We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little quirky, but some like it like that” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cars Stay Free
Ranked #7 of 98 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Arroyo Grande, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A little quirky, but some like it like that”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I decided to get away from the family and have a little adult time. Using that popular bidding web site, we were able to secure a 4 star hotel for around $100/night. Location is good in downtown Seattle. Walking distance to plenty of major sights, shops and restaurants. Valet parking is necessary and very expensive.

Check-in was efficient. Staff if friendly. The property is clean and well lit. Free wine tasting in the lobby (although the wines on our dates were not that good).

Room was spacioius and nicely decorated. Kimpton has a bad habit of displaying far too much that is for sale in the rooms. Examples include the $20 stuffed otter on the bedspread, the mini bar and snacks that were prominently displayed, and the leopard print bathrobes.

The sofa/couch that was in our room was far too low to be comfortable. The bath tub was too shallow for a soaking/relaxing bath. Topping things off on the room complaint list was the pump soap, shampoo and conditioner. I classify this as "tacky". It may be cost efficient and perhaps environmentally friendly, but it doesn't portray elegance.

We had drinks and an appetizer in the hotel bar. Another opportuntiy to experience furniture that is way too low to the ground. My knees and back hurt after sitting at a bar table for about 1 hour. Wife had a beer (pilsner) that was recommended by server. The beer was good. I had a gin & tonic. Good gin (than you). We ordered the mussels/clams. I thought it had far too much fennel and not enough bread. Flavor was good. Wife complained that there was a strong iodine aftertaste. Later that night, she threw up. Guess she was right about the taste.

We did not eat in the restaurant as ther alder wood fire in the kitchen gave off an unplesant smell in the entire restaurant. We slept well and had no issue with comfort of the bed. Coffee was available in the morning. We passed on that as there was a Starbucks next door.

Overall, we had a good experience.Would I return? Not sure. If they could fix the low furniture issues and remedy the mussles/clams issue, I'd consider it. Wife is holind out for deeper bathtub or a jacuzzi in the rooms.

Room Tip: Upper floors are better to minimize street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Happy with Qurky. its a nice change for 99 percent of the guests who stay with us and recognize that often they wake up in a hotel room and ponder 'where am I and why does this room look like all the other rooms?" I hope you brought the issue with the mussels to someones attention, not a comment that i frequently read about. The pizza ovens and their smell from the burning wood is a little odd as we dont use wood in them, will have to check that one out. We have 2 other Kimptons in the city and I hope you might consider the Alexis or the Vintage Park for your next visit, seems like we are close to making you a loyal Kimptonite and that is always our goal!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    390
    84
    29
    16
See reviews for
289
587
105
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My stay in Seattle was made more memorable by staying at such a great hotel. From all the friendly staff, to the spacious rooms, to the very good restaurant on-site, and the central location in the city the Hotel Monaco Seattle made my trip even better. The hotel is only a block away from the light rail, so getting to the hotel from the airport was a breeze. Since the hotel is centrally located it was also very easy to walk to Pike Place Market, Pioneer Square, Safeco Field and the numerous ferries. Also the stay was bought to another level with a free happy hour each night which included free wine, beer, sangria and appetizers. I hope everyone else gets to enjoy an experience like mine not only in Seattle, but also at the Hotel Monaco Seattle.

I also received a free bottle of wine by checking in on Yelp which may not seem like a big deal, but the staff was so friendly when I showed them I checked in and they sent the wine right up to the room. I know sometimes when you get something for free anywhere a staff member may give you a dirty look or pretend they don't know about a special. But not at the Hotel Monaco Seattle, they instantly knew about the free bottle of wine for checking in and was very happy to send it to our room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The entire stay was excellent. From check in to check out the staff was nice, quick and helpful. Love wine hour, coffee in the morning and fruit infused water all day. Rooms were spacious and the location was perfect, walking distance to everything!

Room Tip: King Deluxe was perfect for two people for a long weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip

Room was on the 11th floor.

Decor was a little different but the room was very roomy and comfortable

Staff was great and very willing to help with directions or suggestions.

Arrived late and was able to get thin crust pizza in their resturant. Was very good

Overall great stay and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Spent the weekend here and really enjoyed the ambience and location. Staff was friendly and shared a dining coupon at check in for Sazerac next door. They have a wine hour in the lobby that was quite nice and well attended allowing us to chat up the other guests. All in all a fun place to call home for a day or two.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was a truly fantastic experience. The property was wonderful and rooms were well appointed, comfortable, and clean but it was the staff that made our stay spectacular. Everyone from the bellhop to the concierge went out of their way to make our stay special. The front desk staff were incredibly personable, knowledgeable, and caring. They remembered our name, asked how things were once we went, and just made us feel at home. I'm leaving out some that made our stay spectacular but Ethan, Kevin, Peter, & Dan were incredibly warm and kind individuals. We will miss the Monaco and look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: The premiere floors (10 & 11) were nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Our small group was treated like royalty throughout our weekend by the wonderful staff. Coffee and newspaper downstairs each morning, cheery hellos from all, spacious and very clean rooms, wonderful beds. Maybe next time I'll take my wife!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#5 Business Hotel in Seattle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#12 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be among the first to experience the fully renovated Hotel Monaco Seattle. A 4-diamond luxury property, Hotel Monaco embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. The Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. The wildly popular Sazerac restaurant is also conveniently adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.