We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Favourite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #8 of 95 hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersGold level
Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always a Favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I enjoy staying here when we visit Seattle. Hotel is situated where everything to see is a short walk.

Staff is always friendly; formal but not stuffy. For all the times we have stayed, we have never had a complaint. Any requests promptly answered. Rooms have great decor and are always nice and clean.

The welcoming lobby area has allowed us to meet with some very interesting people from around the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
One of the special touches for the hotel is the wine hour which is held at every Kimpton hotel (almost 60) not only is it a chance to experience great wine and meet the hotel manager, but also meet some other guests. really takes you back to what hospitality is all about. Thanks for the nice note on the staff, they really are just a very friendly group who love to be here and it shows!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    875
    341
    75
    27
    12
See reviews for
239
481
95
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

By reading all the reviews we thought this would be a great alternative for this Christmas. My dad had just passed away and we needed to get mom out of the house as she could not bear having us all there that morning. We made our reservations together; reserving 3 Premier Rooms (although we had to cancel one room 5 days before Xmas as a family member was unable to make it to Seattle due to work). In our reservations we emphasized the need to be on 1 floor together; I called before we arrived and again spoke to them upon check in to make sure we'd be together.
We arrived and had valet take our car. We were not allowed to use a luggage cart but only the services of the bell captain, which was fine. Except for the fact that our possessions, including a large box of wrapped gifts, was rolled around the corner out of sight from the front desk and placed near the elevators & left unattended until "Colin could get to it". One of our party sat in the lobby and watched as person after person passed, paused, looked around and looked at the things on the unattended cart. Glad we left someone there until someone could bring it up!
Upon check in, I again inquired about making sure we'd have adjoining rooms or at least close rooms for our family. I was assured that rooms had been blocked off for this. They then informed us we had been "upgraded" to a suite. Nice! Wait! What about our family members? Yes, they had been upgraded also and were near us on the same floor. My sister and mother arrived and I kept looking for them and didn't see them get off the elevator. No wonder. They were on a different floor. They asked to move and were told "no". They also discovered that their room had not been cleaned thoroughly, a robe was missing and someone had helped themselves to quite a bit of the minibar. Nope. Not going to move them. Now this really defeated what we were trying to do here-have some family closeness after my dad's death.
Our room also had not been cleaned fully and we also were missing minibar items. Our "upgrades" started to feel like a downgrade. My mom was upset, can't walk well and there we were having to schlep things from floor to floor to be "together". The explanation from downstairs was that there was a housekeeping issue with the original room they had set aside for my mom & sister. Yet, we watched several people check in on that floor well after my sister and mom arrived. I know for a fact the rooms are the same as the one we were in.
I did try and explain the situation as nicely & quietly as possible to the front desk away from other guests. The response? "Sorry. So, what else do you expect me to do about it?" Well, at over $200 a night I didn't expect my possessions to be left unattended, my family to be scattered on different floors, uncleaned rooms & a difficult front desk staff.
To add insult to injury, on Christmas morning we went downstairs at 9:30 to get coffee and tea only to discover that their complimentary tea and coffee service had been removed early that day. Add another $25 just to get coffee and tea.
Ok, upon checkout I spoke to someone again about what had happened and again was told "Gee, sorry." We REALLY went through quite a bit setting this up. Double, triple, quadruple checked on making sure our rooms would be together. What I didn't expect to have to deal with, especially after reading such glowing reviews, was the staff basically saying "So? Whatever..." Whether they were not happy working a holiday, or were just unhappy in general I do not know. But the last thing I expected to have to do was spend close to $500 for THAT experience AND have to try and explain to my mom after everything that had happened why we couldn't be closer.
Should I even mention having valet parking bring my car around, NOT giving me my keys, leaving us in the pouring rain for 20 minutes while he ran off to get another car? Guess not. What would be the point?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thanks for the note. Wow, we were all so very sorry to read of the issues you had during your stay and of course especially during such a sad event. Because of the special nature of your stay we did upgrade you to suites on the same floor but when one wasnt ready we did let your sister know she was on another floor, not sure why this came at a surprise. I have spoken with all the staff working on those days and except for noting the minibar items missing you failed to mention any of these concerns, the mgr working that evening recalls speaking with you and none of these claims were shared with us. There are so many items in your review that are not exactly correct that I will save us all the trouble of explaining what you claim and what really did happen, and just hope that you have a more positive experience in the future.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Hotel Monaco in Seattle is a wonderful place to stay. The decor is lovely and whimsical, the staff unfailingly helpful and polite, and the Sazerac Restaurant has terrific food in a warm, hospitable setting. So many thoughtful touches and a great location make this a superb place to stay in downtown Seattle. Don't miss a visit to the Seattle public library across the street as well as the usual tourist sites. You can walk to two or three Link light rail stations. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Whimsical is a great word for the hotel, but we also have the serious business side, so never hesitate!
Sazerac is one of the great eateries in Seattle, as well as our other restaurant just up the street Tulio - the roast chicken will change your life!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We can't overemphasize the terrific service and comfort of this hotel. They clearly make their guests' positive experience a priority, right from the reservation process to check-out.
Everyone there, including the people on the front desk, the cleaning staff, the valets, etc, work very hard to make this hotel feel like home. The hotel has been renovated since our last stay a year ago and they have created a colourful, funky decor throughout, including the rooms and public areas. It's great! One thing to note is the cleanliness of this hotel - it is spotless. The beds and linens are of top-notch quality. We negotiated a very fair rate for our stay. There is a lot of competition in Seattle, and the Monaco always offers a fair rate, plus some unexpected bonuses. The staff at the adjoining restaurant Sazerac go out of their way to ensure a great dining experience. And their well-trained chefs love to talk about their new sumptuous inventions! One personal note: After returning late one evening, we asked the maitre d' at Sazerac if we might have some tea in the hotel lounge. He happily brought it to us, with some freshly-made cookies, all compliments of the hotel. These little things, as well as the above notes, that will ensure our return to the Monaco.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
I like the idea that you found us to provide a fair rate with some unexpected bonuses thrown in for good measure. The special touches and willingness to do, make the hotel very different from so many others in the area. There are always special packages and rates for any of the 3 Kimpton hotels in Seattle at our web site, the rates change all the time so there is something for every budget.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our (unfortunately short!) stay at Hotel Monaco was fantastic from the minute we stopped the car. It seemed that everyone on the staff was in touch, good natured, and helpful. There wasn't a hitch.

