We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersGold level
Naches, Washington
1 review
“Superb experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

As a frequent visitor of Seattle, I've had a favorite place to stay for years. After being marginally dissatisfied with my most recent stay at my former-favorite (I wont name any names), I decided it might be time for a change. After reading several rave reviews, I decided to give Monaco Seattle a shot and I'm glad I did!

The hotel was very easy to find and the location is ideal. Valet was excellent! Very friendly and very, very eager to help (tip accordingly!). Check-in was quick, painless, and the front-desk staff was all smiles. They were quick to explain all of the conveniences and perks offered and while I didn't take advantage of the complimentary wine hour in the lobby, I'm sure I will in the future (nice touch indeed!).

Our room was great; clean, quiet and cozy. The bed was comfy and I really enjoyed the decor. My wife got a kick out of our friend Mary the gold fish :)

I'm a sucker for the little things and Monaco Seattle definitely delivers. Service was all around top notch. After filling out a survey for my recent stay, I even received a personal response from management addressing my contextual answers (so I know it wasn't automated). Needless to say, I have a new favorite place to stay in Seattle! Definitely will return; definitely would recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Yes its true, I am not automated, you can usually tell becuase I am a fan of punctuation (Shakespeare never used punctuation, why should I) . Many of our guests receive an on line survey which pops up in 15 managers in- boxes, and I respond to everyone of them. Just like Tripadvisor, what you say matters to me. Your comments of course made my day, I hear from guests frequently that they gave us a try after being disappointed at one of our competitors hotels and generally the experience converts them to seeking Kimptons across the land. On occasion I stay at one of the 'other hotels' in the city or when I am traveling and while we arent perfect, I truly believe the stay at a Kimpton hotel (this one in particular of course) really makes you notice how bland one of the big names can be. Thanks for giving us a try.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    358
    80
    29
    12
See reviews for
262
524
99
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I love this hotel! The service was amazing! From the minute we checked in everyone was so friendly and helpful! The valet even parked and emptied our car for us and brought it up to the room! The room was spacious and elegant with an amazing view of the city! We were within walking distance of so many fabulous stores and restaurants as well as two malls! Overall it was amazing and I would recommend the Moroccan to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Ashley, thanks for the nice note, I am gleaning from your tone that you enjoyed your stay? You of course are so right, the location of the hotel and the way we have renovated the building, make any night, weekend or long stay here, a real treat. Check out Kimpton hotels web site for all the other Kimptons in your area, and come back soon!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I recently stayed for 5 nights at the Monaco. It was my first visit. It was lovely. The room was huge and the bathroom was well lit.
I had to leave early every morning and the valets always had by car ready right on time. I ate twice in the restaurant and was impressed with the service and the menu!
At night, we often walked to dinner and we were close to everything!
I LOVE this hotel. I felt like a princess!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Princess Cindy,
Thanks so much for the nice note! you are welcome back here anytime. The menu in Sazerac is so great, that eating there two nights in a row, not too much of a task! The roasted chicken or the catfish could change your thoughts about any bad day! Come back soon.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed one night at the Kimpton Monaco Seattle first week of November. Booked the hotel thru Priceline so wasn't sure what this hotel was all about. Arrived around 9pm. Check in was very quick. Front desk staff was very nice. The decor of the hotel is very modern, artistic design. It looks like it was recently renovated. Everything was clean and comfortable.

Overall surprised by how good the hotel was. I normally stay at the Westin and Hyatt's so this was an unknown change for the good. The only thing preventing me from giving a 5 star rating is the high valet parking cost. After taxes, parking cost $47! There is street parking but downtown Seattle doesn't come across as super safe!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
yep, with Priceline sometimes you hit the jackpot (that would be a stay at a Kimpton) glad you had a positive review of the hotel. We offer alot of the great rates you find at priceline on our website with many extra goodies, so check there next time first. Parking is expensive, but that extra 10 bucks knowing your car is in a secure, locked parking lot vs. out on the street all night and then there are those time constraints, and the tow trucks are a hungry lot. thanks for the note.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We visit Seattle from time to time and have tried a few hotels. Without a doubt, I have to say that we LOVE the Monaco best of all. Staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and welcoming. Rooms are clean, modern, and spacious. Beds and linen are great too. The hotel is also very central so we walk everywhere. Needless to say, I'm a fan.

My wife and I traveled with our three kids. We stayed in 2 adjoining rooms. A rollaway bed was added to the kids room (also very comfortable).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Well Adam, we love you too. Not sure if your kids are the ones who sent me the note saying 'i want to live here forever' but if so, tell them that a 4 year degree in hotel mgmt will start them off nicely. 2 adjoining rooms for a family is a great perk, or those Monte Carlo suites with a rollaway are also a great family suite. Enjoy.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed here and loved it!! Everything was as described or as shown in pictures. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was very clean and well renovated. Very tasteful!! We took advantage of having a rm pet, Barry the goldfish. The location was awesome. A few blocks away from shopping, Pike Market and great restaurants. Would definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Barry send his best regards. Our fish program is alot of fun and no they dont live in those little bowls all their lives, they have a huge tank downstairs where they swim freely, are fed continously and cared for lavishly with their own 'fish guy' if you would like a fish during your stay, just give the desk a call. Thanks for the nice review, come back soon!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

For the price this hotel is fabulous! They offer complimentary coffee/tea, pastries and whole fruit in the lobby until 11am and then have a complimentary wine cocktail hour from 5-6, but actually while we were there they served the wine until almost 7pm.

Rooms are not overly spacious, but perfect for 2 people on a weekend getaway. I will say that the decor was trying to be hip and a throw back to art deco but they didn't quite make it. The decor is a bit fragmented but that didn't distract from the overall stay.

Staff is pleasant but didn't go out of their way to be helpful. They more went through the functions. This is what you expect from a 3-4 star hotel.

Overall it was a great stay and I would go back on my next trip to Seattle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks for the nice review! appreciate your perspective. This building is a renovated office building from the 60s - very common for Kimpton to do, and as such all the rooms are different sizes and shapes, so your not overly spacious room was next door to one that was huge, but that is part of us not being like all those cookie cutter hotels next door!
come back soon!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Business Hotel in Seattle
#4 Family Hotel in Seattle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be among the first to experience the fully renovated Hotel Monaco Seattle. A 4-diamond luxury property, Hotel Monaco embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. The Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. The wildly popular Sazerac restaurant is also conveniently adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.