We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaskan Sojourn Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skagway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alaskan Sojourn Hostel
Save
You added Alaskan Sojourn Hostel to your Saves list
488 8th St, Skagway, AK 99840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ellensburg
1 review
“comfortable and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My friend and I, both in our 60s, were very pleased with our stay at the Alaskan Sojourn Hostel - close enough to walk downtown, but away from the noise and crowds. The owners, Jan and Gary, made us feel right at home and gave us helpful information about places to eat and things to do. The house is beautifully restored and the rooms are clean and comfortable, as is the shared bathroom. We stayed in a two bunkbed dorm room for women and although we were the only ones there that night, there was ample room for 4. There are also private rooms available. We used the kitchen to store food and to make coffee and tea. There was a lovely sunporch with cushy chairs, and an indoor seating area with a table and chairs for dining, and seating around a stove (if needed) to keep warm. I would be pleased to stay there again and recommend it to other travelers who want a more personable and affordable experience than a hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice - depends on whether you want a private room or a dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

My group and I were very pleased with our stay here. The owner was very accommodating for our group of 6.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

stayed here with a friend in the spring and it was awesome. we were the only guests in our dorm but it was really lovely. quiet and an easy walk to town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My lady friend and I stayed at the Sojourn over the summer. It is perfect for those people who want a convenient place to stay within walking distance to all of the major attractions that Skagway has to offer. The owners are extremely kind and helpful if you need some local advice. I highly recommend the Alaskan Sojourn Hostel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We travel to Skagway each year and are pleased to have finally found this place! We appreciated the warm hospitality of Janilyn, the owner. The place is beautiful, newly rennovated, so very clean, comfortable, and quiet. This is a great way to experience the real Skagway.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

The hostel is situated in a quite old but very nice renovated house in skagway approx. one mile from town center. We stayed in a private (2-bed) room for two nights. The kitchen is well equipped (shared with host family, no problem).
There is a nice firepit in the garden.
Be aware that skagway is rather abandoned as soon as the last cruise ship has left the harbour (positive in our case, maybe negative for party people).
It's on our list for the next alaska trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Very comfortable and welcoming hostel with no chores. I had a very pleasant stay for two nights. Thanks Folks!

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alaskan Sojourn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaskan Sojourn Hostel

Address: 488 8th St, Skagway, AK 99840
Location: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Skagway
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel has no curfew or lock out. Linens and towels are provided. Within Walking distance to Historic Downtown. There is a quiet, private yard. Located on the pick up route for transportation to the Chilkoot Trail. This is a spotlessly clean facility. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaskan Sojourn Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.