We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Highlight of our Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stowaway Cafe - CLOSED

Stowaway Cafe
205 Congress Way, Skagway, AK 99840
(907) 983-3463
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Highlight of our Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were looking for seafood restaurant and stumbled upon the Stowaway. What a find! Their ship supplying some of the menu items came in late that day so the choices were somewhat restricted but that's what you get when you want FRESH. The scallops and crab cakes were the best we've had anywhere. We had kids with us and we sat outside. The view was spectacular. Kids split some meals as they were large portions. The servers and kitchen staff were willing to make some adjustments to steaks and burgers to make them kid-friendly. The 18% gratuity for groups larger than 6 was a little much but good value overall.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    7
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lone Tree, Colorado
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What A Delightful Surprise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This place didn't look like much from the outside but it was warm & welcoming on the inside. The inside dining room was full so we were seated in the enclosed patio. How lucky were we? The patio had great views of the harbor. the tables & chairs were an eclectic mix of plastic patio & retro. The food was great.I had the wasabi salmon- very fresh and not really spicy- just the right amount of heat to add interest to the flavor. It was artfully presented. My partner had the Bounty of the Sea. Also an excellent choice & very fresh.They do have a wine list - not extensive but adequate.
The staff was very friendly and you could tell that providing good service was equally as important as serving good food. Our servers name, by the way was- Dina A.
Nice job Dina A.
Another plus of this restaurant is its location. Right on the harbor next to where the cruise ships dock

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goreme, Turkey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

It can get pretty busy here but I adore the food! It's all richly flavor and good big servings. Their fish is great and their fries addictive! Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, AK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Couldn't have been better. Fine service and excellent dinners. Assiduous care from our waitress. Disappointed to learn it is being sold, but hoping the new owners will maintain the high standards.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well worth skipping a meal on the cruise ship!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

My wife wanted king crab legs during our Alaskan cruise earlier this month. We decided to have dinner at Stowaway Cafe after our excursion in Skagway and were very glad we did! My wife loved the crab legs, I had a great fish dish, and the fried cheesecake (with a funny name--something like "Xanga") did not disappoint. It's located in a very quaint setting with great views of the nearby cruise ship docks. If you are visiting Skagway, do yourselves a favor and have a meal with the locals at Stowaway!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stowaway Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stowaway Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.