We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great thai food, water is tasty no kidding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starfire

Starfire
4th Street at Spring Street, Skagway, AK 99840
907-983-3663
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Skagway
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Houston
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great thai food, water is tasty no kidding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We were craving for some thai food and decided to go to this place during our cruise port stop in Skagway. The food was good (pad thai, desserts, curry etc). The servers were very helpful and the water here tasted a lot better than the water in Houston. We saw the casts from Princess shows eating at this place so it must be good. Most people eating were locals so this was a great find. Highly recommend to tourists who are craving from thai food.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    39
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You could do a lot worse in Skagway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Some interesting Thai dishes, many way too hot for me. Have eaten there several times and will return.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Thai in a small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went to this restaurant not even knowing what kind of food they served. When I realized it was Thai I was worried. Skagway is such a small town and I've had bad experiences with Asian food in a small towns in the past. We were too hungry to find another restaurant so we took a chance and it was delicious!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Tennessee
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Interesting food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Kind of an eclectic mix of food, but we enjoyed it. Off the main street so it's not as busy. Lots of locals eat here.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Green Coconut Curry EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Wow! My husband ordered this and I LOVED it. I ordered the Pad Pen with shrimp which was nicely hot. Definitely recommend this place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starfire also viewed

 

Been to Starfire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starfire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.