We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a lovely old town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie Aux Vieux Remparts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hostellerie Aux Vieux Remparts to your Saves list
Hostellerie Aux Vieux Remparts
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue Couverte Cite Medieval, 77160 Provins, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Provins
Suffolk
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a lovely old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is in the heart of the old town, up on the hill, but with its own parking. The old town itself is very pleasant, as is the hotel. My room was well appointed and all aspects of service were very good. The hotel restaurant was good and all my colleagues enjoyed their meals during the week that we were there. There are also a number of other good places to eat within an easy walk. A nice hotel in a pleasant location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    132
    54
    39
    17
See reviews for
42
232
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed for a night in this charming quiet hotel. The restaurant and the menu looked nice but did not had the occasion to dine there. Provins is a great little town to stay for one night and this hotel is conveniently located in the medieval town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Vieux Remparts has so much going for it. It is a beautiful building in a wonderful ancient town, so why is it such poor value? We selected a 'Chambre Tradition', the middle level of three types of room but were disappointed by both the size and the lack of style in the room. The bed was uncomfortable, the pillows poor and, worst of all, there was a plastic undersheet - not acceptable anywhere.

The dinner, at 39 Euros, was not cheap, but I was very disappointed by the portions. I would estimate that my lamb main course was about 75 grams uncooked weight, which is miserly by any standard, and the dessert would struggle to pass as 'petits fours' anywhere else. Add to that the prices of their wines (we had the most local wine, an Irancy, which cost 32 Euros and was about the cheapest on their wine list), and our overnight stay was getting quite expensive with no real pleasure to be had.

This hotel could be so much better, but is spoiled by poor rooms, poor beds, stingy meals and Paris pricing. Nearly 300 Euros for an overnight stay without breakfast was very poor value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We chose this hotel as it was listed in the MIchelin guide. On arrival, we were totally ignored by the young lady at the desk, such that I was sure we were not at reception. Finally, someone came to check us in but even then interrupted what she was doing to help her colleague. The restaurant provided us with a vegetarian, gluten free meal but as it was only vegetables, we had to order the cheese course to get some protein. I thought 12 euros for two tiny slivers of cheese rather expensive. At breakfast next morning, there was no one around to greet us in the breakfast room and once again we were ignored by the one member of staff clearing tables. Having waited several minutes for someone to come, we sat down and began to help ourselves from the buffet. Despite the fact we had food on our table, we were asked to move to a different table. The only service we received was with regard to our choice of drink. No one came by to see if we wanted more coffee, etc. The buffet was nothing special and at 17 euros, I thought it somewhat expensive.

Room Tip: Hotel is in the perfect location for exploring the old town of Provins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTWERP-BELGIUM
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very well situated,ideal to visit the town, quiet, friendly staff and restaurant offers good food for reasonable prices. Weather was excellent so they served also breakfast outside. For France it was one of the best breakfasts I ever had.
Certainly will go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I accompanied my partner on a business trip and it was my first time in Provins. The hotel met all my expectations. We had the indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room to ourselves. My partner offered me a very pleasant cinnamon massage on the premises. Breakfast was good. We didn't eat lunch and dinner at the hotel but there were plenty of good restaurants nearby. During the day I walked around the medieval town and went to fabulous shows with knights on horses or birds of prey. The museum and rose gardens are also worth a visit.

Room Tip: The place is not very easy to find so make sure you take a map or GPS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Very welcoming staff, excellent food, but rooms taste chain hotels unauthentic and air recycling is noisy everywhere. Spa is basically a small pool, jacuzzi, sauna & hamman.
OK for a 1-night-stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostellerie Aux Vieux Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Aux Vieux Remparts

Address: 3 Rue Couverte Cite Medieval, 77160 Provins, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Provins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Provins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie Aux Vieux Remparts 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostellerie Aux Vieux Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie Aux Vieux Remparts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.