We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage Hotel in Charming Neighbourhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added MarQueen Hotel to your Saves list
MarQueen Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Queen Anne Ave. N., Seattle, WA 98109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Vintage Hotel in Charming Neighbourhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel through Hotwire - it was described as a boutique hotel and that is quite accurate. The lobby is small but welcoming with a lovely glass water dispenser with slices of fresh lemons and limes. There is a lovely staircase to the rooms - no elevator but they offered to carry the gigantic suitcases of the women who checked in before us up to their room on the third floor.

Our room had a sitting area, king sized bed and a kitchen with a built in eating area. This is NOT a chain hotel by any means. The kitchen has a full sized fridge and microwave oven as well as a coffee maker. They even stock the fridge with fresh creamers for your coffee! Ask for a room on the 3rd floor - it is the top floor and you won't be bothered by the creaking floors overhead.

There is a fantastic grocery store called the Metropolitan Market just one block away. They have lots of take out food available and a huge selection of beer and wine.

The only downside is the parking - limited availability and VERY expensive. We took the valet parking but it is $25 per day which is WAY too expensive in my humble opinion.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    187
    65
    26
    12
See reviews for
109
167
29
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenmore, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We chose the Marqueen for its location to lower Queen Anne restaurants and the bus line to downtown. Was a good choice as they have their own parking garage and accommodated us by letting us park the morning of check-in so we could go tour the city. Older building with no elevator if that matters, but nice clean rooms with original hardwood floors and the beds were comfortable. The room had a very small kitchen, slightly updated, but kept the original cupboards, old fashion latches, and tin lined ice block cupboard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Arrived at 11am after an Alaskan cruise, had requested a downstairs room as we had a 1 and 3 year old, was told that no room was ready on the first floor as yet, which was fine as check in is 3pm. Asked where the closest hospital or doctors was as my one year old was pretty sick. Anyway went off took him to the doctors had lunch and came back at 2pm, still no room. Waited until 3pm and asked if there was a room ready yet they said still no and that probably in half an hour or we could take one on the upper floor, never told us this earlier. Anyway didn't get to check into our room until 4.45pm and when we complained about this they said check the website, although check in is at 3pm it is not guaranteed. So I'm paying for a room I'm not even in while waiting around with my sick 1 year old. Staff was very unsympathetic nor sincere in their apologies.
Noticed when we got to the room it smelt like vomit in the bathroom and if the door was left open made the whole room smell. Also no natural light, which I hate. Told the staff about the smell and to ask the cleaners to try and sort it out the next day, however it still smelt. After two days we finally asked to change rooms and were informed they had this problem with our particular room before.
We moved rooms and got one on the next floor with some natural light which was better.
Staff on the last couple of days were much nicer and more helpful than the previous days.
Overall great location, average rooms and staff is a mixed bag.
I would not stay here again and was very disappointed with our treatment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad C, General Manager at MarQueen Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback. I hope your Alaska cruise was fabulous, and that you enjoyed your time in Seattle. While we do guarantee check-in at 3pm; specific room requests can sometimes prevent that from being a possibility. GIven that we aren't anticipate exactly what time guests will checkout - we are able to guarantee clean rooms of every type by 3pm; not necessarily in a specific floor/location of the hotel. My apologies if this was not explained to you clearly at the time of your visit. While most guests find our historic property charming and quirky, this clearly was not the case for you and your family. I'm so sorry that we didn't meet your expectations, and I wish you the best of luck in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

If you are seeking luxury, go elsewhere. But this place is clean, very comfortable, each room has a kitchen and it is in a great location. History of the building is interesting. Staff friendly and helpful. Unique. Old world feel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel will surprise you with its charm and history. Located at the base of Queen Anne Hill, near the Seattle Center, think 62 world’s fair, it is a great jumping off point to explore Seattle. Built in 1906 as an apartment building for the workers at the new Ford plant in Seattle, this property has retained all the old world craftsmanship of a bygone era. The corner room we occupied was HUGE. A bedroom with a magnificent king sized bed, separated from the Living room by double pocket doors. In addition there was a nice compact kitchen complete with a two burner cooktop, refer and all the necessary cooking utensils to have an extended stay. The old world charm shines thru with huge crown moldings and base and ceiling medallions around the light fixtures. One caution, there is no elevator, but walking the Grand staircase is a walk back in time. There is valet parking available 24-7, and if you have a car, you will need this as there is no street parking. There are numerous high quality places to dine within a 5 minute walk. All in all, a really nice to place to stay, but realize, it is not a modern hotel. That being said, there is free Wi-Fi, and a flat screen TV with cable in both rooms and a DVD player and stereo. Highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: get a corner room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas WA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

great old property with historical pictures on the wall. the kitchens were an added bonus..you can see how this used to be apartments.

decent beds and shower.

the parking and cont breakfast deal was worth it.

Room Tip: ask for a high room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We booked this as a last minute mystery deal and were delighted by it. Very old style, beautiful hotel, but has been well maintained! Something different from your usual boring hotel room too! Rooms are huge, own kitchen, clean and very comfortable. Excellent location, right near Space needle and less than a $10 cab ride down to Pike Markets and Ferries. Recommend trying the breakfast from The Tin Lizzy - its not complimentary (reasonably priced), but very fresh and tasty and brought up to your room at a time you pick! Little bit special. Hotel also offered to match the deal rate we got if we chose to stay longer! Bonus.

Room Tip: Top level nice and quite - but you'll have to carry your luggage up, no elevators in this old ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MarQueen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarQueen Hotel

Address: 600 Queen Anne Ave. N., Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarQueen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Queen Anne's main street, and just a short distance to downtown Seattle, the MarQueen Hotel is in the center of a vibrant neighborhood close to local tourist attractions. Enjoy some of Seattle's most popular restaurants, nightlife, boutique shops, Pacific Northwest Ballet, Seattle Opera, and Space Needle, right outside our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your MarQueen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MarQueen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.