We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1113 Sixth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Belmont, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A nice hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I'm sitting in the newly remodeled lobby of The Crowne Plaza right now. What a nice upgrade. I've stayed at this hotel 4 times now and really like it! From the moment I checked in yesterday, I have felt welcomed and valued as a guest. Every time I see a staff member, I am greeted with a smile and a hello. Being a priority club member (sign up!), I was upgraded to the club level with access to the club lounge. There, you get complimentary breakfast and happy hour appetizers. Some people talk about the rooms needing updating, which I understand will be underway in the fall. To me, the roooms are comfortable and warm. I actually ran into the designer in the lobby and mentioned how much I liked the remodel. Kudos and thanks to the GM and her entire staff!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    393
    151
    55
    22
See reviews for
185
277
79
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DeWitt, Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Over the New Years holiday I stayed in the Olympic Suite on the top floor. It appeared to be one of their top three suites.
This hotel has several things that make staying here a really nice experience -- the staff are friendly and accommodating. I had problems with the internet and they responded quickly and helped me through the whole process. Housekeeping was also very helpful, polite, and efficient.
The location is awesome. There are several vegetarian/vegan restaurants in the area that make your experience in Seattle very nice if you like that kind of food! The view from the top floor of the hotel oversees the city and gave us nice seats to the fireworks show at the Space Needle.

The rooms themselves, however, are very disappointing if you've paid top dollar for them. The lounge attempts to provide good food and drinks but only opens for certain hours, preventing guests from grabbing a bottle of water or juice in between breakfast and the evening. The hotel is being remodeled but is currently dated and there is no way you'll be able to take a hot bath because the water -- at its hottest -- is just slightly above warm temperature.

If you get a good deal on the price, it's not too bad of a hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear israel r,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our staff takes pride in delivering excellent customer service and they will be thrilled to hear you found them friendly and accommodating. We are pleased you found our location awesome and enjoyed viewing the Space Needle’s fireworks show from your guestroom. It was disappointing to read we did not fully meet your expectations and you had issues with the hot water. Your comments will be reviewed with the Chief Engineer to inspect the room you were in. We use all guest feedback as a tool to make improvements to our services. We are in the final design phase of our guestroom renovation which will begin soon and hope you will come back to see our improvements.
Thank you again for your comments.
Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Overall a decent experience. We had the suite on the 34th floor. Great location, several blocks from Pike's place, etc. Flatscreen TV's, but overall, the furniture is very old and traditional. Not worth what you pay for...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear imandy0517,
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy you found our location great . It was disappointing to read that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We are in the final design phase for our guestroom renovations that will begin soon. Thank you again for taking the time to provide this feedback.
Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a terrific stay at the Crowne Plaza in Seattle. The lobby renovations are finished and the hotel now offers a modern & contemporary lobby. Terrific location in DT Seattle. Seattle is a fun walking city and this hotel allows easy walking access to Pike Street Market and all the shopping in DT. We had a lovely room on the 30th floor with excellent views. Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

As others have said the lobby is under renovations and is a little bit of a mess. The staff are very friendly and try to cover the mess. I had a nice room quite high up with a great view- but I get the feeling the deco was stuck in the 80's and was in desperate need of a makeover. Maybe the hotel is targeted towards a different cliental, but update soon Crowne

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Tuppaware,
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was great to read you found the staff friendly and enjoyed the view from the guestroom. Please allow me to apologize for the challenges experienced during the hotel's lobby renovation. Our revitalized lobby will be revealed the last week of December 2012 and it is my hope you will have an opportunity to see this upgrade first hand. We are in the final design stages of the guestroom renovation that will start later in 2013. Thank you for your business and we hope to serve you again.
Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver. B.C.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Booked this through priceline for a decent price. We were given a generously sized corner room. We had requested a king size bed, but unfortunately when we arrived we were given a double room, but the bed(s) were comfortable and we both had a great sleep. Location is good, walking distance to a lot of attractions. We took a cab to The Pink Door restaurant that was only a 6$ cab ride. The room was extremely clean, though the wall paper in the bathroom could be updated the rest was nice and comfortable. The hotel was quite busy when we arrived but the front desk staff was friendly and efficient. Be aware that parking at the hotel is quite costly, and we didn't find anything around that was much better, though we didn't try very hard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The property is in the middle of renos to their entire lobby - so keep this in mind. The prices seem to reflect this as they are modest for a downtown luxury hotel. The rooms are small but adequate, the bathrooms very small. The location is great for a downtown shopping visit of Seattle. It is certainly not a 4 star as it has been advertised.

Room Tip: Request a higer floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear westvanclan,
Thank you for your review regarding your experience with us. We are pleased you found the location great within walking distance to many Seattle attractions, restaurants and world class shopping. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during the lobby renovation. We are excited to reveal our revitalized lobby the last week of December 2012, and hope you have an opportunity to see this upgrade first hand. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope that you give us another chance the next time you are in Seattle.
Sincerely,
Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area

Address: 1113 Sixth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Seattle
#34 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#34 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle offers a superb location in Downtown Seattle, close to everything great in the Pacific Northwest. A few blocks from the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle, you can explore the historic Pike Place Market or the new Seattle Central Library; catch a Mariners game at Safeco Field or a Seahawks game at Qwest Field in Pioneer Square. Walk two blocks from the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle to your meeting at the Washington Convention & Trade Center, then indulge yourself at hundreds of downtown stores, including Westlake Center and Pacific Place shopping malls. Explore the local waterways on an Argosy Cruise or on any of the major cruise lines. Click on the Packages tab for some great options to help you see it all!The Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle also puts you in the heart of the city s amazing arts scene, including the beautiful 5th Avenue and Paramount Theatres, Seattle Art Museum, and Benaroya Hall. The Space Needle stands just minutes away, casting its long shadow over Key Arena, the Pacific Science Center, the Experience Music Project and McCaw Hall, home of the Seattle Opera and the Pacific Northwest Ballet. Plus, the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle is just four miles from the University of Washington with its Meany Hall and Husky Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area Hotel Seattle
Seattle Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.