We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Satisfying” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cars Stay Free
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Satisfying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable, very pretty, with friendly employees. The restaurant had delicious food. Our room was very nice, with plush carpeting and very nice décor. The location is great, close to all the spots downtown that you'd want to visit. We didn't rent a car, but took the link from SeaTac airport and it took us to a station close to the hotel and then walked everywhere...it was great. We stayed the first weekend of September in a room with two queen beds for 200 a night, the same as lower quality hotels in the downtown area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Based on your comments we will immediately raise our rates! Thanks for the notes. You do bring up a great point that this hotel like all hotels have different rates everyday. like the airlines, we sell rooms based on demand. So happy that you scored a great rate! Always check our website first at Kimptonhotels dot com. We have 3 Kimptons in Seattle (soon four) and you can see the best rates and the best rooms for all three with a few clicks.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,167
    423
    95
    30
    18
See reviews for
323
636
108
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great boutique hotel in the heart of Seattle. Loved our lovely room and comfortable bed. Bar and restaurant are not only welcoming but trendy and delicious! Would highly recommend this hotel for your next trip to Seattle. Only about 4 blocks to Pikes' Fish Market, close enough to walk but far from the noise and commotion of that area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Ah yes, far from the maddening crowd. Sure that is one of the reasons to stay with us, as the market area attracts everyone and everything.... we are only 4 blocks from the market but they are 4 peaceful blocks and there is just a lot less commotion up this end at all times of the day.
Thanks for the great note.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

After having to wait more than 10 minutes at check in near 6:00pm to make sure the room I had reserved for a 3:00pm check in was indeed ready, the rest of the stay was quite pleasant. Friendly staff, the doorman is kind and has a sense of humor! What a treat, most just stay straight faced and stodgy but these guys had character. :)

Room Tip: Try not to be near the elevators.
See more room tips
Green Features: Who doesn't do this nowadays? I believe it is difficult to find good cleaning help these days, and the effort to eliminate multiple loads of laundry is something nearly every household in America does, it saves time and money.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for two nights.. As an Inner Circle member was upgraded to a very nice suite.. We found the hotel to be clean and everything comfortable.. Although we found some small problems in our room (sink was slow draining) once they were reported they were quickly remedied. Staff was all very friendly and knowledgable about the city. Happy hour was, as always, great. Can't complain about this hotel. Pretty good value for a downtown hotel..

My only complaint is I asked specifically for a Kuerig coffee maker but failed to get one.. A minor issue in the big picture of things..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks Kimberly, we were just making sure that room was perfect for you as we know how particular you are! Thanks for the note on the guys at the door, yep a bunch of characters, you will find those same guys often work in our Sazerac restaurant where the staff have the same crazy aspects as the food! hope you made it in there as well.
Appreciate the note, come back soon!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My best friend and I recently spent a weekend in Seattle following a "wow, friends for 20 years we should do something cool" cruise to Alaska. And the Monaco went a long way to making it a most perfect ending to a gorgeous trip. All the staff was wonderful. My friend spoke to Peter several times before our arrival and he was always friendly and helpful.
We were able to check-in several hours early and refresh before hitting the hills of Seattle. The room was beautiful and the beds almost too comfy (we were trying to keep momentum -though we were very glad for them later, as well as the shower you could dance in). Took advantage of the free wi-fi (sign up for InTouch rewards!). After our day of wanders, we were greeted by our goldfish, Chester. This really made our day. We'd mentioned at check-in that we'd been calling our future goldy roommate, Chester McFancypants. Seeing Chester on the name sign was a truly special and appreciated touch. Thank you, Kevin!
Sunday brunch at Sazerac was delicious. I'm still thinking about that goat cheese omelet (it was especially appreciated after the dearth of tasty vegetarian options on the cruise). Loved seeing people's dogs, as was definitely missing my pets.
Just can't say enough about the sense of warmth and relaxation experienced here! I would definitely stay here again. I may just move into the Hotel Monaco in Philly in the meantime. Definitely a Kimpton Hotel fan after this experience.
I will also note that my friend received a personal response from the regional ops director after completing the customer satisfaction survey. I've never seen that before and is just another example of the pride Kimpton takes in managing customer relationships.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

If there is a Monaco Hotel in a city I am going to I always like to stay there. The staff is always lovely and so accomodating. The hotels are always in great shape and it is a pleasure to look forward to arriving there after a long trip.

Seattle is no exception. Lovely greeting when I arrived, helpful with information about the area. The room was great, small-ish, but fine for a solo traveller.

Location is great. Up the hill from the airport train (be aware if you are arriving with a lot of luggage and are walking up the hill from the station!). A quick cab ride to Amtrak. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, Pike Place, Pioneer Square and major bus routes.

I asked for a wake up call very early in the morning and when I had a problem with the phone in the room and it seemed like I didn't answer, they came right upstairs and knocked on my door to make sure I was awake!

Love this place.

Green Features: They reward you for not having your room cleaned daily. If you hang a sign on the door foregoing room service, they give you a $5.00 voucher to use for room service or at the hotel restaurant.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My BF and I stayed there in a Monte Carlo Suite for 5 nights. We loved our room in addition to our fish companion they provided with their compliments. The room was very comfortable and the bedroom area had a truly relaxing ambiance. We enjoyed riding around the city on the complimentary bicycles they provided us(too many hills to climb however). Complimentary Starbucks and tea in the a.m. were an absolute bonus(BF has major caffeine addiction). The concierge, Dan, was very knowledgeable and patient when I called him numerous times prior to
arriving at the hotel trying to figure what activites we'd partake in. Also, Shanie at the front desk was an absolute delight. Very helpful and always was effervescent when we interacted with her. Sheer delight she was!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Sorry for the delay in getting back to you, based on your comments everything was great except for the hills of Seattle so I was out trying to smooth them down! Thanks for the great notes, you certainly connected with two of our greatest! Shanie and Dan are quite a pair and much fun for guests and other employees alike. Hope you had time during your 5 day stay to wander into Sazerac for a cocktail or great lunch? if not there is another reason to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Hotel 1000
#2 of 98 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,288 reviews
Downtown
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#7 of 98 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,590 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Seattle
Inn at the Market
#1 of 98 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 stars 1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#15 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be among the first to experience the fully renovated Hotel Monaco Seattle. A 4-diamond luxury property, Hotel Monaco embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. The Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. The wildly popular Sazerac restaurant is also conveniently adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.