We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 night stay very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1113 Sixth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #34 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“5 night stay very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Used the Crowne Plaza in Seattle as a base before and following an Alaskan cruise.
Taxi from airport approx 20 minute journey to downtown area.
Well positioned for all local attractions,Seattle downtown area is a steep climb back to the hotel,but return via Pike or Pine streets as these are easier to walk back from the waterfront area,which is roughly a 15/20 minute walk.
Hotel is high rise,and elevators are good.
Concierge in the hotel were friendly and excellent when seeking advice regarding sightseeing tips.
Breakfast was good value, and free bottled water, if required to take out, was available.
Very good rooms,tea, coffee making facilities also in room.
Ideal base, would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Good views of Seattle from higher rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear HomeVictory,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Hotel before and after your Alaskan cruise. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the concierge friendly and helpful. It is especially rewarding to know you would recommend our hotel. Thank you again for your comments. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    357
    141
    52
    21
See reviews for
172
259
73
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jtbldb
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We heard that they recently remodeled this hotel..it looks lovely. We shared a suite with my sister and her husband to get an affordable night at a super location. We achieved just that ... Ask for a room with a space needle view .. Then be sure to be in your room at sunset .. It was great from the 29 th floor. The suite was beautiful. The staff was very helpful. Would come again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear jtbldb,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel and the amazing view of the Space Needle from the room. It was great to read the staff was helpful and you would stay with us again if you came back to this area. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you soon.
Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This hotel is absolutely awesome! The location is exceptional, the service is great, the rooms are clean, comfortable, and quiet, the food service is second to none! But like all downtown Seattle hotels they get you on vehicle parking. While the W Hotel two blocks away charges $55/night to park a car this hotel only dings you $45/night.
If you are "carless" like we were this is a great hotel to strongly consider. 5 minute walk to Westlake Center, where you can get Light Rail to/from Sea-Tac Airport and the monorail to Seattle Center, or buses to pretty much every corner of metropolitan Seattle. 20 minute walk to King Street Station (Amtrak), 25 minutes to Century Link Field (Seahawks football & Sounders soccer), and 30 minutes to Safeco Field (Mariners baseball). If you are coming off the Victoria Clipper - 40 minutes walk with little in the way of hills.

Room Tip: 34 floors, obviously the higher the room the better the view. If possible add the buffet breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Ryan K,
Wow! Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review. It was great to read you found the hotel absolutely awesome. We appreciate your comments about the location being exceptional, the service great and the rooms clean, comfortable and quiet. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again!
Kind Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was my third stay at The Crowne Plaza this year. It never disappoints! I was checked in by a very nice young man (whose name unfortunately escapes me), who recognized me as a returning IHG Rewards customer. I was upgraded to a corner room, club level. I loved my room--nicely appointed with a beautiful view of downtown. Service is the key here, from the housekeeping (room was spotless every day), to the bellman, to the food service personnel. I am always amazed how quiet the rooms are despite the fact this hotel is huge! I never rent a car, as I can walk or take public transportation pretty much anywhere I need to go. There are great employees working behind the scenes, particularly Ray and Kirk. Cristy, the GM, runs a great hotel. She gets it! I look forward to my next visit in December.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Geo T
Thank you very much for staying at the Crowne Plaza Hotel and for being a loyal guest. We are delighted that we are your hotel of choice when you travel to Seattle. Thank you so much for your kind words about the employees. The staff at the hotel are committed to providing excellent customer service and they will be delighted to receive your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in December.
Warm Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband stayed here for near enough a week on business and I joined him for his final night. My first impressions were positive. Location is good, near the business quarter for my hubby and close to shops for me so we were both happy! The room was large, clean and modern with some nice freebie touches, e.g. the sleep tight goodies. My only qualm in the room would be the bathtub was very small and couldn't be used as a bath only something to stand in whilst you shower.

Now onto the negatives.. The lifts were very slow and we found ourselves waiting for ages each time we called one. The gym was small with limited machines. We were also disappointed that there wasn't a pool and this was the first hotel in Seattle my husband has stayed in over numerous business trips which didn't have a pool :-(

Staff were efficient but a little mechanical and lacked a personal touch.

