We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff, rooms and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1113 Sixth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #43 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great location, staff, rooms and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for nine nights across the New Year into 2014. We would stay here again should downtown Seattle beckon. The hotel’s location is conveniently located right in-between Seattle’s Medical district and Seattle’s downtown, with both in walking distance. Just across from the hotel is the very pleasant Jim Ellis Freeway Park. We have walked the entire Medical District from the hotel, and to the water’s edge with Pike Place Market, the piers and Washington State Ferries. We are both retired and can say they are reasonable walks. We took the Light Rail from the airport to University Station, caught a taxi for $7 (with tip) to haul us and our suitcases up to the hotel. Once checked in, the walk to the Light Rail is just 3 blocks down, 1 block over, very easy. Our room was spacious, beautiful downtown view, excellent HVAC, with the requested two beds, a refrigerator, no microwave, and just barely enough electric outlets for our gadgets. Parts of the hotel are under renovation which never disturbed us. We were in our room a lot, and housekeeping was excellent about refreshing our room when we requested it. The food quality from room service handled by the hotel’s Regatta Bar and Grill was excellent. It was so tasty we even repeated some evening dishes and the service took only 18-22 minutes after calling. If you want to buy some groceries, there is a minimal shop one block south of the hotel at 5th and Seneca, with a real IGA Grocery at 3rd and Pike. We slept really well as this hotel is quiet, though you hear the occasional ambulance running up into the Medical District. If you are an IHG Priority Club Member you’ll like the additional Continental Breakfast and Evening Snacks. Hotel staff were always friendly and helpful. Finally and essential nowadays, the wireless Internet service was reliable and fairly speedy. If you have a mess o’ dirty clothes we walked to Crystal Clean Laundromat, 1718 Bellevue Avenue, .8 miles, 20 minute walk, clean, a lot of machines.

Room Tip: Higher the better for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    324
    134
    52
    20
See reviews for
149
234
64
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Booked a two night stay after Christmas via Hotwire (3.5*). We were given a "renovated" two-queen bed room on the 26th floor. My wife enjoyed the freeway view from the back of the building as she found the continuous movement of traffic to be strangely soothing. Hotel renovations are still in process on the lower floors, but we did not see or hear any activity.

This hotel is located among a cluster of other hotels, just east of the main shopping district (Pike and Pine streets). Pike Place, Seattle Art Museum and the Convention Center are nearby.

The renovated room was clean, and larger than average, but it needed some adjustments: the carpet was loose, heating unit was loud, bathroom drains were slow, room door could use a bit more sound proofing.

We we provided with free wifi by virtue of the hotel club membership, but reception was spotty in the room. TV had a good selection of HD channels and the usual pay per view content.

We did take advantage of the fitness center which had relatively new equipment, but it was a bit limited in size. Front desk staff were friendly at check-in and check-out.

3.5* is a fair rating for this hotel. Would probably stay here again if I can get the discounted rate.

