We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, super friendly service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Tooth Cafe

Sweet Tooth Cafe
315 Broadway, Skagway, AK 99840
907-983-2405
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 29 Restaurants in Skagway
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food, super friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This cute little restaurant had great food and wonderful service. This was our third time going there and will definitely go back if I get a chance. They are only open for breakfast and lunch and close at two. :( Its right in the middle of all the shopping outlets so you don't have to go out of your way at all.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    31
    17
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast in Skagway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was a great little local restaurant which has the ambiance of an older cafe. Lots of plain good food with good service though it took a while to be seated. Fresh home made pies, too!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skagway, Alaska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Skagway Classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Sweet Tooth Cafe is a long-time Skagway landmark, right on Broadway near 3rd, and one of the few year-around restaurants here. Expect to find eating out a bit more expensive in Alaska than elsewhere, obviously, but you can still get good basic food at a reasonable price. The 'Tooth,' as the locals call it, features their own homemade bread (best toast EVER), hand-cut french fries with the skins on, and the best fountain Coke I've had anywhere. Their specialties are the halibut burger, Reuben sandwich, patty melt and chicken sandwich. Daily specials. Caesar salad. Good soups. Milkshakes, doughnuts, etc. Open for breakfast and lunch only. Really packed on the busy cruise ship days.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skagway, Alaska
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Saturday Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

As a group of locals, we eat here every Saturday morning and we love it. The staff is attentive, fun, and always have something to add to the conversation. We have eaten here now for over 3 years, every single Saturday and we love it. It's like coming home every week. We love it. The food is great and we are never disappointed. The owner is a hoot.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Eat where the locals eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Want a delicious and filling breakfast in one of the few restaurants that stays open year round and has been in operation for years? The breakfast was so good, I went back twice. Great hash browns, eggs over medium, bacon. Delicious. Pancakes are very big--even the short stack was too much for one person. Service is excellent and staff very friendly. Felt good to be in a cafe that catered to the local regulars and wasn't inundated by cruise passengers.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Tooth Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Tooth Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Tooth Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.