We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayflower Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mayflower Park to your Saves list
Mayflower Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   405 Olive Way, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Oklahoma City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

Stayed here for a work meeting. Although the rooms are not large, they are very well maintained and comfortable. Fabulous beds with great linens. Close to Pike's Market, great restaurants and shopping. Can't forget to mention the hotel bar, Oliver's. Great ambiance and great drinks including their signature drink - the Paradigm Shift. A quality boutique hotel!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    421
    82
    19
    14
See reviews for
244
630
98
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Mayflower Park for the first two nights of our Seattle/Portland trip last August. We were attracted to the property for its central location and moderate prices. Although we preferred other hotels on our 10-day trip, we were overall pleased with our stay at the Mayflower Park. For the rates we paid, it was a decent value for downtown Seattle.

The location truly is the best selling feature of the hotel. We were able to easily walk to all the major downtown attractions, even the Space Needle. The attached mall with the monorail stop, was a great convenience. Pike Place is a short downhill jaunt and the fabulous Tom Douglas eateries are scattered throughout the area (Palace Kitchen and Dahlia Lounge/Bakery are not to be missed).

The front desk was staffed by friendly, attentive service professionals. Check-in and check-out was smooth and efficient. We had a mixed experience with the doormen/bellmen/valet staff that lounge in the entrance. Doors were opened and held sporadically and conversations among the bellmen apparently took priority over guest service. Yes, the elevators are slow, but this was nothing we had a problem with.

We had a king size corner room with couch and side chair seating area on the 9th floor. We had no issues with street noise, and enjoyed the view of the city. The room was a perfectly comfortable for two. The bed could have been a bit more plush. The mattress was just okay and could be due for replacement. The bathroom was a good size and was tucked around the corner, giving the room a nice layout and a break from cookie-cutter, chain hotels.

I really admire the work that was done to save a preserve this historic property. However, the entire place needs a cosmetic freshening. The brass décor and linens feel solidly late 80’s/early 90’s. A total overhaul isn’t necessary, just an upgrade in bedding and furniture.

  • Liked — Location, value
  • Disliked — Dated brass decor, not-so-great linens and beds
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

Don't book online, call them direct. I booked online and unbeknownst to me I got a single queen room, but needed 2 beds.
Jeffery and the manager helped us out by giving us a great 2 queen room with TWO bathrooms. We were on the 12th floor and it had a fantastic view. Bathrooms were clean and the room was perfect. It was a very quiet room, slept great.
We had a cosmo in Olivers to celebrate the film "Sex and the City" premiere and had lunch in the restaurant. The risotto was the best I've ever had. Perfect location, Macy's is across the street, Nordies 2 blocks away. We walked everywhere and shopped our selves silly.
Pikes Place Market is a few blocks away and is a full of shops, places to eat, the original Starbucks, FIsh and Flowers. Artists of all sorts have set up shop there as well.
We flew in to SEATAC, bussed for 12 bucks to the Westin, then walked to Mayflower park with our rolling suitcases. not a problem.
Seattle airport is very big, ask for help when navigating it.
I want to go back cause I loved Seattle and want to see more of it, will stay in the Mayflower Park again.
Everyone who worked there was wonderful and nice. Bellmen were great and helped us out with suggestions and directions.

  • Liked — Location and Staff
  • Disliked — loved everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

The Mayflower Hotel is a lovely property in a great location in downtown Seattle. The service was great, especially at the concierge desk, which was extremely helpful. I was especially impressed with the subtle but appropriate concern for security that I noted at the front desk. The only small problem we encountered once or twice was in getting a taxi, which the doorman has to hail because there is no space on the street for taxis to wait in. There are LOTS of great restaurants, shopping, and even movies within walking distance, and the monorail station is just a block away. For relaxation, the chocolate martinis in the lobby bar (Oliver's) come highly recommended! The building is old, built in 1927, and truly has "classical elegance" and lots of personality. The rooms are lovely, but the bathrooms are old style, with only a minimum of shelf space for cosmetics and toiletries.

  • Liked — Great location, excellent service
  • Disliked — Occasional problem hailing taxis
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

Just returned from our second delightful stay this year at the Mayflower Park. We had a 5th floor suite -- lovely sitting room with separate bedroom. My husband normally rises earlier than I so this is a perfect arrangement for us. A wet sink bar with coffee maker in the sitting room allows him to sit at the desk to write while he enjoys morning coffee. Comfy sofa, armchair with ottoman and cocktail table and windows on two sides make this room a pleasant place to hang out. We enjoyed a terrific lunch and breakfast the next day in Andaluca and had a nightcap in Oliver's after the baseball game. Both rooms are attractive and friendly environments. This hotel is a real winner and we feel totally at home staying there. We'll be back...

  • Liked — Suite waas spacious and well-furnished
  • Disliked — Bathroom was a bit small, but no big deal.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

We stayed one night before an Alaskan cruise. The location could not have been better. We could easily walk, shop, and sightsee.

We probably had the most fun that evening in the bar, Olivers. We talked to locals and enjoyed the people watching-sit at the bar to enjoy the views. The bartenders were nice and the drinks were good.

Our room was a good size with a small but very clean recently remodeled bathroom.

I would stay here again when I return to the city.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No complaints.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

The wedding party booked out the hotel. Friday friends met up at the lounge, Oliver's, we were at least 50 people. I think the bartender was a little overwhelmed. 50 people in a 175 capacity room would seem normal, but apparently not.

Wedding day, Saturday: the brides family chartered a boat that took us out to Kiana Lodge for the ceremony. The weather wast perfect! We docked back into Seattle around 11:30 and The plan was to return to Oliver's.

I think they decided that they had enough of the wedding party as they refused to serve any of the 30-40 people that showed up. They continued to serve other individuals that were not apart of the wedding party. A lot of money was spent at the hotel and selectively the decided not to serve anyone our entire group.

Enjoy your stay!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The hotel service and lack of hospitality
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayflower Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Park

Address: 405 Olive Way, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Seattle
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#26 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayflower Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in thriving downtown Seattle, the Historic Mayflower Park Hotel is in the heart of the city. Built in 1927, the classic Mayflower Park Hotel has been lovingly restored with crystal chandeliers, gleaming brass and period antiques that offer an inviting European elegance to this historic Seattle hotel. The hotel is ideally located steps away from Seattle’s most exciting attractions, including the famous Pike Place Market, Seattle Waterfront, and Space Needle. A full array of museums, theaters, shops and restaurants are at our doorstep while Washington State Convention and Trade Center is only 4 short blocks away. The hotel opens directly into Westlake Center, with 80 specialty shops and direct access to the Monorail, which means you are just a 2 minute ride away from the Space Needle, Seattle Center and Experience Music Project. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mayflower Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Park Hotel Seattle
Mayflower Park Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayflower Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.