We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay Here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seattle

Save Saved
You added Hotel Seattle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seattle
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Seneca St., Seattle, WA 98101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This hotel is so bad it's a joke. I could barely sleep because the place is so ghetto, you sit in your room worried about your safety and your valuables. The elevator crawls up squeeking the whole way with no certificate of inspection or weight limit posted. The room looks like somethig out of the 70s. Holes in the sheets, no toilet paper roll, just sitting on the sink, an old water furnace with peeling paint (is it lead based?). The TV has about 5 working chanels and has a hole in the plastic. The wiring is obviously shoddy and I found a working outlet on my third try. The heat runs so hot and does not adjust. You have to open a window. The window has no screen and I was on the 8th floor (Do Not stay here with a child). The wallpaper was badly peeling, exposing mold and mildew on the walls. I can only imagine how poor the air quality was. No WiFi in the room. The neighbors next to me were having relations loudly and the walls are paper thin. After hearing the walls bang for a few minutes, I had to get some fresh air. The surrounding area is full of homeless and shady characters. There is a terrible bar in the basement that attracts scumbags and white trash who hang out in front of the entrance. The thing is, this room cost me $95!!! I've got great hotels in other major cities, Chicago, NY, Orlando for this range that are great. This is a Roach Motel that is best suited for drug use and prostitution. It should offer hourly rates. I took off my watch and ring just to make sure no one was casing me out. The worst part is that the website is completely misleading. Any positive reviews seem like ownership tring to do damage control on the reviews.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here. Not worth the savings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    24
    19
    72
See reviews for
12
38
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

OK, it is affordable but the rooms are cramped and uncomfortable, I was put in a room with two twin beds rather than the queen-sized that I ordered. Not a good thing to do to a 6'2" man. The girl at the desk had trouble answering the most basic of questions about the area and for some odd reason the overnight clerk saw fit to leave the front door open all night. Not a smart thing to do in Seattle in late September. I can't tink of one reason why I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from 16th July to 18th July. We selected this hotel purely for the excellent location and for the cost. But frankly we were in for a shock when we arrived at the hotel directly after disembarking from a cruise. There was only one person at the front desk and he bluntly told us that check-in was only after 3pm. Since it was a long wait (we reached the hotel at 11am) we requested that we be allowed to leave our luggage. Luckily he agreed., So we left and returned only later in the evening. There was only one lift and that was so ancient just like everythinhg at the hotel. The room was smelling awful and looked very dull and unwelcoming. There was free wifi only in the lobby. The bathroom was only just adequate as the toilet seat was wobbly and almost broken. There was no kettle or microwave anywhere in the hotel. We just managed to survive for two nights only because it was conveniently located to the Pyke Marketplace ,space needle and the sea front. Luckily there were good restaurants and Starbucks close by . I will think twice before staying again at this hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Very basic hotel and good rate compared to most of the hotels in the area. Stayed here for 3 nights. Excellent staff that was very friendly and helpful. Very central to everything in downtown Seattle. Could definitely use a revamp (lobby, bedrooms, bathrooms, etc). Nonetheless I'd stay here again because the price was very affordable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead CIty, AZ
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed for one night, before a cruise to Alaska leaving from Seattle. We had previously stayed at the Warwick, and this hotel did not have near the same comfort level, but was still very comfortable and within walking distance of Pikes Placed market and other downtown attractions. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llithonia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stay here if you want to experenice hell. Joel is the manger,an know help want so ever. Put me on the 10th floor even though he knew I don't like elevators. Then told the staff not to move me.

Room Tip: DON't stay at HotelL Seattle
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

This hotel reminded me of a recovering addict/ pay by the hour....Should have read between the lines when people say that it has character. Every floor had a different color carpet. Many of which was heavily stained (meaning black). Rolls in the hallway carpets where it hasn't been re-streched. The carpet looked like it has been there since the 1930's. The rooms still used keys and not specific to one door (learned that the hard way). Rooms and bathrooms weren't updated. No AC, they had bedroom windows open for air circulation with no screens to block unwanted visitors.

Room Tip: Don't go beware..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seattle

Address: 315 Seneca St., Seattle, WA 98101
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Seattle 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.