We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking...positively shocking” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Briqueterie

Save Saved
You added La Briqueterie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Briqueterie
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Route De Sezanne, 51530 Vinay, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Vinay
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Shocking...positively shocking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile


This review mainly applies to the restaurant since it is not separated out. We spent an entire evening here and we plan to never return. I would also never recommend the location to anyone. It sits right on the road. Yes the gardens are pretty and the chateau has a quaint little feel.

This was the worst experience and service had on this trip. It took 45 min to get service and an aperitif. The quality of the food was decent but nothing to rave about.

The pricing of both food and the wines mainly champagne were insulting. So overpriced for the quality. The service was the worst part. It was apparent they couldn't have cared less it was a very frustrating evening that was disappointing. I would think twice before staying here. Noticeable differential in service was provided which is bad business for a luxury hotel and restaurant.

Food sat out and service staff left it to attend to other issues.
Bad service , mediocre atmosphere, way overpriced are the points to remember

All around bad....

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briqueterie, Directeur général at La Briqueterie, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Monsieur

Reading your feedback, I understand that something went really wrong on the time of your dinner …
I understand that you can be disappointed, but at this point, I would really appreciate to have your feedback directly.
If you have some time to call me or write an e-mail it could help us all to understand this huge discomfiture …

Thanks by advance,

Best regards,

Maïté Berrier – Cybal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    77
    35
    14
    10
See reviews for
36
135
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

As I said to the new director present, we did not know that the August 15th is a bank holidays! So we find the restaurant well crowded with a very smily service, every where we looked before, during and after our lunch it was peoples and a staff member talking to them with the smile even so it has been a worm day. Our meal was and still even now after few hours amazing the King crab prepared by a young Italian who as been working together with the Chef "sorry young Chef" and the Maitre D' in UK. Well for our 1st French bank Holidays my friend and I had a great experience seeing the warm atmosphere of a Michelin star restaurant where we can find the best John Dory in the all World (I think) his combinationAs we were leaving some new costumers arrived just popping for a drinks and as the welcoming day was on they kissed the staff around like if they were familly but no just regulars who wanted to relax elsewhere than their own property! Isn't weird to want that?

Room Tip: Ask for Mr le Director and his Chamapgne suggestions.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester Hampshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We like to use this hotel when driving back home from out trips further South. It is a really great place and the bloke who owns it is a real Anglophile - having worked in the UK for 20 years - and is very knowledgeable about the champagne business and can arrange visits and tastings etc. The rooms are good and the restaurant superb. Breakfast is nicely adequate if not exceptional and the spa is very serviceable. A great place in a really special area. The surroundings are great and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Get a room that is away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington NZ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel nestled in a beautiful rural environment was by far the best hotel we have stayed in recently. The room was lovely with windows opening out to wonderful garden. The breakfast here was unbelievably good with an array of choices and an astonishingly good display of fresh fruit. This hotel in our view is unbeatable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briqueterie, Directeur général at La Briqueterie, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Bonjour

Thank you for this nice review.

We are indeed very proud of our gardens and I feel very happy to read that you enjoyed them as well.

The Chef and his team worked very hard last few weeks on a new breakfast buffet, then it seems that they have done great job !

We hope to see you back to la Briqueterie very soon,

Best regards,

Maïté Berrier – Cybal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales 99
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We've never found the right place over the years to stay in this area. There are several contenders, including Royal Champagne, Sept Saulx, Jacky Michel, and others. We have been here before and have been underwhelmed. So we gave it another go, and were glad to have done so. They welcome you as you get out of the car, and do very good deals, including table d'hote and a welcome bottle of Champagne. And the gardens have been done up, and in good weather are ideal for a glass of bubbly before food.

The food was top notch. The house champagne by the glass was a 2004 vintage which was reasonably priced, and was extraordinary. There is a closed garage to store the car if it is full of local booty, and traffic noise was absent in our room. All in all, playing at the top of its game.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briqueterie, Directeur général at La Briqueterie, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Bonjour,

I would like to thank you for your visit at La Briqueterie and for the time spent doing this review.

I very much appreciate your comments. Be sure that I will share your feedback with my team.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Best regards,

Maïté Berrier - Cybal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visited this hotel with about 30 other Australians on a visit to the champagne region. Out of town, fantastic room. We stayed in room 301. If you choose this location you will need a car or organised activities. Breakfast was better than any of he other larger chains that we stayed at. Very fresh and outstanding. English is not their strong point but hang in there and the will help you out. Would truly recommend this hotel. Pool cold even though it was hear wave conditions - 36 degrees.
Stayed July 2013

Room Tip: Ask about room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briqueterie, Directeur général at La Briqueterie, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Bonjour

Thank you for your review.
It is always a pleasure for all of us to receive compliments, and to see that our guests are coming from so far away to discover Champagne area.
We hope to see you again at la Briqueterie,
Best regards,

Maïté Berrier – Cybal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It's a nice place to stay if you want to explore the champagne region.
The food in the hotel was expensive, but it was good.
The rooms and bed were very small.
The spa was alright, and very quiet.
The area where the hotel lies is good, it's close too many champagne houses.

Room Tip: We've had a classic room, and I thought it was very small. There was not much room in the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briqueterie, Directeur général at La Briqueterie, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Bonjour
Thank you for your review.
I feel sorry to read that you were not totally satisfied by your stay at La Briqueterie, and I hope that you will give us a second chance.
On your next visit, we will maybe propose a larger room, a Junior suite with a king size bed and a balneo bathtub may be suitable for you ?

Regarding our restaurant, our Chef is Michelin starred, but tries to offer best value for money, especially with our anniversary menu at 40 euros on week day’s lunch.

Feel free to contact me for your next visit on Champagne Area,

Best regards,

Maïté Berrier - Cybal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Briqueterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Briqueterie

Address: 4 Route De Sezanne, 51530 Vinay, France
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Vinay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Vinay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Briqueterie 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Briqueterie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Briqueterie Hotel Epernay
La Briqueterie Épernay
La Briqueterie Hotel Épernay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Briqueterie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.