The room was airy, fresh and quiet with the wonderful Kimpton colors. Without hesitation, we will stay here whenever we return to Seattle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Well there is always a cure for too short a stay, come back! The newly renovated guest rooms are really special, if you catch me at wine hour, remind me to tell you the full story of how the design came to be and the concept behind it, fantastic! Our other hotel up the street the Vintage Plaza is shortly undergoing the same treatment shortly and I cant wait.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We scored a phenomenal deal on Priceline and were very pleased with our weekend stay here. The hotel lives up to the Kimpton brand, with great decor and great service. The parking was a bit expensive, but ultimately worth it for the downtown location within walking distance of a lot of Seattle's best. Our room overlooked the new Seattle Public Library, a gorgeous building designed by Rem Koolhaas that is worth checking out. Overall very satisfied with our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beautiful Seattle Public Library have the only good view; otherwise the hotel is su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Hotel Monaco is a wonderful hotel in Seattle. Feeling a little guilty for getting such a great price on priceline because it really is a nice place to stay. Great location, excellent service, comfortable bed, huge bathroom and all very new. We will return... would prefer to stay here over the westin or sheraton.... Thank you Hotel Monaco. You are doing a great job.!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
And sometimes on Priceline you do hit the jackpot, but just in case you end up at one of the hideous alternatives, just check out our web site anytime for great packages or other deals!
The parking is expensive yep, but not when you consider the cost of replacing a broken window or failing to note the crazy parking regulations downtown and a one tow will convince you. I can't believe you know the name Rem Koolhaas and that he was the arch. for the library across the street, never seen it before in a guest comment card. We dont have alot of views but neither do the other 59 hotels in the downtown area, maybe thats why the rooms are so stunning?
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#6 Family Hotel in Seattle
#7 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be among the first to experience the fully renovated Hotel Monaco Seattle. A 4-diamond luxury property, Hotel Monaco embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. The Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. The wildly popular Sazerac restaurant is also conveniently adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.