We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location. Perfect ambience. Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Market

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Market to your Saves list
Inn at the Market
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101 (Pike Place Market)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location. Perfect ambience. Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay here and will return. One block up from Pike's Market and all it has to offer and short walk to great food and shopping. The front desk staff were eager to be of assistance and made recommendations and reservations that were helpful and welcomed. Can't imagine anywhere more ideally situated.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for staying with us during this Holiday Season, lots to do and see here in Seattle. If I can be of assistance when you might plan on returning, please contact me and I will be happy to help, dwatkins@innatthmarket.com
Happy Holidays
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,387
    258
    55
    20
    5
See reviews for
243
1,012
69
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This Hotel offers everything, location, friendly staff, comfortable room and access to the most wonderful restaurants and cafes. Our view across the bay was stunning. My travelling companion celebrated her 60th Birthday while were in the US and this hotel was the perfect way to commence our celebration. Loved being close to the Pike Marketplace. Shopping was great. A trip to Bainbridge Island is a must. All in all highly recommend this hotel to visitors for a Seattle experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for selecting the Inn at The Market to celebrate your anniversary. The trip out to Bainbridge is great, lovely little shops and the ferry boat ride is fun. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great location--directly across from the Market, down the street from the original Starbucks, around the corner from Fran's Chocolate and in the midst of wonderful restaurants. What more could you want???? Our room was located on the fifth floor (511) which is adjacent to the rooftop--which would be perfect in the spring and summer as you could see the ferry, the mountains and water, etc--it was a partial view but quite large with a small table and two chairs in front of one window, desk in front of another window, king bed, mini refrig, two luggage racks and the bathroom was average size but with nice products, make up mirror and nice towels. We sat in the lobby and had coffee a couple of mornings. The staff was quite personable and willing to make reservation suggestions. The entrance was quite magical as it was lite with tiny white lights--I don't know if this is only for the holidays. A great value for your money. We did not need a car as we could walk everywhere. A great gem!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Fifth floor was great overlooking the market and the downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest:
The Market is quite magical this time of year, I am so pleased you got to enjoy your time here at The Inn at The Market. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHEAST US
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I have been wanting to visit Seattle for a couple of years and based on the Trip Advisor reviews I just knew this way THE place to stay when we were able to find a travel package that suited our needs. When we booked our trip, I splurged and spent a little extra money on a partial water view room. I even e-mailed the manager and asked if it would be possible to upgrade us. He responded promptly and advised me that he would put us in the very best partial water view room. We arrived at the Inn a little after seven. Here's where the mixed feelings begin: check in was a breeze. Friendly staff, good directions to local restaurants, they seemed happy to provide us with restaurant recommendations. So far, so good. We decided to drop our luggage off in our room & then find something for supper. Could not wait to see our fabulous room - except, it wasn't fabulous. The carpet was worn and dirty; the bathroom walls were covered in makeup, black marks & who knows what else; the chairs in the sitting area were disgusting - completely threadbare on the arms & covered in black dirt and grime on the arm rest; light switch plates were also grimy and smudged. We started opening the curtains to see our partial water view and we honestly could not find it. To be fair, it was dark outside but it definitely took some craning of the neck to see this view. Partial indeed. They had taken the time to write us a welcome note and put a bottle of champagne in the fridge. Nice gesture, handwritten notes go a long way with me - I'm southern. We were absolutely exhausted after traveling over 2000 miles so we went to eat & came back to take a shower before going to bed. The shower experience was awful. The shower curtain blows in & constantly wraps around your body so you are fighting it the entire time you are trying to get clean. I am tall and thin and it drove me crazy so I can only imagine what a pain it was for my husband, who is a big guy. Just wanted some rest that night (again, over 2000 miles from home) so we did not complain about the room at that point. The next morning, I called the front deck & asked to speak to the manager on duty, who turned out to be a nice young lady named Noelle. I asked Noelle to come see our room so I could point out the things I was talking about. She agreed & was extremely helpful. Noelle immediately offered to switch us to another room. We had the option of waiting on the exact same room type one floor below us or she offered to show us a smaller room two floors below. We liked the smaller room better - nicer view, in our opinion - and we didn't mind giving up a little space because it was just the two of us. We got our luggage gathered up in the first room & the front desk was kind enough to have the bellman move it to our new room. New room was much less worn looking - we were delighted. Hadn't bothered to run water in the sink or anything before we moved as we weren't expecting a problem. However, the first time we