We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #8 of 95 hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great bed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Monaco in Seattle on a recent business trip. This was a solid choice of hotels for several reasons.

First, the beds are VERY comfortable. Nice selection of pillows as well. Everyone in our group commented that they slept very well thanks to the comfort of the beds.

Secondly, the service was outstanding. I needed a couple things during the stay and the hotel staff made it happen. And they did it with a smile and like it was just part of the job.

Lastly, the location is ideal. We were able to walk to every meeting location. Also, the Starbucks is essentially next door!

I highly recommend this hotel for either business or personal stays in Seattle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
There is a Starbucks in Seattle? gosh must look that up! yes, out the door to the left about 40 feet there is a ginormous Starbucks. Alex and his crew are there 7 days a week. If you dont feel like getting out of that great bed, then pick up the phone and call room service and they can bring you up a cup. We have a great crew here, the staff are all having fun every day and it shows. From the guy who brings you up your goldfish to the smiling guy at the door. Let us know and we will get it done. Thanks for the notes.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    869
    338
    75
    27
    12
See reviews for
237
480
95
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mahwah, New Jersey
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Like most boutique Kimpton hotels, this is a very nice physical property and is situated in a convenient downtown location. It has the usual Kimpton features like the free wine hour, urns of iced citrus water in the lobby (love that), friendly staff, modern/retro chic decor, etc. We immediately consulted the concierge for recommendations for dining and fun places to visit, and he gave us terrific advice -- I think we tried almost every place he mentioned. Our Monte Carlo Suite was spacious, clean, and the bed was comfy. We had breakfast at their Sazerac restaurant one morning and it was delicious -- we particularly liked the interesting non-alcoholic drink concoctions offered on the menu.

The thing is, you need a good dose of patience to stay here. Most of the time you have to make requests at least twice to get them happening -- this means asking more than one person. Here are some examples:
1) Five days before our arrival, I received an email from the concierge staff asking if there were any special requests for our arrival. I emailed back that same day, requesting an early arrival as we were on a cruise ship and I knew we'd be disembarking fairly early in the morning in Seattle the day of our hotel arrival. I also said I knew this couldn't be guaranteed, but if it was possible, we'd appreciate it. I never got any response at all, so the day before our scheduled arrival, I once again emailed from the cruise ship to double-check they got my request. Still no response. The last night of our cruise, I actually ended up calling the hotel just to follow-up and finally got someone (Rachel, who was great) who confirmed the request had been made but they couldn't guarantee the early check-in. I pointed out that it would have been nice just to get a quick email back saying just what she said. It took two emails and a phone call from a cruise ship just to find out my request was made. Rachel did make good on this by giving us a free upgrade to a suite, understanding that I should not have to follow up so many times on a request, which was greatly appreciated.

2) While our concierge gave us great advice, that process required asking twice, too. He recommended a restaurant and said he'd call to make a dinner reservation for the following evening. We saw him call the restaurant and leave a message. We never heard anything after that. The next day the concierge wasn't there so we told the front desk that we were still wondering if we had a reservation for dinner or not, and then got a call back from another staff member who did make us a reservation, but there was none made the day before. When we brought this to the attention of the original concierge, he apologized but flipped through his notebook and said "oh, I guess the restaurant never called back." If that was the case, we'd have appreciated him leaving us a message so that we could have followed up with the restaurant ourselves, or perhaps he could have called the restaurant back before he left for the day.

3) On our first night we were watching TV and the back housing just fell off the TV. The next morning we told the front desk about this and they noted it, but when we returned that evening still it hadn't been fixed. It did get fixed after, you guessed it, we told someone again.

4) Sazerac had a great breakfast. It took two requests for my hubby to get some toast, though.

Everyone was really friendly, which was great, but I must say I also prize accuracy and efficiency in hospitality staff. If this place could get that aspect of a guest's stay attended to, it could be a really excellent place instead of a very good one!

