We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Market

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Market to your Saves list
Inn at the Market
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101 (Pike Place Market)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

this was our second stay in Seattle and at this hotel. We love it. The location is the best with the Public Market right across the street and the main shopping district just a block away. there are also so many restaurants and cafes very close and the wharf is walking distance as well. staff are all so friendly and the cleaniness and the best beds we had slept on during our travels.
Highly recommend and we would always stay at this hotel anytime we are in Seattle.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the market place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,389
    258
    55
    20
    5
See reviews for
243
1,014
69
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I came to Seatte for a long weekend. I read many reviews on all the hotels in the area. I am so glad we chose the Inn at the Market. Our stay could not have been any better! The rooms are clean and comfortable. Beds are very comfortable and bathrooms are more spacious then expected. Housekeeping service was excellent.

Our waterfront/market view was absolutely amazing! This was our first visit to Seattle as 'tourists'. We've been previously on business trips but were never able to enjoy downtown or the sites.

The location of the Inn could not be better. It is within walking distance of everything! It's right across the street from Pike's Place Market and so many great shops/restaurants.

The staff at the Inn really made our trip special. They are all so nice, knowledgeable and helpful.
Thanks again Taylor for arranging everything from our champagne & cheese tray, car service and restaurant reservations!

We will be back in Seattle next year and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Waterfront suite is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for selecting the Inn at The Market as your hotel of choice when visiting Seattle. I have passed on your kind words to Taylor and the rest of the team, I believe they also read all the reviews as well. When you do plan on returning please feel free to contact me and I will be happy to assist with arrangements. For the readers of tripadvisor please let us know if you are celebrating a special occasions at the time of your reservation.
Best
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danieldd04
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I was having an amazing night at this hotel with my girlfriend and it was ruined by a hotel staff member. The room was fantastic, the view was great. The location was convenient. Everything was looking towards a gleaming review. HOWEVER, after going out for a while and returning to our room we decided to check out the roof deck where, well, ill just say I had planned on proposing but there was another guy out there who was a little drunk which was fine. He was very nice. He said he used to work at the hotel. He was being loud NOT ME. I was just silently looking at the view provided. Then a hotel staff member, must have been angry at the other guy for being too loud and came out and told me to GO BACK TO MY ROOM OR ELSE HE WOULD CALL SECURITY! Really?! Never in my life have I had a hotel staff member give me a curfew, tell me what to do. I've never been so disgusted or embarrassed in my entire life. Life changing moment was ruined! Also I didn't know the guy but to
Avoid having security called on me I had to drag him up to MY ROOM where he lingered for a while when me and my girlfriend were just trying to go to bed. I can't go on enough about how terribly this turned one of the best nights of my life into an embarrassment.

Beds were comfortable. View was pretty good. I had my room upgraded but it all means nothing if im going to get told what to do like a twelve year old. But if you'd like to stay somewhere at about the same price with better staff and a better view STAY AT THE EDGEWATER! I had heard good things and tried changing up where I stayed and made a mistake. I blindly chose a hotel to be a spot where I'd make a life changing move and it was ruined. If you don't mind hotel staff with the wrong approach: stay here. But ill tell you I've stayed at the Sheraton in Seattle. The Edgewater numerous times and this hotel was the least hospitable of any hotel anywhere. I'm genuinely embarrassed to be blamed and held responsible for someone else's actions and having my night ruined because of it. Not only by someone who worked at the hotel but also someone who used to work at the hotel so obviously this hotel or "inn" hires questionable people. I do recommend marche, the bar, people there were very nice but that will be another review.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Readers of Tripadvisor:
The claims of of this guest are not as he has stated, our staff is known for being friendly and helpful. If there are any readers that are concerned about this review, please contact me at dwatkins@innatthemarket.com
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was our first stay at the Inn at the Market and it won't be our last. Everything about it is right including service, decor, staffing, location, staff's knowledge of area, events and attractions and free internet access. It is, as noted in previous reviews, located just outside of Pike Market and well within walking distance to shopping, museums, galleries, the tram that takes you to the Space Needle, some great restaurants and the various ferries to the islands. We walked everywhere we went with no difficulty.

Room Tip: We loved our harbour side room on the 3rd floor which provided us with a great view of the market, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great quaint hotel. It is convenient to most downtown areas, everything is within a mile walking distance (Paramount Theatre, Space Needle, the original Starbucks Store, several restaraunts and shops, and of course the Market). The staff is very friendly. The beds are amazing, actually looking to purchase the line of mattresses they use at the hotel. Definitely will stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Had a short, business trip to Seattle last week. Normally stay at the Four Seasons but I opted for the Inn at the Market because I had some spare time before my meetings and thought the location would be ideal for exploring. I was right. Directly across the street from Pike's Place Market along the Puget Sound, the Inn was charming, quiet enough and definitely not the "cookie cutter" hotel. Some of the Inn had been recently renovated and I understand there is more to come, but it was elegant enough without being ostentacious. I stayed in a water view suite that was quite nicely appointed, the bed and linens were GREAT!! Only there for two days but would absolutely go back without hesitation, (and I am a hotel snob).

Room Tip: Water view suite was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for making the Inn at The Market your hotel of choice for this past visit. We have recently upgraded our highspeed wireless with a large pipe and stronger signaling devices that make for fast and speedy uploads and downloads. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The swift friendly service makes this quintessential Seattle hotel one of our favourites. If you're coming in for the weekend and taking in shopping, theatre, or just a runaway food tour in this urban Mecca of culinary delights, than the Inn at the Market is your perfect refuge.

Valet, front desk and housekeeping all exceptional and quick to assist. Recommendations from the Concierge included Marche (located across the Courtyard), pop in for a fabulous happy hour with wines at $5/$6 by the glass and amazing dry roasted mussels. Have the farmers board. The cheese is sublime. Next stop Matt's in the Market. The Concierge team knows their food and this restaurant was amazing.

When sleeping off the food coma, fall into a cloud Ike bed with the best pillows we've encountered.

This Inn is classic in its appointments, with slight modern touches. This is not a trendy boutique but a time tested and true elegant hotel with gracious service that will not disappoint.

Room Tip: There is no pool.... But we can untag the pool selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Market

Address: 86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pike Place Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#3 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#10 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Market 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Market is the only downtown Seattle hotel located directly in the famous Pike Place Market. Inn at the Market's ivy-covered courtyard is a tranquil hideaway, just steps away from the vibrant atmosphere of Pike Place Market and the Seattle waterfront. Inn at the Market offers Pacific Northwest style and comfort surrounded by downtown Seattle's most acclaimed restaurants and iconic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Inn at the Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Market Hotel Seattle
Hotel At The Market
At The Market Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.