We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay in Seattle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Market

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Market to your Saves list
Inn at the Market
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101 (Pike Place Market)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Place to Stay in Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Spent three nights here in October, 2012 with a group of 20. This is an excellent property with a prime location a one minute walk from the Pike Place Market and about a 10 minute walk to the downtown shopping district and multiple restaurants. About a 15 minute walk to the light link rail from the airport and about a 10 minute walk to the monorail station to ride to the Space Needle. About a 30 minute walk to the stadiums. 20 minute walk to the waterfront and ferris wheel. The staff is friendly, professional and helpful and obviously take pride in the property and customer service. Excellent meeting facility for 8 to 10 people. Well appointed, comfortable and spotless rooms. If you can swing a room looking at the water the views are wonderful. Might be a little pricey, but the quality is here and the location cannot be beat.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest:
I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your visit here to Pike Place Market with your group. Thank you for taking the time to write into Tripadvisor to share a little of your trip. If you do plan on visiting Seattle in the near future, I would be happy to assist with arrangements here.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,404
    259
    56
    20
    5
See reviews for
247
1,019
70
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at Inn at the Market. We have been very satisfied every time we stayed there. This time, even though we paid for a street side room, we got a partial water view . Very nice!
The location is perfect;literally steps from Pike Street Market. The rooms are not huge, but nicely appointed.
We put our vehicle into the valet parking, and as we were leaving, noticed my boyfriend's mp3 player was missing. The bell captain helped us search for it, and even checked our room. He was extremely helpful and professional, even as I'm sure he thought it must have been our mistake. As it turns out it was-my boyfriend found the mp3 player in his jacket pocket about an hour after we left.
The only quibble I have is with the shower curtain. For some reason, the magnets at the bottom won't stick to the tub, so the wet curtain wraps itself around you as you shower. Yuck!! Mentioned this to the front desk upon checkout, and was told other guest had mentioned the same thing and they were looking into correcting it.
Would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience with readers of Tripadvisor, I am glad your MP3 player turned up. As part of our redesign we will be addressing the shower curtain issue as you mention. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Inn backs right up to Pike Place Market, which has grown dramatically since I was last there. You can do a lot of great dining, shopping and entertainment without leaving it, if only Seattle didn't have so much else to offer. The hotel has a bit of an old-Seattle feel, but that's to be expected, given its location, and I prefer its "remodeled" feel to anything flashy that they could build by destroying something old. Our room was pleasant, with great linens and a bath that was much bigger than the usual (a nice older-hotel touch). Our room didn't have a view, but the desk clerk told us about the fifth-floor terrace, which was enormous and well-furnished and overlooked the Puget Sound. In late October, we had it all to ourselves. The service here was responsive, but never intrusive. We would have preferred a self-park garage to the mandatory valet service (the garage is off the premises), but you don't often need a car to get around this compact city.

Room Tip: Ask for a view. They go fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Twenty year anniversary, twenty years ago. Excellent memories with friends and family!
We shared a suite with Family from Japan and a HUGE deck overlooking Puget Sound
and Pike Place Market..what a weekend to remember...
Will highly recommend to anyone visiting Seattle!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Inn at the market has a lot going for it, first and foremost its great location just opposite the market. It has the feeling of a boutique hotel. The rooms are adequately sized. Some are furnished nicely, others with somewhat more tired furniture of the 80'ies. Service is good, quick and efficient.

The biggest problem of the place is that the structure is old. The heating / aircon is the noisiest I've ever seen in a hotel anywhere. You can't sleep if it's switched on. The water pressure in the shower isn't the greatest either.

Will I stay there again? Probably yes, but not during a season when you need heating or aircon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for visiting Seattle and staying with us here in the Market. I will be certain to pass on your comments to our design team as we are in the final stages of design that will address the concerns you have mentioned. When you plan on returning please contact me directly and I will be happy to assist with your arrangements here. Enjoy the holiday seasons ahead.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our first stop on our trip down the coast and it was such a great start to our trip. We were upgraded to the corner room on the fourth floor looking out onto the market and water. The room was spacious and the bed was really comfortable. We walked out our front door and were in the middle of everything. Walk to the market, restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Valet only parking but it's a good thing because driving and parking in the city is crazy. Rooms are clean and really quiet. Overall a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. It is awesome looking down onto the market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest:
It sounds like you have an exciting trip ahead, thank you for starting off here at Pike Place Market. If you arriving other than by your car, our location is a great place to venture out from, very centrally located with many great things at our door step. Plan on visiting the King Tut Exhibit at the Seattle Center, we have VIP tickets available for purchase here at the hotel.
Happy Holidays
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Thank you Inn at the Market for making our stay most enjoyable. From the cleanliness to the service, this was truly first rate and we will plan to stay with you again!

A sincere thanks to Jordan in the valet for being so accommodating with our vehicle not only with the parking and the valet services but in making sure that we had our extra items packed up early. We were able to leave the car there while shopping in the Market and then come and collect it much later after we had checked out - this was invaluable knowing that it was safe and secure with all the extra luggage we acquired while in Seattle. (Traveling back to Alaska, extra items have to come on board for those things that cannot be obtained up here!)

Very convenient location and the extra details were very nice - fresh cookies and fruit in the lobby. Coffee service in the am and tea in the afternoon. Those small details are just delightful!

Thank you again! See you very soon-

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to mention Jordan, I will be certain to reconigize him when I see him. Pleased to read your enjoyed your visit here in the market. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Market

Address: 86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pike Place Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#3 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#10 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Market 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Market is the only downtown Seattle hotel located directly in the famous Pike Place Market. Inn at the Market's ivy-covered courtyard is a tranquil hideaway, just steps away from the vibrant atmosphere of Pike Place Market and the Seattle waterfront. Inn at the Market offers Pacific Northwest style and comfort surrounded by downtown Seattle's most acclaimed restaurants and iconic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at the Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Market Hotel Seattle
Hotel At The Market
At The Market Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.