All in all, a great room but have stayed in better hotels in Seattle.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear ljw77,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We appreciate your comments about the great location and the rooms large, clean and modern but regret you found the bath tub too small to bath in as we just recently replaced all of our bath tubs with standard size tubs. It was disappointing to read the staff did not provide service that met your expectations. Your comments will be reviewed with the Staff to use for training purposes as we are always seeking to improve the guest experience and to make sure our guests feel valued and appreciated during their stay. There are times we experience high volumes of guest using the elevators during peak times which can slow service down and we regret any inconvenience this caused during your stay. Thank you again for your feedback.
Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here for one night before we shipped out. Super helpful and friendly staff, especially the concierge desk. Rooms were very comfortable, great walking proximity to heart of downtown, shopping, monorail, lightrail and Pikes Market. If you are cruising, ask about the cruise package which includes extensive buffet breakfast and van transfer from hotel to port. That said, taxi from hotel to port is only $10. Awarded one of my Trip Advisor service pins here to Terry the concierge.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Ga8tr,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Seattle before your cruise. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations. Terry will be very honored you awarded her one of your Trip Advisor service pins. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel if your travels bring you back to Seattle.
Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Have stayed here twice now, both booked through Priceline - one name your own price and the other through an express deal. It's a great place to stay if you're looking for something central. It was under 30 minutes to walk to Safeco Field or Century Link Field. It was about 10-15 minutes to Pike Place Market and close to shopping and restaurants.

I understand all the complaints about valet parking or parking in general downtown! Really, $40 per day?! I just don't understand it but I also don't know of any hotels downtown where parking is free. If you do, please let me in on the secret. It was nice to just park our car though, leave it, and walk all over downtown.

It appears as though they are slowly renovating rooms throughout the hotel. You can tell it's an old property (some of the carpet and floors smell in certain areas) but they are trying to up date. I LOVED our bed. We literally melted into our mattress and did not move. I believe it may be a foam mattress? But regardless, it's one of the most comfortable beds at a hotel that I've slept in awhile. My other complaint as far as the property was the noise. The first time we stayed was New Years Eve and I don't recall hearing my neighbors but this time we could hear the people next to us talking. They weren't talking loudly so I guess the walls are just thin?! Like I said, this wasn't a problem last time on another floor.

We avoided the expensive all you can eat buffet for breakfast and opted to walk down the block to other more appealing and reasonably priced options.

I'd stay again, as I feel it's in a good location, staff were warm and friendly and for the price the hotel is not bad at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Christina T,
Thank you for posting a review about your stay in September of 2013. It was great to read you found the mattress comfortable .We are pleased to report we completed renovation of all the guestrooms and public areas. We hope you can come back soon to see our upgrades. Due to limited parking in the downtown Seattle corridor parking can be expensive. There are limited alternative parking options available with in and out privileges. Prior to setting price we complete extensive competitive analysis to ensure we are in line with like hotels in the area. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to serve you again.
Best Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area

Address: 1113 Sixth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#27 Business Hotel in Seattle
#35 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle offers a superb location in Downtown Seattle, close to everything great in the Pacific Northwest. A few blocks from the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle, you can explore the historic Pike Place Market or the new Seattle Central Library; catch a Mariners game at Safeco Field or a Seahawks game at Qwest Field in Pioneer Square. Walk two blocks from the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle to your meeting at the Washington Convention & Trade Center, then indulge yourself at hundreds of downtown stores, including Westlake Center and Pacific Place shopping malls. Explore the local waterways on an Argosy Cruise or on any of the major cruise lines. Click on the Packages tab for some great options to help you see it all!The Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle also puts you in the heart of the city s amazing arts scene, including the beautiful 5th Avenue and Paramount Theatres, Seattle Art Museum, and Benaroya Hall. The Space Needle stands just minutes away, casting its long shadow over Key Arena, the Pacific Science Center, the Experience Music Project and McCaw Hall, home of the Seattle Opera and the Pacific Northwest Ballet. Plus, the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle is just four miles from the University of Washington with its Meany Hall and Husky Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area Hotel Seattle
Seattle Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.