We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in a happening part of town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ace Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2423 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98121 (Belltown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good value in a happening part of town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Comfortable and accommodating. The Ace Seattle was a good place to call home for two nights. A location slightly off the main circuit - but close to many places to experience: Pike Place Market and Space Needle, for sure. But don't miss Olympic Sculpture Park and Chihuly Garden and Glass and a walk along the water's edge. Found the room comfortable and efficiently arranged. Solo traveler so it didn't feel to small or tight. Happy to have a desk and free wifi along with sink in the room. Shared bathrooms were clean and never crowded, so it made that aspect of the Ace very easy. Breakfast is similar to many with granola, yogurt, fresh fruit and make-it-yourself waffles along with Stumptown coffee. Liked the space a great deal - a converted building with high ceilings and good feel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    91
    25
    19
    11
See reviews for
27
118
34
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was our second stay at an Ace (Portland previously). Exactly what we expected it to be. Reclaimed, renovated old character building in quirky Belltown. Great location, easy walk (5-ish blocks) to Pike Place Market, Space Needle, etc. yet lots of interesting restaurants, bars in the neighbourhood.

We got a deluxe room in the back corner (#119) that had a view of the side street and a partial water view. There was a funny divot in the old floor under the carpet. I was finally taller than my girlfriend! Comfortable bed, flatscreen TV, leather couch, free wifi. Rudy's Barber Shop toiletries. The sink didn't have much surrounding counter space.

Note: The windows are double pane but the nature of the old openings means the windows don't fit perfectly which means you will hear traffic noise more than you would expect.

Friendly staff, apparently a free waffle breakfast downstairs.

Its not perfect, but I'd take it's character over some generic mega-chain any day.

Room Tip: Room 119 is a corner unit with partial water view and street view. NW facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I have spent many nights at the Ace Hotel over the years and I couldn't be fonder of the place. That said, we hadn't been there in at least a year when we realized our keys were locked inside my apartment sometime last month. It was after midnight and the resident manager had apparently gone to bed, so we walked into the Ace and were immediately checked in to a simple room with windows overlooking Wall St at the reasonable nightly rate of $89.00. Check in was quick, simple and casual.

I was sad to see that the chess board in the lobby was gone, but they do have a computer available for guest use and a hip selection of complimentary magazines. Our room did not have a private bathroom, just a sink. The shared bathrooms were clean, white and spacious and there was never a line to use them.

The complimentary breakfast is quite possibly the best thing about the Seattle Ace Hotel. It's self serve, available from 6-11am and delicious. The breakfast room is accessible to guests at all hours and is equipped with a snack machine, coffee, a microwave, dishes and a coin op washer and dryer.

There are a couple rooms that are really cool, 116 features a spinning glass mirror wall between the bathroom and bedroom as well as a private terrace (if I recall correctly) and 128 (as well as others) has a sexy glass wall between the shower and bedroom. Many of the rooms feature Shepard Fairey type stencils on the walls and minimal, modern furnishings.

Room Tip: Two of my personal favorites are rooms 116 and 128.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We always hear so much hype about the Ace Hotels, so we finally stayed at THE one. For downtown Seattle the location was perfect for us ~ on the edge of center and a little off the beaten path. The size of the hotel was perfect as well - small. No fuss no muss service - meaning no bell person trying to aggressively take our bags, but the men working the front desk were kind but not intrusive. The room was small, that's no big deal in our book. We liked that we had a big window.

Unfortunately it was kind of downhill from there. The bed was a full - my tall man's feet hung over the end. We had read these reviews about the rooms being so clean - they didn't seem very clean to us. Kind of grimy and in fact, the room seemed like it was time for an update, everything was worn, especially in the bathroom. But the worst part of this hotel is it is not sound proof. You can hear EVERYTHING. Every time a person moves it echoes throughout the floors and walls, every creak in the floor, every shower running, every toilet flushing, everyone blowing their nose - everything. We were lucky to hear everyone coming home late at night and felt bad knowing in a few hours we would be waking them all up when we got up at 3:30 am to go to the airport.

We really wanted to like this hotel because it is very much us, but what isn't is very not us. We expected a bit more than there was in terms of quality. If the Ace took care of the noise, upgraded the interiors, and got better beds, we would be back. But I think next time we'll head somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was our first time at the Ace Hotel in Seattle. We walked in at 8pm on a weekday and they were able to provide us with a room for two evenings. I love the attention to detail at this hotel. From the lovely soap, to the make-it-yourself waffles in their breakfast, we felt cared for down to every last detail. The staff were very helpful and the location was excellent. We found it an easy walk to Pike Place Market and a variety of shops and restaurants. It felt great to stay in a hotel that isn't cookie cutter.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Had a great stay The hotel is just a short walk from the ferry dock (we were coming from Victoria). The staff helped us navigate around. Everything seemed to be within walking distance from the hotel..Pike's Market, the Space Needle area,etc. We even walked to the transit station to catch the train to the airport. No car rental!! Everything was very neat, clean and organized..and a great breakfast . Would definitly come again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had a great stay! They let me pay cash so as not to hold alot of money on my credit card as I was low on funds. I spent almost every dime on a last minute trip to Seattle Bumbershoot 2012! Loved the hotel location, cleanliness, and the continental breakfast! The only negative comment that kept me from giving 5 stars was the $180.00 price for the room. But a last minute booking when most hotels were fully booked was fair I guess. No hotel parking lot either, but also no hotel charge for parking. I would come back!!! Hopefully I can try Ace Portland, LA, or NY someday...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel

Address: 2423 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98121
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown , Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ace Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.