We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what one would expect at an establishment attached to a Hospital” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Virginia Mason

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Virginia Mason to your Saves list
Inn at Virginia Mason
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1006 Spring St., Seattle, WA 98104   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Chehalis
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not what one would expect at an establishment attached to a Hospital”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had to spend one night at the Inn due to early AM appointment for medical tests. For the price, and type of hotel was sorely disappointed. Carpets in hallways are worn and dirty. Carpets in room were worn and DIRTY, fast food chips on the floor from previous Inn guests. Window leaked of cold air. Coffee maker only had one cup, had to ask lobby staff for extra cup. No breakfast. Parking was horrible. There is an open pay lot 1/2 block away, $24 for 24 hours, with no in/out privilege, in other words once you park you have to leave your car for the 24 hours or pay again as you are in an assigned parking space. Another parking garage about a block away that is covered and has in/out privileges for $22 per night, access is through the hospital proper or outside via a very steep hill. Access to the Hospital is very convenient, one does not have to venture outside at all to go from the Inn to the Hospital. Staff was nothing exceptional.

Room Tip: If we have to go again I think we will try the Baroness Hotel which is across the street, and is a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you were dissapointed in your stay with us. You will find that our room rates are competitive to other lodging options in the First Hill vicinity. Our older-style accommodations are not for everyone. I appreciate your feedback regarding room cleanliness and I have shared your comments with all team members. Parking is a premium everywhere in Seattle and can be challenging. I am proud of our staff at the Inn and Baroness Hotel which is also owned by the medical center - most of our feedback indicates they go above and beyond in serving our guests. I apologize if you felt they didn't exhibit great service to you during your stay. Good luck in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    61
    22
    11
    5
See reviews for
22
31
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Inn at Virginia Mason is on First Hill, near Capitol Hill, in Seattle; a bit of a climb from the downtown area, but if you're going to be taking walks in Seattle, you'll be climbing hills. It's is a very pleasant, lushly-vegetated area that seems to be the location for several hospitals, including of course, the Virginia Mason. The hotel is kind of a boutique property, but perhaps not as delicate and elegant as that label sometimes suggests. However, it was very clean, orderly, comfortable, and the building itself is old and stately. Pleasant, responsive staff. A good choice for under $200/night rooms.

