We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Market

Save Saved
You added Inn at the Market to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at the Market
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101 (Pike Place Market)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 95 hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Springfield, Oregon
1 review
“Excellent Memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Twenty year anniversary, twenty years ago. Excellent memories with friends and family!
We shared a suite with Family from Japan and a HUGE deck overlooking Puget Sound
and Pike Place Market..what a weekend to remember...
Will highly recommend to anyone visiting Seattle!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,299
    245
    53
    19
    5
See reviews for
234
941
66
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Inn at the market has a lot going for it, first and foremost its great location just opposite the market. It has the feeling of a boutique hotel. The rooms are adequately sized. Some are furnished nicely, others with somewhat more tired furniture of the 80'ies. Service is good, quick and efficient.

The biggest problem of the place is that the structure is old. The heating / aircon is the noisiest I've ever seen in a hotel anywhere. You can't sleep if it's switched on. The water pressure in the shower isn't the greatest either.

Will I stay there again? Probably yes, but not during a season when you need heating or aircon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for visiting Seattle and staying with us here in the Market. I will be certain to pass on your comments to our design team as we are in the final stages of design that will address the concerns you have mentioned. When you plan on returning please contact me directly and I will be happy to assist with your arrangements here. Enjoy the holiday seasons ahead.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our first stop on our trip down the coast and it was such a great start to our trip. We were upgraded to the corner room on the fourth floor looking out onto the market and water. The room was spacious and the bed was really comfortable. We walked out our front door and were in the middle of everything. Walk to the market, restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Valet only parking but it's a good thing because driving and parking in the city is crazy. Rooms are clean and really quiet. Overall a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. It is awesome looking down onto the market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest:
It sounds like you have an exciting trip ahead, thank you for starting off here at Pike Place Market. If you arriving other than by your car, our location is a great place to venture out from, very centrally located with many great things at our door step. Plan on visiting the King Tut Exhibit at the Seattle Center, we have VIP tickets available for purchase here at the hotel.
Happy Holidays
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Thank you Inn at the Market for making our stay most enjoyable. From the cleanliness to the service, this was truly first rate and we will plan to stay with you again!

A sincere thanks to Jordan in the valet for being so accommodating with our vehicle not only with the parking and the valet services but in making sure that we had our extra items packed up early. We were able to leave the car there while shopping in the Market and then come and collect it much later after we had checked out - this was invaluable knowing that it was safe and secure with all the extra luggage we acquired while in Seattle. (Traveling back to Alaska, extra items have to come on board for those things that cannot be obtained up here!)

Very convenient location and the extra details were very nice - fresh cookies and fruit in the lobby. Coffee service in the am and tea in the afternoon. Those small details are just delightful!

Thank you again! See you very soon-

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to mention Jordan, I will be certain to reconigize him when I see him. Pleased to read your enjoyed your visit here in the market. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Coulee, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our old favorite place to stay in Seattle, while coming to town for Seahawks games, had previously been the Inn at Harbor Steps, just a couple of blocks from the Inn at the Market. This year, however, they were closed for renovations or something, but recommended we call Inn at the Market. Well, we now have a New favorite place to stay.

Everything about this place - the location, the amenities, the staff, the views - is awesome. We were fortunate to have a nice evening our first night there and enjoyed the rooftop terrace for the sunset. After that, the weather turned typical Seattle-rainy, but there are so many shops/restaurants (and, of course, Pike's Market), so close that you barely notice the rain. They said we had a city view, but because of the window position, we also could see the water (although not a full water view).

We walked to the Sunday Seahawks game and it was only a couple blocks further than our previous hotel, so it was no problem. And, to have the wonderful, inviting room at the Inn to come back to after a chilly afternoon was wonderful. The staff was always helpful and very friendly. To me, this hotel at the price we paid seemed to be a fantastic bargain. This will be our only place to stay from now on.

Room Tip: If you can get a water view, that's great and maybe quieter, but all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for supporting our Seattle Seahawks and for now selecting the Inn at The Market as your hotel of choice. If I can ever assist with reservations please contact me at dwatkins@innatthemarket.com.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here for only one night while traveling by myself. Upon check in, I was told I was upgraded to a suite, which got me excited. However, when I went to the suite, it was sort of creepy and inappropriate for a solo traveler! It was essentially a one-bedroom duplex apartment, with the first floor as a living area and kitchen and the second floor the bedroom and bathroom. Not only was I left to lug my huge suitcase up the stairs, not realizing I was getting a 2 story room, it was just eerie being in that huge, poorly lit room alone. The front desk should've realized this before putting me in that room... It would've been better-suited for a group of even 3-4 travelers!

The room itself showed lots of wear (marks, chips, and dents in the walls, counters, and furniture; dirty, worn beige carpet) and was very blandly decorated (everything was brown or beige). There was nothing on the walls or tables. The room phone looked like it was from 1986. The bathroom mat was ratty on the edges and worn flat.

The great thing about my room was the view of the market and water. It almost made up for all the rest of the things I mentioned above. It's obvious this hotel's location is its draw, and, if that's your main concern, I would recommend you absolutely stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest:
I do apologize for several shortfalls during our visit and for our bell team not assiting you to your room. I will also pass on your comments to our design team. If you can let me know your name via contacting me at dwatkins@innatthemarket.com I will update your reservation profile so we will be certain to take much better care of you next time you visit.

Happy Holidays
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our first visit to the Inn was for our honeymoon last year and we came back to celebrate our first anniversary this year. The hotel's location is perfect - Pike Place Market, the Waterfront and the many shops and restaurants. The staff is friendly, helpful and courteous. It will be our only hotel for future weekend Seattle getaways!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you also for selecting the Inn at The Market as your hotel of choice when visiting Seattle. Readers of Tripadvisor is you are celebrating anything special please make comments when making your reservations. Happy Holidays and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Market

Address: 86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pike Place Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#3 Family Hotel in Seattle
#4 Business Hotel in Seattle
#9 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Market 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Market is the only downtown Seattle hotel located directly in the famous Pike Place Market. Inn at the Market's ivy-covered courtyard is a tranquil hideaway, just steps away from the vibrant atmosphere of Pike Place Market and the Seattle waterfront. Inn at the Market offers Pacific Northwest style and comfort surrounded by downtown Seattle's most acclaimed restaurants and iconic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Inn at the Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Market Hotel Seattle
Hotel At The Market
At The Market Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.