tried to use the sink the water would not drain. I'm not talking a slow drain either. I'm talking you are trying to wash your hands and the water from the bottom of the sink is rising to meet your hands. Gross. Had to call about this, of course. Maintenance responded quickly and sink seemed better. The next day, I got ready to dry my hair. Wall mounted dryer overheated & smelled awful, then promptly quit. I tried to reset it, no luck. Left it alone for a few minutes then tried again. Second time was the charm. Fighting the shower curtain & waiting on the hairdryer to restart became a daily routine. Then the sink backed up AGAIN. Seriously? This is the #1 place to stay in Seattle? We often left for breakfast and then came back to grab our backpack for the day's outings. The room would always be clean when we returned but we would have to call and ask for hand towels. Or toilet paper. This happened more than once. Why should I have to ask for the basics to be replinished? We are not negative people who go around complaining about every little thing (seriously, read my other reviews) but numerous little things start to really add up. It was embarrassing to keep calling the front desk but it should have been more embarrassing for them than it was for me. We keep a neat hotel room as well - no clothes on the bed, we put up all our toiletries before we depart every day so it isn't like it would not be readily obvious that we were out of toilet paper or towels! Long story short(er), Noelle helped me resolve the room issues to my satisfaction. It is not her fault that the rooms are in major need of renovation. I got the feeling that this is something that has been expressed by more guests than just my husband & I. THE POSITIVES: Amazing beds - they got it right on this one! The staff here is wonderful. Everyone we encountered was helpful, kind and friendly. Valet brought the car around promptly, every time. We received accurate and detailed directions to everything we inquired about visiting. Rooftop deck is awesome -we went out there every day, whether it was raining or not. Amazing views and photo opportunies. The teak chairs they show on the website aren't teak chairs but hey, maybe that's an older photo. Or maybe the teak is on the smaller deck that only a couple of rooms can access. Either way, the lack of teak didn't interrupt my view. The location literally cannot be beaten. Steps to Pike Place Market. We only got the car out when we wanted to visit Rainier and Snoqualmie Falls. We walked to everything else - The Space Needle, The Great Wheel, the ferry to Bainbridge, the observation room at Columbia Center and everywhere in between. Yes, it is hilly but we are big believers in exploring a new city on foot whenever possible so it didn't bother us. Overall, I felt a little let down by the Trip Advisor community on this one. I wish I could give it 3.5 stars because that is more accurate. The location is above average, the staff are above average. The rooms are the only thing holding me back. Would I stay here again? Sadly, probably not. There are other properties in the Seattle area that might get it right the first time around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Maybe 20 years ago this was the place to stay, not now. The room needs a major facelift. The carpet was stained so bad we wore socks to bed at night. Bathroom wallpaper is filthy, dirt stains and marks. The furniture was nicked and well-used. When we booked this on-line the picture shows a wonderful front line water view, not!!! Between you and the water is a freeway, exhaust systems and rooftops and trains that toot all during the night. We will be looking for another place in Seattle to stay next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest:
I am very sorry to read that your experience here at the Inn at The Market was well below standard and that you left Seattle with a very poor experience from our hotel. I would ask if you could please contact me directly as I am unable to locate your reservation record as I would like to make the situation right. You can reach me at dwatkins@innatthemarket.com or via telephone at 206 269 2215. I will be certain that our entire team sees your comments.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very comfortable, clean, understated elegant. Twenty feet from Pike Street market, very polite friendly and helpful staff. No problems at all Large airy room and bath, comfy bed and sitting area. Only request is electric plugs by he for cell phones

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking a moment to write into Tripadvisor and share your experience. The holiday season is a great time to be here in downtown Seattle, it is very festive. If I can ever be of assistance with things to do when visiting feel free to get in touch at dwatkins@innatthemarket.com.
Happy Holidays
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The best place to stay in Seattle. The location can't be beat you have the vibrant Pikes Place Market literally at your doorstep but an oasis of tranquility and understated luxury in the Hotel. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. The partial water view rooms are ideal giving you a view of the Puget Sound ferries coming and going and all the bustle of Pikes Market waking up in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Market

Address: 86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pike Place Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#3 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#10 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Market 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Market is the only downtown Seattle hotel located directly in the famous Pike Place Market. Inn at the Market's ivy-covered courtyard is a tranquil hideaway, just steps away from the vibrant atmosphere of Pike Place Market and the Seattle waterfront. Inn at the Market offers Pacific Northwest style and comfort surrounded by downtown Seattle's most acclaimed restaurants and iconic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Inn at the Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Market Hotel Seattle
Hotel At The Market
At The Market Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.