Room Tip: Upper floors offer beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad we were able to make your stay comfortable and that our team was pleasant to work with during your visit. We're really not trying to be a boutique hotel. . .just a nice, comfortable affordable option for visitors to Virginia Mason Medical Center and travelers looking for an inexpensive downtown hotel option. Please come back and see us again. . .safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I liked the old building, very spacious room and great location. The beds were super comfortable, with no bed bugs. The staff were friendly and efficient. It's close to an incredible Vietnamese restaurant, Starbucks and pharmacy. Was a great stay, close to downtown. It is beside a hospital but I never woke up to sirens but I assume that this could be an issue. However I was there for the weekend and didn't hear one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad you gave us a try. Most of our guests (or their family members) are visiting one of the three world-class medical facilities here on First Hill - Virginia Mason Medical Center, Harborview Medical Center or Swedish Medical Center - but we are always happy to welcome our leisure visitors looking for an affordable Seattle option. Please come back and stay with us again. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at the Inn at Virginia Mason on a Friday night. I arrived in Seattle early Friday morning though...from Sea-Tac I headed to the hotel, hoping to just check my luggage as it was 8 a.m. I took the Link (light rail = $2.75 from SeaTac to University stop) and then walked about 15 minutes. Get ready for a glutes workout on the hill up to Virginia Mason! Anyhow, after arriving I was happy to find out I was able to be checked in! My friend and I got the room with twin beds...so that may be why...but I got right into my room before 9 a.m.! The decor and carpet are nothing to talk about, the room is just fine. Clean and simple. No hairdryer in our room, so had to borrow from front desk. The space and accommodations were just fine for the short amount of time we were there. The rooftop patio is AWESOME! We drink a bottle of wine before heading out and really enjoyed the view and ambiance up there! If you need a cheap, easy place to stay, this is just fine!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi Traveler - thank you for your review! Clean, simple and affordable that's our motto! We will be updating our hallways, light fixtures and adding hairdryers before the end of the year but plan to keep our old-style charm. Seattle is made up of hills (First, Capitol, Queen Anne, Denny and Beacon) so happy to help the daily exercise plan! Please come back and see us again. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was the cheapest hotel with decent reviews I could find in the downtown area. The hotel is old and dated with a slightly depressing air to it. But it was clean, affordable and the beds were comfortable. I pulled the sheets off to check for bed bugs and didn't see any evidence of them. The mattresses looked new too. The couch was threadbare and looked very old, it appeared to be clean but we couldn't bring ourselves to sit on it. Our room with 2 queens was massive. I think it was designed for people in wheelchairs based on the size and layout of the bathroom. I was pleasantly surprised to find a small fridge in the room. Hair dryers and irons are not supplied in the rooms but can be requested from the front desk. The staff were pleasant.
The hotel is affiliated with the hospital and there are medical offices on the second floor of the hotel. We stayed 2 nights, Thurs and Fri. The guests staying at the hotel seemed to be a mix of tourists and medical patients.
We were tourists visiting Seattle for the first time and this hotel was the right mix of affordable and conveniently located. There is a steep hill to get down to the waterfront, tourist attractions and the transit tunnel. It was a hike on the way back up but it wasn't too bad. The area around the hotel seemed safe when we walked around at night. The rooftop deck was neat.
They stored our luggage for us after checkout so we didn't have to lug it around before our flight. If you are looking for an affordable clean hotel downtown and don't mind it being old and dated this is a an excellent option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Clean, affordable and right location, we can't ask for a better description than that! Our couches in the room type you were in are scheduled for replacement next year. . .with an older hotel the list is endless of items to update. Please come back and visit us again in the future. . .we will always be your affordable option in Seattle. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We wanted downtown Seattle and this hotel was far less than anything else and close to the light rail. When we found out that it was formerly the hospital hotel for visitors, my wife wanted to change the reservation, but never did.
It was a short but steep walk from the light rail. The rooms were newly decorated. We got a free upgrade. The beds and linens were very nice and comfy. Since it is on the budget side of the highway, there were all sorts of reasonably priced restaurants nearby. And it is a short walk to the waterfront.
We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Good Morning David. Thank you for your comments - I particularly enjoyed your review and learning that we surprized you! We are very proud to be part of the Virginia Mason Medical Center campus - recently voted one of the top 10 medical facilities in the country. We look forward to welcoming you again when your travels bring you back to Seattle. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We traveled to Seattle for a medical procedure and I was so happy to have the option of the Inn at Virginia Mason for its very close proximity to the hospital. The other property is the Baroness where we also stayed and I will review separately.

We stayed at the Inn for about one week. The Inn staff were very kind and helpful, though we had to ask to get the room cleaned or at least clean towels a few times. Nonetheless the Inn is older but suited our needs quite well. We had a spacious room with a queen bed and a couch bed to sleep 3 adults and 1 child.

Room service was very affordable. The menu comes from the hospital (same food served to patients). Not bad, actually, there was quite a variety.

To sum up: if your priority is convenience to the Virginia Mason hospital, I recommend the Inn. The other option for you is the Baroness. The Inn is a bit newer and nicer, but you do not get a kitchenette here, it is more of a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Good Morning Juneau Family - Thank you for your review. I apologize for the housekeeping inconsistencies. We appreciate the feedback and will always be working to make your stay more comfortable. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Virginia Mason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Virginia Mason

Address: 1006 Spring St., Seattle, WA 98104
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Virginia Mason 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Inn at Virginia Mason welcomes you with style and warm hospitality. Nestled in the quiet residential neighborhood of First Hill, not only is the Inn at Virginia Mason convenient to First Hill medical facilities it is just a short walk from downtown Seattle shopping, the financial district and the Convention Center. Tastefully designed and reasonably priced rooms await your arrival. Select Suites feature wood burning fireplaces, whirlpool baths and city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn at Virginia Mason reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Virginia Mason Hotel Seattle
Hotel At Virginia Mason
Virginia Mason Inn
At Virginia Mason Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Virginia Mason, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.