We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trail of '98 Tours (TNT) - Skagway Private Tours

Trail of '98 Tours (TNT) - Skagway Private Tours
1602 State Street, Skagway, AK 99840
715-977-7044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 43 activities in Skagway
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Trail of '98 Tours (TNT) - Enjoy the comfort and privacy of your own mini-bus. For one flat rate you have the owner/guide and bus for the day. Follow the historic trail of the 1898 Gold Rush over White Pass into Canada's Yukon Territory. Search for goats, bears, and other wildlife while travelling the Klondike, one of North America's most scenic highways en route to the historic town of Carcross. Options include a visit to a wildlife gallery museum with Iditarod dog musher camp, dog cart rides, gold panning, a stop for lunch, and even a hike in the worlds smallest desert. Approximately 150 miles roundtrip.
Bay City, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our family of 8 was done with our fishing early afternoon and looking for another excursion for the rest of the day. Michele was very nice and accomidating. They let us go on the tour with just our family. Her husband Tom was the driver and he was amazing. We ended up getting as long of a tour as we wanted for the price we had already paid. If we wanted to stop at any time or stay longer in one place we could. Tom said we dictate what we want to do on the tour. He new so much about the area and had a lot of wonderful information to give. It was a wonderful experience and I would recommend with tour to anyone going to Alaska. It's a family owned company!! They are good people!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The stars were aligned for our short visit to Skagway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our tour was July, 22nd 2012. We were a large group of 14 on our first cruise to Alaska with a stop in Skagway. We decided not to arrange an excursion through the cruise line due to the added expense, and we could not agree about taking the popular train trip.

As my wife and I walked off the ship Tom, the owner of Trail of '98 Tours (T N Tours), happened to be pulling up in his 14 passenger, deluxe tour bus. Tom was very friendly and offered a tour up the pass following the train route later in the afternoon. He gave us directions to their office a few blocks away where his wife Michelle could help us if we wanted something earlier, or just to provide general information about what to do in Skagway. We did take the National Park’s walking tour which I highly recommend too.

We made the right choice and scheduled Tom for later in the day with plenty of time to get back onboard. Michelle met our group by the ship, which she really did not need to, but it was appreciated.

Tom was a fantastic guide and shared the history of the area as we drove up the pass. The scenery was amazing and the weather cooperated. On our way back, Tom suggested a couple of additional stops at an overlook above Skagway, and the historic cemetery and falls, everyone enjoyed both.

I would recommend contacting Tom and Michelle prior to arriving in Skagway. The stars aligned and we lucked into our best shore excursion of our trip. I did not realize until I got home and looked up TNT on Trip advisor, that we were with the #1 rated tour guide, and company, in Skagway.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding tour and top notch guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

It is a rare find to have a guide who places your enjoyment and vacation time above all else, including their own time and pocketbook. Tom is that kind of class individual. He is intelligent,informative, and an incredible resource. He Is incredibly patient and adapts the tour to the groups interests. I have gone on countless cruise excursions with thecruise liners recommended guides, simply put, he blows them away! If you can get him, book him!!!you will be glad that you did!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent tour, at affordable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Tour Date: 25JUL2012
Number of People: 7 Adults & 1 Child
Tour Type: 6 Hour Tour (Skagway to Yukon)

Tom and Michelle were very easy to work with when setting up the tour, prior to our arrival in Skagway. Our group arrived in Skagway via cruise line, and Tom was waiting at the port when we stepped off. Not only was Tom very professional, his operation is too. The transportation bus was super clean, comfortable, and "state of the art." Tom is full of information about Skagway, the Yukon, and all of the stops/history you will see along the way. His system of delivery is top notch, utilizing a microphone sound system, maps, books, photos, as well as his scope for spotting wildlife. Tom was very personable and offered complementary water, soda, and energy bars during the ride. The sites that you stop at on the tour are absolutely amazing, but the best part is that Tom will stop anywhere you want to see (he also takes great pictures)! Once we returned back to town, Tom offered to take us right back to our ship but we wanted to do some more walking around. He recommended that we check out Lower Dewey Lake, so we got to do a little bit of hiking which was super fun.

Bottom Line: Tom and Michelle of T N Tours, are great entrepreneurs who provide an incredible product to the consumer. I will always remember this trip, and I thank these great people for making my trip to Alaska so memorable.


Thanks Tom and Michelle,

Wisconsin

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“First class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I were on an Alaskan Adventure this summer and needed a tour company for our stop in Skagway. We saw great reviews on other travel websites for TN Tours and booked them with a few other friends. We had a blast! We are in our twenties and enjoyed all that TNTours had to offer. The couple that runs the company are so helpful, their communication is impeccable, and they want you to have the best time possible.

The history on the way out to Yukon told by Tom was great. We really enjoyed all his stories and explanations of what it was like to live here during that time. We made a million stops for picture opportunities and he had this amazing scope to spot Dall sheep and other wildlife along the way. That was so cool! The views you go were amazing! Our binoculars didn't hold a prayer next to that.

We had a great time in Carcross, they gave us plenty of time to eat and explore and take a dogsled ride.

A lot of people choose to go the train route, which I'm sure is equally as beautiful, but you don't get the opportunity to STOP and take the photographers, smell the fresh air, and really explore on your own terms. The van was super comfortable (we actually fell asleep on the way back!) their were refreshments, and the first class treatment was second to none. I would definitely recommend this tour company if you are in Skagway. It was perfect.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trail of '98 Tours (TNT) - Skagway Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Trail of '98 Tours (TNT) - Skagway Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trail of '98 Tours (TNT) - Skagway Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Trail of '98 Tours (TNT) - Skagway Private Tours to your Saves list