We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayflower Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mayflower Park to your Saves list
Mayflower Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   405 Olive Way, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

I was quite happy at the Mayflower and would stay there again either on business or leisure. It had a lot of historic charm while still being clean and up to date. Some of the complaints are true--there is some noise from traffic outside (though it definitely dies down at night and if you are particularly sensitive, ear plugs would do the trick), no real counter space in the bathroom, no fancy flat screen tv--but the location (an easy walk to the Market, the monorail, and to Dahlia's-yum!), the comfortable pretty room with nice beds and towels, and the excellent service overrode these minor problems. The front desk and the room service waiters were particularly friendly and thoughtful. I had a deluxe room which was plenty spacious; however, the regular rooms I poked my head in, while still nice, were definitely smaller--I'd recommend springing for the deluxe--the rate was only slightly higher.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    422
    82
    19
    14
See reviews for
245
632
98
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

Stayed in a corner suite and was well worth it. This hotel gave us a great AAA discount, otherwise couldn't have afforded it. So be sure to ask. Even with this discount, we were treated with superior service. Arrived before check-in, so they held our bags as we did sight seeing. The desk staff helped us check in for our flights, reserved transportation to airport and even helped "weigh" our bags to make sure they weren't too heavy to check on the airplane. They recommended restaurants and brought us extra terry robes for lounging in our room. Even the clerk who took my reservation weeks earlier was very helpful and explained details of the room and said often the corner suites have a view so I requested a view. We ended up with a super view of the Space Needle. We had 5 people in our group so had one room with 2 double beds, which were very comfortable, and a large sitting room (where we opened a cot at night) with bar and TV and the excellent views. The TV in the bedroom didn't work but one in the sitting room was fine. Best of all we had 2 bathrooms which is great with a group. This is a good location to get to Pike's Place Market (about 4 blocks) and to catch the monorail (right around corner) to the Space Needle. Also close to shopping, the Nordstrom Rack, and a food court in the mall (good for teenagers), and of course coffee shops. Around the corner was a courtyard in front of an office building with a band playing during lunch hour. Wouldn't walk around this area too late at night. Came back from eating at Etta's after dark and was glad we were in a group. We have paid a lot more $$ for a lot less in service and quality so with our great experience at this hotel and we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

Third time in Seattle and third time time in the Mayflower Park.
Nothing wrong with the hotel, but on checking in they managed to do 'something' to my Visa debit card and it was blocked. Took around 45 minutes to actually get to my room after a lengthy call to my bank who informed me the hotel needed an authorisation number from their end but some reference number they had was wrong... 5 further attempts to charge my card resulted in another long call to my bank on the Sunday morning due to lots of fraud and security alerts.... I would say that Robert on the front desk was very helpful and it wasn't his fault but after a 10 hour flight and an early departure the next morning, it did little to mellow my mood.
The correct amount was charged to my card on the Monday.
Seeing as there seems to be an issue with debit cards maybe there is a staff training need or a look at systems?

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

I had always intended to stay at 3 hotels either side of a conference at Microsoft in Bellevue so I could see which one I wanted to stay at on my next visit. I booked my first night at the Mayflower Park as I needed an address for the visa waiver form, however I had to move rooms as soon as I arrived due to noise, despite requesting a quiet room on the booking and again during the check in. The second room was adequate however it faced the street so there was some noise and the room was fairly small, dingy and rather dated in a shabby kind of way rather than quaint. The TV was very small and looked about 20 years old with poor fuzzy reception and poor range of channels. I did not try the restaurant so cannot comment on this. On a positive note the hotel is in a great location which would be difficult to beat.
In short the hotel is ok however it was not a tough decision to try another hotel and I would not stay at the Mayflower again unless my first choice (The Vintage Park) was not available.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roanoke, virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

Stayed three nights, in a corner suite on the 12th floor. If you want restful sleep with little neighbor noise, this is the way to go. Because the suite literally was a corner of the hotel and my little living room was one on side of it, I had no bedroom walls that adjoined neighboring rooms. I know I had neighbors because I saw housekeeping cleaning their room, but I never once heard them. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Housekeeping staff did NOT knock on my door at the crack of dawn, and they DID restock my little complimentary toiletries without me having to ask. I would absolutely stay here again, in the same suite. The restaurant, Andaluca, was wonderful. My only complaint there was that it was closed Monday AND Tuesday.
Several minor little things...not much counter space in the bathroom, at all. And when they tell you room service is served 24 hours...that means you can get a fruit or deli plate any time. No hot food after 10. The windows only opened about three inches. Another hotel was being built fairly close by, and construction noise started around 0800 each day.
But, hey, I wasn't there to sleep in. Everything that mattered to me (comfy bed, peace and quiet, great staff, convenient location) I got.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

This is a truly lovely hotel. The staff was excellent. Greg, the bartender in Oliver’s Lounge, is a show unto himself. Go and have a martini just to watch him work. He’s unstoppable; a fabulous worker and fun to watch. The hotel is clean, the beds comfortable, and the ambience is relaxing and romantic. I wouldn’t recommend this for families but definitely for a romantic getaway or a peaceful business trip. The only issue I had is that there was a small closet in our deluxe room and the bathroom was tight (e.g., the toilet roll holder was practically in my eye!). There was room for a small toiletry cabinet, but they didn’t embellish, so there was no counter space. Aside from these issues, some of which are easy fixes, I would absolutely recommend this hotel. Excellent location, too!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

If you want to stay in downtown Seatlle, I recommend the Mayflower Park in every way. Great staff, excellent room, central location. The hotel is "getting on in years" so if you want a 5 year old Sheraton this is not for you.

I enjoyed every moment of y stay in the Mayflower Park from the great check-in staff to the Queen suite to the breakfast and bar staff.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayflower Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Park

Address: 405 Olive Way, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Seattle
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#25 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayflower Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in thriving downtown Seattle, the Historic Mayflower Park Hotel is in the heart of the city. Built in 1927, the classic Mayflower Park Hotel has been lovingly restored with crystal chandeliers, gleaming brass and period antiques that offer an inviting European elegance to this historic Seattle hotel. The hotel is ideally located steps away from Seattle’s most exciting attractions, including the famous Pike Place Market, Seattle Waterfront, and Space Needle. A full array of museums, theaters, shops and restaurants are at our doorstep while Washington State Convention and Trade Center is only 4 short blocks away. The hotel opens directly into Westlake Center, with 80 specialty shops and direct access to the Monorail, which means you are just a 2 minute ride away from the Space Needle, Seattle Center and Experience Music Project. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mayflower Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Park Hotel Seattle
Mayflower Park Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayflower Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.