We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, some negatives” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayflower Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mayflower Park to your Saves list
Mayflower Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   405 Olive Way, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 98 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good location, some negatives”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Mayflower Park: the pros are great location near shopping, waterfront & city sights; Oliver's, the martini bar off the lobby, well known in the city; Andaluca, an acclaimed Seattle restaurant, also off the lobby; next door to the Westlake stop for the light train from the airport. The cons are extremely slow elevators; tiny bathrooms w/ no space for toiletries; thin walls between rooms. On balance, a pleasant place to stay with friendly & accommodating staff, but would most likely choose another place to try next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    480
    88
    19
    14
See reviews for
272
694
107
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

It was my 1st stay here, although family members were returnees. The location on 4th, 1 block from Westlake Center, including the light rail, shopping (Nordstrom, Rack, etc.) and lots of restaurants is ideal. The rate is very reasonable.
Other than having what might possibly be the world's slowest elevators, I think this is a terrific property. Our room had 2 queen beds and 2 bathrooms! The baths were small but very nice and it was such a luxury to have 2 baths since our adult daughter was traveling with us. Our 7th floor room was tastefully decorated, although I'm still puzzled why there were hot pink sticky notes in a few places around the room (on a picture, etc.).
My husband and I have different last names and he wasn't with me at check-in, which caused a brief delay. Our daughter, with his last name, was with me and I had a copy of the confirmation email so they let us in. Next time I'll be sure both names are on the reservation. I do appreciate being security conscious but that could have caused a great inconvenience.
I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenks, OK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Yes, everything we read about this hotel is true. Rooms are small but well kept and clean. We got a good deal for a downtown hotel using an online site. I would not pay the normal full price though. You almost have to valet if you have a car and they charge $35 per day to do so. That is just too much to park a car. The staff is great and very helpful. We were surprised to be invited to a FREE wine tasting one day and that was fun. The best thing about this place is that you can walk to all the sites in downtown Seattle that you would want to see. Will I stay there again? Probably not unless I could get a great deal.

Room Tip: Ask for higher than the 5th floor to get a way from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Fitness room was not fully functional but overall very nice hotel. Stayed there because of location in the city could walk anywhere. They also offered the stay and cruise package which worked out great

Room Tip: Great location in the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Mayflower Park for one night in early August during our 17 day, 9 city vacation. Having just arrived in Seattle on the Victoria Clipper, we took a taxi the short trip to the hotel and arrived at 3:05PM. Upon trying to check in, we were informed that our room was not ready. When I asked how long it would be before it was ready, I was told that "guaranteed" check in time was 4:00PM. Since it that was less than an hour away we chose to sit in the lobby and wait. At 3:50PM we were told our room was now available and the rest of check in went without problem. However, in an establishment of this supposed caliber I find it hard to believe they do not have any rooms available more than 10 minutes early. This is an historic hotel that has been renovated and the rooms are well furnished, but rather small. The bathroom was especially small with a pedestal sink (no vanity) and only a small glass shelf to hold our toiletries. I have to say, the location of the hotel cannot be beat. We only had to walk about half a block to the entrance to Westlake station to take the train to the airport or the monorail to Seattle Center. After returning home and receiving our credit card bill, in addlition to the expected $260+ charge for the room, we had a 2nd charge from the Mayflower for the same date for $3.00. While it is a small amount, we had no receipt for an amount like that so I called the hotel to find out what it was. I was informed it was for a bottle of water and they can't charge for it until housekeeping cleans the room and finds it has been used. I was really taken aback by this because there, indeed had been 2 bottles of water in the room (not a name brand, either) and I do remember opening one of them. However, since there was no sign indicating a charge, I assumed they were complimentary as was the case in several of the other hotels we stayed at during this trip. Had I known there was a charge I would never have opened it as I could have had a soft drink from the vending machine for less. The only other hotel we stayed at that charged for the bottled water in the room had a very plain sign stating the price of the water. Since there was no such signage in our room at the Mayflower I feel deceived. I told the hotel's billing agent all this to which she simply replied well it was not complimentary. And to bill $3.00 for a bottle of water that probably cost them less than 50 cents is unconscionable . Add this to our less than stellar check-in experience and I don't know that I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Front Office Manager at Mayflower Park, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
iclog,

If you arrive at the hotel prior to check-in time, we are always happy to store luggage for you while you grab breakfast in Andaluca, a cocktail in Oliver's, or see the sights in Seattle. The front desk can call you should the room become available before 4pm, no waiting needed.

Due to feedback like yours, the signage for the water has now been changed making the price more visible. I can understand that if you're not looking carefully, the old sign in front of the water bottle could be overlooked. The new price tag will now be on the neck of the bottle.

Thank you for your feedback, it helps us improve.

Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Comfortable, clean, and great location for many of the attractions. Close to shopping , main city attractions, and restaurants. Elevators are slow is my only complaint. Breakfast was not included in my stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a good, solid, old fashioned American hotel with a great bar, excellent bar tender, good, clean and comfortable. The service was faultless. I do wonder why American hotels choose that awful big dark wood, faux furniture it's so dreary, ugly and outdated but I guess apart from its ugliness its harmless! Some rooms are noisy from the traffic but I asked to be moved and that was cool.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Hotel 1000
#2 of 98 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,237 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#8 of 98 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,554 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#11 of 98 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Warwick Seattle Hotel
Warwick Seattle Hotel
#46 of 98 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 stars 1,339 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#14 of 98 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,680 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#31 of 98 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Park

Address: 405 Olive Way, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Seattle
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#28 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayflower Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in thriving downtown Seattle, the Historic Mayflower Park Hotel is in the heart of the city. Built in 1927, the classic Mayflower Park Hotel has been lovingly restored with crystal chandeliers, gleaming brass and period antiques that offer an inviting European elegance to this historic Seattle hotel. The hotel is ideally located steps away from Seattle’s most exciting attractions, including the famous Pike Place Market, Seattle Waterfront, and Space Needle. A full array of museums, theaters, shops and restaurants are at our doorstep while Washington State Convention and Trade Center is only 4 short blocks away. The hotel opens directly into Westlake Center, with 80 specialty shops and direct access to the Monorail, which means you are just a 2 minute ride away from the Space Needle, Seattle Center and Experience Music Project. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mayflower Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Park Hotel Seattle
Mayflower Park Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayflower Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.