We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay at the Kimpton , great location for a vacation in Seattle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #8 of 95 hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersGold level
Martinez, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay at the Kimpton , great location for a vacation in Seattle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Monaco seattle is in a great location, it's within walking distance to Pike's market, shopping, and restaurants. If you are really ambitious you can also walk to the Space Needle from here or grab the light rail which is just a short 2 blocks away. We took the light rail from the airport, it was very easy and like 3 dollars. Another great perk about this location. The hotel room was stylish and has the Kimpton flare I have grown to love, this Kimpton also has a good lobby , full of oversized couches which is great for hanging out and popping open a bottle of some delicious WA state wine before dinner. It has a great restaurant attached and we enjoyed drinks and apps at the bar during our trip, food was good and drinks were better :). We stayed in a Monaco Suite which was very spacious and modern, the furniture is just barely starting to show some wear so overall I stilll think the decor gets an A, but I do think some small improvements will need to be made at some point in the near future. The bathroom was a tad small for a suite but the living room complete with barware distracted me from the small size of the bathroom. There are no views from this hotel, it doesnt have water or city views so don't expect that when you sign up to stay here. We had a small mistep at checkin which they corrected (almost) immediately with just some mild prompting and a quick discussion with the manager.

Highly reccomend this modern hotel in the heart of Seattle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
you are so right ! the location is one of the greatest reasons to stay here but also the snappy decor and the ever so friendly staff. I am delighted you hit on all the high notes. Sorry to read that the furniture is showing some wear, we just renovated 5 months ago, must find what room you were in!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    844
    322
    72
    26
    12
See reviews for
223
466
94
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I traveled to Monaco for a seminar. Rather than stay at a cookie cutter hotel that was hosting the seminar, I stayed at Monaco which is owned by the Kimpton chain. My experience was great. I was greeted first by the door man who was pleasant. My check-in experience was easy and the staff was very friendly.

The hotel itself is beautiful. It is decorated so nice that I am going to use some of their ideas to decorate my home. The room was spacious with a great view. The bedding was as nice as my home. Really everything is done with exquisite taste. I really have nothing to say that would be even remotely close to be negative.

Totally forgot to mention the best part. They have happy hour everyday where they serve free drinks. What more can I ask for? Stay here!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
yes you are right that wine hour is one reason to stay here but there are so many others! the hotel is far from cookie cutter but our goal has always been to not look like the other guys. We do actually sell many of the items you would have seen in our guest rooms. you should check out the website at kimptonhotels.com
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a king bed room and the decor was incredible. Loved it! Modern and beautiful.

The location was good. We were a couple of blocks from Pike Place market and the Westlake shopping downtown.

The fan made an annoying noise, not too loud, but just enough to bug you. We tried turning it off, but the room would get kind of humid from the bathroom steam etc, so you had to have it on.

The bed linens were great, but the bed was a bit hard.

Other than that, everything was great. Beautiful hotel lobby, great staff - very friendly and outgoing, great valet. The hotel was very clean and beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
The funny thing about hotel beds is that like goldilocks, they are either too hard or too soft, never just right. Actually lots of our guests rave about the beds and claim to have the best sleep in years. Sorry about the fan, wonder what room you were in, our crack engineering team would be all over it!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Northwest
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I held a bachelorette party here for 12 women. We had 2 suites with rollaways.

Pluses:
1) Wine reception in the lobby in the evenings
2) Luxurious bedding
3) Spacious suites
4) Very attentive service
5) Sazerac is a great restaurant for drinks

Minuses:
1) The suites, IMHO, were overpriced for what they were. Still a lovely place to stay, but get your credit card ready.
2) No pool! Why no rooftop pool??
3) The new refurbishment makes it a lot less colorful and distinctive than its previous design.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Well there isnt a roof top pool because its Seattle and it rains 9 months a year, as well the building was built in 1967 as a telephone switching station and they never thought about a pool. Hey, I am glad you had a terrific time here, we have pretty strict policies on making sure all our guests have peaceful nights with us, glad you were able to keep it down. Remember that just like the airlines we sell rooms based on demand, so you may have had a little shock at the price but that was that darn Seahawks weekend and everybody wanted to be here!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Awesome hotel with friendly staff. A much better option than the Westin where I have stayed in the past. Wine hour in the lobby was a nice touch, staff if very accommodating and super friendly. Great location, walking distance to the fish market and piers. Highly recommend, a great hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
if you dont get down to the fish market , have we got a deal for you!, a huge tank of fish where they swim freely until a guest calls down for one! it is a great location for just about everything including the best Italian restaurant up the street, Tulio! the chicken alone will change your life!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have stayed at the Monaco before and since then It has been refurbished.Our room was cosy and we had a quaint addition for company, a named goldfish called Tom. The breakfast was excellent and although there is no fine dining the food was good homely fayre.The staff on the whole could not have been more friendly and helpful.Our only complaint was house keeping.I felt that they were always trying to rush us out of the room and what was more irritating went into the room when we had asked them to wait.The powers that be need a better system for the signs of "privacy" and "service the room" These kept reversing or falling off the door when it shut.Even so these were minor annoyances and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
hmmm. not sure how i feel about a goldfish named Tom. I am so very sorry about the sign on the door, but what a great note! we are on it, your comments made me think about how the rooms are serviced, it is through comments like this that we hope to become the best loved hotel company in the country!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had such an awesome experience from the moment we walked in! We were greeted by a friendly, helpful staff and were quite impressed with the updated and ecclectic decor.
Our room was unexpectedly large, for a more established hotel, and was extremely well cared for. The king bed was very comfortable and afforded us our best night's sleep from any hotel previously! The restaurant Sazerac served the most amazing cuisine and we'll be back to attend their cooking class in January! We'll definitely be back to the Monaco during our next visit to Seattle!! Dusty and Kelli

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We have about 17 different rooms types and sizes some very large some a little smaller, but there is one for every guest. I am delighted that you were happy with yours! The decor is brand new and tells the story of a world traveler picking up material from their world wide travels, you need to see it to believe it or just go to our web site and take a look a some pictures and some great deals!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Family Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#7 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be among the first to experience the fully renovated Hotel Monaco Seattle. A 4-diamond luxury property, Hotel Monaco embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. The Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. The wildly popular Sazerac restaurant is also conveniently adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.