We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Seattle!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Market

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Market to your Saves list
Inn at the Market
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101 (Pike Place Market)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Seattle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

A little pricey, but worth it to be in walking distance to many of Seattle's great attractions! The service is OUTSTANDING but should be for the amount you spend there - valet at $20/day - ouch! I will say though, I'll probably be willing to spend it again because of the great stay I had there. Be sure to check out the outdoor deck on the 5th floor and go with the Free Seattle walking tours! You pay what you feel for the tour and they do a fantastic job!!! Comfortable, clean beds and rooms, great views (even city views) and amazing staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,406
    259
    56
    20
    5
See reviews for
247
1,021
70
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a very well run Inn with friendly and efficient staff. The reception area is quiet, with subdued colors. There is iced lemon water and fresh apples in the lobby and the WSJ for those of us who still like the read a newspaper. The room we had was a partial water view. The bed linens were a tasteful white with a gold, Greek key trim. We had a coffee pot with Seattle coffee in our room. I think there could be more art work on the walls and maybe decorative pillows on the couch. We heard very little noise and that was appreciated. Be prepared to walk up and down hills. I lost two pounds all while stuffing myself on scrumptous fish and goodies from the market.

Room Tip: There are eight floors and we were on the fourth on the west side. The best rooms face Elliott Bay...
See more room tips
Green Features: Our room had a card to be placed on the bed when you wanted the linens to be changed. Bathroom towels were placed on the floor for change or rehung if they could be used again. Thicker and larger towels would be nice.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This Inn is very conveniently located to Pike Place Market. It's really an ideal location to explore the market and the downtown area. The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. It's a LOVELY Inn, with gorgeous rooms and some have incredible views. There are several restaurant options and of course, many more in walking distance. I just don't understand why they had to break rule #1 - no coffee makers in the room. . REALLY? you have to hike to the lobby in the morning to fill your cup - it's free.. but that's ridiculous. I would have PAID to have a coffee maker in the room. (there is no excuse) It would even have been ok for them to ask at check in - if they are that tight on cash. bad bad bad --- otherwise, awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your great review, I am sorry that you did not locate the coffee maker that is in the room, I need to revisit how we display them. We feature Seattle' Best Coffee in all the rooms. We hope to have you visit us again in the near future.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at Inn at the Market from July 7 to 10. The location is wonderful even if it is a walk a half block up a steep hill from Pike's Place market. From the market it was an easy walk across and walkway, down the elevator, through the public garage to the waterfront. We had a fifth floor partial ocean corner room with a king bed and lots of space with windows on the north and east. The staff was great. We asked if we could check our luggage a day early on the 6th while we rode the Victoria Clipper to BC. We delivered our bags at 6:30 am that day and they held them secure for us. We were early to check in on the 7th and our room was not ready. The bell hop took our luggage upstairs but brought it back because the maid was not finished. We had to call the desk twice to get it after we received the room. The bell hop apologized many times. He even remembered us when we went down to dinner later. Each night the maid turned down the bed and left two Seattle chocolates. The front desk even stamped and mailed postcards for us. The bath room was huge with a fan and heat lamp as well as a grab bar on the back wall of the tub. On our last day, the staff slipped our express check out bill under the door early for our review. It is expensive but worth it for the location. On our check out, the bell hop carried our bags down and helped to load them in a cab.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Room overlooked Seattle's Pike Place Market and the beautiful, bustling harbor. Ground Zero for a typical Seattle tourist experience. The weather was great so we used the rooftop patio almost every evening to enjoy the sounds of the market and the view over a bottle of wine. Le Panier bakery (one block over to the right) provided us with our breakfast (opens at 7 a.m.). Target grocery store (two blocks over to the left and one block back) opens at 7 a.m. as well. There is a shop in the market (name escapes me) that had great freshly sliced meats, wines and cheeses.
Employees were cheerful and helpful. Can't imagine reason to look for another property for a future Seattle stay other than price consideration.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We loved the Inn at the Market -- with a couple of exceptions.
First of all, the good, which is most of it. The lobby lovely, with newspapers, fresh apples and urns of fresh lemon water. Staff could not be nicer or more helpful. There is a rooftop deck with lounge chairs for relaxing, watching the sunset. Location is terrific.
Our room was comfortable, with table and chairs, desk and armoire with television. There was also a coffee maker.
The negative: hair dryers were wall-mounted and difficult to use. I have learned by experience to always bring my own. The bathrooms need updating and remodeling. The tub/shower had a scuzzy-looking curtain that I had difficulty pulling across the old and partially corroded rod. In the room, the air conditioner was noisy and inadequate to the job of cooling off the room during a heat wave. When we alerted the staff to the AC problem, they quickly sent someone up to inspect and change the filter. That helped somewhat but I guess the city is not used to the kind of temperatures that challenge their units.
All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We LOVED this hotel! It's easily one of the top five hotels I've ever stayed in, and we won't stay anywhere else in Seattle in the future if we can help it.

We were only going to be in Seattle for a few days in July and I just happened to be offered a good price on Expedia so I checked out the great reviews and booked.

We started our trip with a horrible travel experience with cancelled and delayed flights. We were really worried that we wouldn't make it to Seattle. We were especially worried that we would lose our first night's payment for our pre-paid room. I called the hotel from the airport in Philly and rather frantically explained our issue. Amy at the front desk couldn't have been nicer. She told me not to worry, that she would make a note so we could arrive super late and still have our room. She said to call back if the second possible flight was cancelled and she would work something out for our pre-payment issue. I was so grateful to have that off my mind as we worked to get on a new flight. By the time we finally got to Seattle it was 2am and we had been trying to get there for 14 hours. As promised, Amy had arranged everything and informed the overnight person (whose name I unfortunately didn't get) we would likely arrive very late. He was very friendly and helpful to two very weary travelers. Everyone with whom we interacted was so nice and helpful.

Our room was lovely, clean, well-appointed and a nice size. Tasteful decoration, nothing overdone. The bathroom: awesome! Neat high ceilings, such nice toiletries and, OMG, a heat light! It felt very luxurious. I feel horrible saying it, as I am being super selfish, but the only thing that could have been improved in the bathroom would have been a higher flow shower head. ;)

We couldn't swing a water view room, but honestly, you don't need it! Our city view room was beautiful and the rooftop deck gave us all the views we could possibly ask for. Sunset on the rooftop deck is incredible, so don't miss it.

The courtyard is so nice... just a peaceful little area tucked in the middle of the hotel, with outdoor seating for one of the restaurants and doors to a few shops. Once inside the courtyard you'd have no idea you are just steps from the Pike Place Market (Can I say: location, location, location!!! Fabulous and convenient to so many things we wanted to do.).

The bed was SO comfortable. I have a notoriously hard time sleeping on hotel beds, but both my husband and I slept wonderfully here. Soft, luxurious blankets too! And we loved the window seat, even without the water view. Nicely insulated windows kept out any unwanted city noise.

If you have an opportunity to stay here DO IT! You'll love it.

Room Tip: Don't worry about getting a water view room. If the weather is nice (as it typically is in Seatt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Market

Address: 86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pike Place Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#3 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#10 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Market 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Market is the only downtown Seattle hotel located directly in the famous Pike Place Market. Inn at the Market's ivy-covered courtyard is a tranquil hideaway, just steps away from the vibrant atmosphere of Pike Place Market and the Seattle waterfront. Inn at the Market offers Pacific Northwest style and comfort surrounded by downtown Seattle's most acclaimed restaurants and iconic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at the Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Market Hotel Seattle
Hotel At The Market
At The Market Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.