We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cars Stay Free
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Great location and fun atmosphere in such a great city. We really enjoyed it and loved having a "pet" fish in our room with us. Would definitely stay there again. The staff was friendly and had a great attitude.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    384
    83
    29
    15
See reviews for
283
576
105
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blythewood, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Great location, short walk to the waterfront and Pike Place Market. Area was quiet, bed comfortable. Room and public areas nicely decorated. I would recommend the hotel to anyone going to the area. The only negative thing was the front desk rug needed to be cleaned, it stood out because everything else was perfect.

Room Tip: Higher floor quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had such a brief stay at the Monaco, but it was very enjoyable. On a road trip with another couple, we booked just one night, but it was the best. The hotel made sure we had the nonallergenic pillows and rooms away from a noisy ice machine. The wine hour was already in full swing, so the limited seating only afforded us standing room to enjoy the Chardonnay, but not a big deal. We met many nice fellow travelers, and better yet--their dogs.

I've stayed at Kimpton hotel three times, and will make every effort to stay at them again. The staff attitude is overwhelmingly positive. They really do make you feel like they care that you are having a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My teen-aged son and I booked a last minute room and were pleasantly surprised to get the Hotel Monaco. We were originally assigned, as expected, to a small queen room - which was small, but very nice. But the front desk (Garrett) later offered us a larger room with a sofa bed, which had just become available in order to give us a little more space. It was easily twice as large as the original, and also lovely. We very much appreciated the gesture. I also appreciated the front desk, when I wandered down in the middle of the night searching for a pain reliever and the front desk supplied one, with no charge. It was a life-saver.

I thought the hotel's interior was very nice - the lobby is quite appealing - and the rooms were lovely (even the smaller one). The beds were quite comfortable and I loved having a softer pillow for once! There was cute stuffed otter on the bed. The shower and bath was supplied with wonderful smelling products and there was a note explaining what the front desk could supply if you'd forgotten something. Both the shower and bath were nice! There was a bit of noise in the night, but nothing that really disrupted sleep.

The hotel had complimentary coffee and tea in the morning and even had some bicycles to loan out (although with the hills in the area, it would be a tough ride up some of them! ;) Still, a nice perk.)

The Hotel was in a good location- fairly close to the train station/light rail - and very near attractions, but just enough away from it all to be a restful spot.

I think we were very lucky to be assigned to Hotel Monaco this time -- but the next time we visit Seattle, I will be specifically looking to stay there. I really enjoyed our visit and so appreciated the help of the front desk. Definitely recommended.

Green Features: They give some kind of voucher or credit if you forgo having your sheets/towels changed on a daily basis. It only applies if you stay more than one night, so we didn't take part.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Hotel Monaco has a prefect location in Seattle. Concierge and front desk team has been amazingly helpful when it comes to advice and guide tourists in the city.
The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very well maintained. Most importantly, they understand how to make kids happy! from welcome presents to in room amenities and gold fishy... Kids were relaxed and happy, so are parents too!
This is our second visit, and consistency seem to be a forte too. Way to go. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The Hotel doesn't look impressive from the outside, but the interior is bright, quirky and modern. The same styling as the Monaco in Portland, probably inspired by the Starck interiors in the London hotels. Only complaint there was that the pillows were quite hard and there was a bit of noise from the air con and the water pipes at night. Service was great and the bar has good food and an excellent happy hour. There is a gym but its small and its in the basement. Borrow on the bright red bikes instead and enjoy pushing up the hills of Seattle.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thanks Damian, yes the outside of the building is a tad monolithic, sort of East German functional, but hey walk through those doors and its a whole nother world! The theme behind Monaco hotels is that they are to challenge your senses, and this one hits the mark just like the Monaco in Portland, these interiors come from a designer in Seattle, Starck likely copying us!. You are my hero for taking one of our bikes up a hill, my car doesnt want to do that climb, can't imagine how a bike would feel about it, great job!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanogan, WA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed over Memorial Day weekend. All of the hotel staff we dealt with were very prompt and courteous. Few places we’ve stayed had better staff than this hotel. The room was fairly large and clean. Our son really liked the fact that there was a goldfish in the room. The room was quiet and the beds were fair as to comfort. Our room looked out on another building so we didn’t have a view.
There is no hotel shuttle, so you either have to get your car from valet or cab it, if you are beyond walking distance. Valet service can get busy, so plan in advance.
Overall, the hotel was a good value and I would have no problem staying there again or recommending it.

Consider joining the hotels loyalty program. It gets you booked on the upper floors and some break on the rates.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thanks for the great notes on the hotel. The hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to most things Seattle. There is also the great service from the airport on the LiteRail which stops about a block away. The staff here have a great time day in and out and seem to share that with the guests, appreciate you noticing! Being a downtown hotel there arent alot of views, but the rooms are wonderfully decorated to make up for the fact that you dont see the crashing waves of puget sound or the sunset over the mountains. Come back soon, meet you in Sazerac for a cocktail and some of the best Northwest inspired Southern Cuisine in the World!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#5 Business Hotel in Seattle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#6 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be among the first to experience the fully renovated Hotel Monaco Seattle. A 4-diamond luxury property, Hotel Monaco embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. The Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. The wildly popular Sazerac restaurant is also conveniently adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.