Room Tip: Other reviews say that elevator noise is an issue, but we did not find it to be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Very central location as it is a 15min walk from Chinatown (Bolt Bus), 10min walk to Pike Place and 5-7 min walk to the Convention Centre/Monorail to Space Needle. Only stayed one night so didn't spend much time in the actual hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I checked in on December 20th. We were taking the Amtrack down to Portand, leaving on December 21st at 7am. I use and rely on my cell phone for my alarm clock, it went off, I went and took a shower. I left it on the bed, I take 100% responsibility in that. Here is the problem. I realized it was there, I called immediately. NOBODY, would go and check and return it to the front desk. Again, I checked out at 7am, and called by 9am. Im not even sure if housekeeping would have even gotten to my room. I called 5 times a day for 3 days, I find there could have been a resolution when I called the first time. It was clear as day, that the staff did not care about my problem. That was very frustrating. Day 3 I get a call from Nick, he told me he would give my note to the manager, Christine. As they did express how awful I was treated nothing changed. Christine did tell me that she would check with Nick to see if there was anything new and would follow up. Nothing. I believe the least Crown Plaza could have done is offer to pay my insurance deductible. I know 100% my phone was on the bed, and I know if they would have cared my phone could have been recovered. So, if you leave anything behind, rest assure they will not care! I will never stay here, or recommend. Plus, the housekeeping staff speaks broken English....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear BrandiK,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us. I apologize for the difficulties you experienced with receiving a return phone call about your lost cell phone. I know this was very frustrating and we will review the procedures we have in place and make the necessary improvements to our service to ensure guests do not experience this in the future. We routinely find and return items left by guests in the guestrooms. Unfortunately, our Lost & Found Department did not find your cell phone. I regret any miscommunication that occurred during our phone conversation. It was my understanding I was to call you back if I found any additional information about your cell phone. Again, I do apologize for the misunderstanding.
Sincerely,
Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Paul Mn
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I first stayed here in the early 90's and then again about two years ago. Since my last stay they have embarked on a complete rehab. My room was on the 19th floor and had a great view of the city.
When I arrived they didn't have a room for me yet so I checked my bags and went for a walkabout. Within an hour I received a call that my room was ready. When I walked in I could still smell the aftershave of the guest before me.(Thankfully it was high quality and smelled good)
The room itself was clearly one that had been recently updated.New furniture,carpeting,wallpaper,all very tasteful and pleasing to the eye.
The bed was true to the Crown Plaza brand and more comfortable, I think, than even my bed at home.The bathroom was spotless and well lit.All in all a very nice property at this tier.
My only issue with the Hotel is that it is somewhat removed from the popular areas, i.e.; Pikes Market etc.I did not have a car and walking in Seattle is quite a workout.It seems no matter which way you're going it's uphill.
I would not hesitate to stay here in the future. In fact I am certain that I will. Happy Trails!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear butchpSt,
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It was great to read we met your expectations and found the bed comfortable and bathroom spotless. We truly value your business and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I was without a car, and glad to find that you can get to this hotel from the airport via the central Link--just get off at the University stop, and the hotel is maybe 3 blocks away. When I was checking in, the lobby was filled with a rowdy group of guys there for a Seahawks game. I requested to be anywhere away from them, and got a very quiet and spacious room. The hotel is walkable to theater, restaurants, and the monorail which takes you to the Space needle, Chihuly Glass Museum, etc. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I will no longer be staying here due to their restrictive cancellation policy. I have stayed here before and it is a nice hotel centrally located. But I had to cancel my room earlier in the day I was to arrive due to a change in the business meetings I was to attend. The hotel charged me anyway. I do not dispute the charge, I just want to point out the hotel policy. There are many other nice hotels with much less restrictive cancellation policies in downtown Seattle for me or my colleagues to waste our money here.
Cary Honganen

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Cary Honganen,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you also for staying with us in the past. I am so sorry you were not aware of the cancellation policy for the reservation that was booked through Expedia. Your review does not indicate whether you called Expedia directly to request a refund. Since we do not have your credit card information we do not have the ability to refund your charges. We have several different ways to book a reservation on our Branded website at www.crowneplaza.com , tailored to meet our guests’ needs. We have rates available that are fully flexible and can be cancelled within 24 hours day of arrival.. We also have rates that we grant larger discounts with a more restrictive cancellation policy. We do our best to ensure the cancellation policy is communicated before the reservation is made. Please contact me directly at 206-676-3900 or csmith@cphotelseattle.com if you need further assistance after contacting Expedia. I hope you will consider staying with us again if your travels bring you back to Seattle.
Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area

Address: 1113 Sixth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#42 Family Hotel in Seattle
#42 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle offers a superb location in Downtown Seattle, close to everything great in the Pacific Northwest. A few blocks from the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle, you can explore the historic Pike Place Market or the new Seattle Central Library; catch a Mariners game at Safeco Field or a Seahawks game at Qwest Field in Pioneer Square. Walk two blocks from the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle to your meeting at the Washington Convention & Trade Center, then indulge yourself at hundreds of downtown stores, including Westlake Center and Pacific Place shopping malls. Explore the local waterways on an Argosy Cruise or on any of the major cruise lines. Click on the Packages tab for some great options to help you see it all!The Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle also puts you in the heart of the city s amazing arts scene, including the beautiful 5th Avenue and Paramount Theatres, Seattle Art Museum, and Benaroya Hall. The Space Needle stands just minutes away, casting its long shadow over Key Arena, the Pacific Science Center, the Experience Music Project and McCaw Hall, home of the Seattle Opera and the Pacific Northwest Ballet. Plus, the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle is just four miles from the University of Washington with its Meany Hall and Husky Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area Hotel Seattle
Seattle Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.