out stay in the Moore Hotel. The staff is so friendly and helpful. It was so close to all the tourist attractions that we could walk. The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in 718 and were quite happy. Very clean and nicely decorated. Staff was friendly and helpful. We walked everywhere from here. Coffee at the "Moore Coffee" was excellent. Happy hour nachos & steak tacos next door at the "Nitelite" were good. I'd stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stayed at the Moore Hotel three times now and it has always been a great experience. Its location is great if you are in town for shopping or just seeing the sights. Only a few blocks from Pike Place Market and a few more to Alaskan Way. Go east a few blocks and you are at Macy's and the downtown mall area.

Moore is a budget hotel, but not too budget-y (if you get me). The furnishings are dated, television only has a few channels and elevator is slow and tiny, still the bed is nicely firm and bedding clean and well taken care of. Some of the rooms have a toilet and shower, while others are shared (only stayed in one of those once; either get up early or sleep in as it is hard to in the shower right on time).

There is a little bar downstairs where you can get food, but I would suggest you head over to Virginia st. and eat at the wonderful Argentinian steak house (tango demonstrations on the weekend). They recently added a coffee bar too (this IS Seattle after all), and that I do highly recommend. Amazing lattes and the pastries are wonderful.

If I am ever in Seattle again you can be sure I'll be back at the Moore.

Fun fact: hotel is rumoured to be haunted though I have yet to see anything paranormal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Moore is the best price for the location. It is no frills, clean and quiet. There was no closet in the room, so if you have clothes you wish to hang this may be an inconvenience. I did not inquire with the front desk if an iron or hair dryer were available. If these are a necessity you should check with them before booking. The cozy cafe they run is a great place to start the day.

Room Tip: Request a room by the elevator if you depend on fast wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#61 of 98 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Mayflower Park
#17 of 98 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,581 reviews
Belltown
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#35 of 98 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#7 of 98 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,592 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#33 of 98 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moore Hotel

Address: 1926 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#36 Family Hotel in Seattle
#45 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Moore Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.