We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the Yukoner Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frontier Excursions & Adventures

Frontier Excursions & Adventures
299 Broadway, Skagway, AK 99840
907.983.2512
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$47*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Frontier Excursions & Adventures is the longest operating independent tour company in Skagway, Alaska. We offer a variety of great tour options ranging from White Pass Summit, Yukon Territory, Emerald Lake, WP&YR Train & Bus Combos, Private Charters, Private SUV Charters and many more! Come along for the ride!
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Take the Yukoner Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I took the 3 1/2 hour Yukoner Tour and were very glad we did. The tour takes you out of Skagway on the highway that parallels the train route. The tour continues past the Tormented Valley and lakes Tutshi and Tagish to the Yukon border sign. Our tour guide was fun and we were fortunate to be there on a cool but clear day and see the fall colors. This tour was less expensive than the train and offered more in terms of being able to stop and get out of the bus and take photos. Frontier also offers an all-day tour, but we did not want to spend over 6 hours on a bus and weren't interested in going to Caribou Crossing (taxidermied animals), eating a bbq lunch, and seeing sled dogs. For us, the Yukoner was the perfect Skagway excursion.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    9
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Yukon Discovery Tour w White Pass Railroad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We took the extended tour of the White Pass via Railroad and the motor coach further north into the Yukon territory. Our guide Tyler (I think) was amazing and fun. He would stop anytime we asked to allow us to take pictures. It was raining in Skagway but the weather in the Yukon was perfect and beautiful. The scenery along the route was amazing. We took this cruise through Frontier instead of the cruise line for the extended tour option and it cost a little less. Lunch was also included in this tour. Frontier guarantees getting you back to the cruise ship on time and we had no issues. Our guide dropped us off in town and we had plenty of time for shopping before walking back to the ship. I Highly recommend Frontier for your excursion.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I booked a trip with Frontier that was very similar to a shore excursion offered by the ship. We did a White Pass railway/Yukon/Lunch trip. Our group of 6 had a private trip with Sherrie. She's a fantastic guide - very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. We saved about $50 (EACH) against the ship price (for a longer time period) and had a completely fabulous experience. Our group ranged in age from 50 to 85 and several of us remarked that it was the absolute highlight of our trip.

The entire experience -- from communicating with Katie prior to our visit -- to our return to the ship exceeded our expectations and even the weather was wonderful! (Price included lunch).

Fall color and rainbows not guaranteed by the company. :-)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, TX
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We did the Yukon 4x4 Adventure. There were only two of us that had that tour and thus could stop at any point for walks and pictures. Our guide was very nice, knowledgeable, and a very good discussion companion. The route and the views were spectacular. We went up to the Fire Tower at Jubilee Mt and met Ken Matthies (self-described as author poet and story teller) had our lunch sandwiches by a sandy beach of Bennett lake in CarCross.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Exactly What We Wanted!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

So glad we booked with this company for our day in Skagway! Our guide, Tyler, was very personable & informative. He narrated the whole road trip, answered our questions, made sure we found our way to dog sleds/carts, drove us safely in comfy van, got us to the train on time and we never felt rushed. We came away feeling like we definitely got our money's worth on this tour and that it was FUN! A very good use of our time in Skagway!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frontier Excursions & Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Frontier Excursions & Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frontier Excursions & Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.