Green Features: One of the reasons we choose Kimpton hotels is because of it's environmentally friendly mission.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
thanks Anne, appreciate knowing all the good times you had with the concierge and staff, the city is crazy busy this time of year - from restaurants to traffic there is so much going on that we find it hard to keep up. Great to read of all the positive and the follow up needed with those details. hope your travels were all you dreamed they would be, you are a long way from New Jersey!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I spent a few nights at Hotel Monaco with my Mum in May 2013. We have stayed at a number of Kimpton hotels previously and the Hotel Monaco definitely lived up to the standard of other properties. Check in was seamless and we were on one of the club floors. Nice touch having an elevator that is direct to the upper floors. The room was well decorated and quirky. The beds were very comfortable...a good nights sleep was had.
On the 2nd day, we noticed a strong smell of cigarette smoke. After coming back later in the morning the smell was still around. We advised the front desk and found the way the front desk dealt with our concerns was very professional. They were already aware of the situation and did what they could to make our stay a great one.
Its nice while travelling to seeing all the other hotel guests dogs...makes it feel more homely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks so much for the great comments! We were delighted to read that you felt right at home with the staff, the decor and the dogs (guessing you are a dog person!) You are so correct, if you have an issue at a hotel, just get down to the front desk and let them know, we aim to please and will get it done!
Come back soon.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The people make this property - though the property is wonderful too. I stay exclusively at Kimptons and this one did not disappoint. Ethan, Kevin and Peter at the front desk were terrific. As a female business traveler they could not have been more helpful. One gets an old world hospitality feel at the Monaco Seattle. For so many hotels these days it is just "next." Not here. I was so pleased by my experience that I rebooked it for an upcoming family holiday. Yesterday I called with some questions - which reminded me that I had not written a review. Karen, the front desk manager could not have been more helpful and was genuinely excited that I was returning with my family. As with many city Kimptons, this is a renovation of an earlier property so the outside is nondescript. The inside is an oasis - high ceilings. fun ocean themed decor and typically great Kimpton room. However, the reason I will return is the people. Bravo on customer service that exceeded my expectations, even for a Kimpton.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Wow, that is great that you would trust us enough with your upcoming plans! What a team, you picked several of those top players - Ethan, Kevin and Peter all exemplify the very best of the staff that we enlist to care for your time with us. I tell the staff frequently we arent just checking guests in and out we are making memories! Delighted that Karen at the desk is setting up your next stay - dinner in Sazerac would top off the experience!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were here July 8-10 and couldn't have been happier. Walked to Pike Place and Safeco Field. Pet accomodations were excellent. Room was beautiful. Staff was amazing! Will definitely make this our Seattle hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Big Mako!
Thanks for the nice notes, and hope that you will come back and see us soon - lets raise a glass or two at wine hour!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

At check-in my fiancee and I were commenting on the goldfish program and how you could get one sent to your room. Unfortunately none were available and didn't really want one anyways but the front desk called us later just to double check if we wanted a goldfish and if we did, they could make it happen. We declined but the offer showed that Kimpton and it's employees at Hotel Monaco Seattle actually care about their guests and pay attention to their needs. (Even if you mention something in passing!)

Lastly, I love the fact that they allow pets, it's make the hotel less sterile and more like home. And you couldn't even guess they allow pets because it is SO clean and new smelling! Such a great property and hotel group in general. We can't wait to come back.

Thank you for being so awesome : )

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks for this, I believe that is a specialty of Kimpton hotels, you are not just another room number you actually the a chance to connect with the staff and the hotel. I am sorry that we were out of goldfish - we have about 100 of them, but they are very popular with families and travelers however they do tell stories of their adventures when we put them back in the big tank.
Come back from Alaska soon and make it a perfect stay with dinner in Sazerac, - the roast chicken will change your life!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel in the best location! My first trip to Seattle was made perfect because of this exceptional hotel. While it may be part of a hotel chain, it offers attentive, personalized service. The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable. The wine hour is a perfect way to wind down at the end of a busy day of sightseeing. The location is convenient to public transportation, Pike Place Market, museums, shopping, and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks so much! you pretty much hit all the high notes! We are do have a great location and the rooms which we recently remodeled are great but those folks behind the desk with a genuine smile and williness to do which make your stay! We have 3 great Kimptons in Seattle and all three are the perfect way to end a day - the Alexis on 1st, the Monaco - Sazerac and then the wonderful Vintage Park with Tulio and the besk smoked salmon ravioli that you will dream of for a long long time.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#6 Family Hotel in Seattle
#7 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be among the first to experience the fully renovated Hotel Monaco Seattle. A 4-diamond luxury property, Hotel Monaco embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. The Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. The wildly popular Sazerac restaurant is also conveniently adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Jetsetter, BookIt.com, Priceline, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.